We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at the Tuwanek Hotel: Not a Matter of If, but When...”
Review of The Tuwanek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tuwanek Hotel
Ranked #2 of 26 Sechelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Staying at the Tuwanek Hotel: Not a Matter of If, but When...”
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Planning for our second trip to the Tuwanek Hotel began during our first stay less than a year ago. It is that great of a destination. We thoroughly enjoyed our second time, at the Tuwanek which has the trifecta of the destination for an escape from it all.
First of all Chris and Krista are the best hosts with sincere hospitality. The breakfasts are awesome and they can always give you ideas on what to do and where to eat. It is clear in the service they provide and in the details of the hotel's design that they love what they do.
The second great thing about the Tuwanek are the luxurious accommodations. The rooms and cottages are beautiful with very comfortable beds, soaking tubs, and wood burning fireplaces. Amenities include a steam room, jacuzzi tub, business center (no fee), free wireless, barbeque, fire pit, numerous seating areas, and its own spa where Sharon gives the most relaxing massages. The pictures on the website are great, however when you see it in person, it's even better.
Finally, the Tuwanek is surrounded by the beauty of nature, overlooking the Sechelt Inlet that goes up and down with the tides. At low tide, my husband picked oysters that we later barbequed and enjoyed. We also saw bald eagles, a coyote, humming birds, swallows, and loons. You can also go diving or sea kayaking right at the hotel site.
For us, a stay at the Tuwanek Hotel is definitely worth the 6 hour flight, 40 minute ferry (a scenic relaxing cruise), and hour drive. We are already planning to go back to this haven as soon as we can.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank un_papillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    17
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
49
183
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2009

If you are looking for a romantic setting, luxury, view, relaxing spa services, fabulous breakfast and one of the most heavenly sleeps, try the Tuwanek Hotel. Chris & Krista pay attention to detail, the decor, the linens, and all the little extras that are provided for their guests make this small hotel a wonderful get away. Don't miss a spa treatment from Sharon, I can only describe it as blissful, she takes very good care of her clients. This was our second time staying at the Tuwanek, we loved our first stay so much we surprised my sister and her husband with a weekend get away for her birthday. They also thoroughly enjoyed their stay. We just got home and are planning our next visit. Can't wait to return.....

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roselull2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ont.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

We escaped Ontario the week before Easter with snow on the ground and arrived to beautiful spring weather in Tuwanek, BC. The Treehouse Cottage was absolutely the perfect rejuvenating escape. We loved relaxing in the hot tub at night surrounded by majestic trees overlooking the ocean and waking up refreshed to the gorgeous lush green views outside the windows each morning. The combination of gorgeous trees, water and mountains had such a calming effect - I slept like a baby. Thank you Chris, Krista and of course Lexie for making this a wonderful and memorable retreat! Every detail of the Tuwanek Hotel is absolutely beautifully done, the hotel itself, the landscaping and the cottages are just charming beyond compare. You have such great taste and style and it really shows. In fact we felt so relaxed we never wanted to leave! Thank you for your warm hospitality and for sharing your piece of heaven with us! Wish we were still there.
-Shelagh & Ian

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We selected the Tuwanek based on the reviews on trip advisor and concur to everything that has been written thus far - it's absolutely amazing! Chris & Krista are fabulous hosts who know how to create a memorable experience. They are friendly, helpful and professional. You can tell they care about people. We were lucky to have a couple of days of sunshine so took full advantage of the large waterfront deck and walks along the beach. The spa experience was relaxing and not to be missed - Sharon is great! The rooms and amenities are incredible - most comfortable bed ever! The movie room is an added extra that was a lot of fun. Thanks for the great time - we really felt like the Tuwanek is a sanctuary away from the big city!
Ryan & Cheryl
Vancouver

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Albertq
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2009

From the moment we arrived the atmosphere, accomidations and service were friendly and relaxing. This is the moment I still revisit in my mind when I think of our holiday- Sitting on our private balcony in our fluffy white bath robes and drinking our coffee, surrounded by the ocean and lush greenery and looking down to watch the resident bald eagle having his breakfast on the beach. With a quiet knock on the door a delicious and healthy 2 course breakfast is served to our room. It was the perfect recipe for nourishing the body and soul. I can't say enough great things about the hotel, every detail is provided (with a warm heart and smile) and supports your every want and need for the best holiday possible.
Additional to the wonderful hotel is the on-sight spa. By far the BEST spa treatment I have had!!!
We will DEFINITELY be back and plan to take the kids with us to stay in one of the awesome cabins for a great family get away.
Thank-you very much Tuwanek Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libertyjodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We stayed at the Tuwanek Hotel's Wildberry Cottage for our anniversary. The cottage is so warm and inviting. Chris & Krista had everything just perfect for our stay. What a lovely place to relax and unwind. The Cutlan's arranged for a chef to prepare our special dinner and it was magnificent. Where else can you go that is only 90 minutes from the city and be treated so well. And don't forget the Water's Edge Spa! You cannot be more spoiled than this! We will be back -- many times!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bctravellers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2009

This is our third time back to the Tuwanek Hotel and it definitely won't be our last! This time we brought my parents and it was a fabulous experience. We stayed in the African Queen Suite and my parents stayed in the Casablanca Suite right across the hall. They are absolutley beautiful oceanfront suites with decks. It was fantastic and the hosts Chris and Krista went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. We decided to eat dinner in our rooms and were able to use the oceanfront barbecue. We also took advantage of hot tub and the movie room with the huge screen and comfortable seating. It felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. The only thing we didn't do is book a spa appointment in their wonderful ocean side spa. We will definitely do that next time. It is definitely worth a trip to the Tuwanek.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cinbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
12.9 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
14.4 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Waterfront Inn
9.7 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
3.0 mi away
At The Shore B&B
At The Shore B&B
#4 of 26 in Sechelt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuwanek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuwanek Hotel

Property: The Tuwanek Hotel
Address: 7545 Islets Pl, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuwanek Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tuwanek Hotel, a Luxury Boutique Bed and Breakfast located on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, Canada. This 5 Star Luxury Waterfront Destination is located just a short 45 minute ferry ride from Vancouver, BC. Situated back in the 1950's this Oceanside Beach House will take you back to a time when life was simpler and less hectic. Each 600 sq. Ft. Luxury Suite has been designed with a theme from the Bogart era and is appointed with some of the finest amenities in Luxury Suite design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Tuwanek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tuwanek Hotel Sechelt, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing