We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay!!”
Review of The Tuwanek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tuwanek Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Sechelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was our second year at the Tuwanek and it did not disappoint!! We actually have not stayed at the hotel but instead have chosen to stay at the Heron's Return - one of the many properties managed by the hotel. It is just a short distance down the road with a view overlooking the bay, fabulous gourmet kitchen, hot tub and large deck complete with barbeque. In short - all you could ask for if you need to get away for a few days and don't want to go far. We alwasy take advantage of the spa for a massage and this year we went for a walk in the Hidden Grove. A must see for anyone who enjoys west coast nature. We will be back next year for sure!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 318 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is one of those places that, on the one hand, you want to keep completely to yourself because you don't want it to get too hard to get a reservation, but on the other hand the experience is so delightful that it feels selfish not to share! Our room was perfect, every detail was attended to and it was immaculate. The property itself is really special. Beautiful view, plenty to do (or not) as you please, and the hosts were really lovely. We are very independent travelers, so we loved the fact that after checkin we were pretty much left to ourselves...but we knew that if there was anything we needed we would only have to ask. We especially liked the fact that the hosts take care to put those of us traveling without children in one part, so that we don't have to fake smile and say "oh, aren't they cute" or "my, they will surely sleep well tonight after all this activity!" when really what we want to say is "shhhhhhh!" Speaking of quiet, it was absolutely pristine in the evenings, not a sound. We had a wonderful stay and can't wait to return again soon. The breakfasts are delicious, but definitely plan to have other meals offsite as the hotel is a bit away from town...not too far, and that distance is what makes it so delightfully private. Bring a bottle of wine and some cheese, etc back to the room and enjoy a beautiful sunset on your balcony without the crowds! The spa looks fabulous and we will try to take advantage of that next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

After so many visits, I guess it's time to do a review. When my wife and I were visiting Chris and Krista's old B & B we anxiously watched construction of the Tuwanek Hotel, just a few doors down. We were in anticipation of the beautiful view it was going to afford. Well as usual we were not disapointed. Hospitality is the theme when you stay here. If it's privacy and the stunning view you want, the upstairs is the best. We stayed in the downstairs suite across the hall from the game room/man cave, with a pool table, chess, PC, and my favorite, the theater room. With hundreds of movies to choose from, if the weather is gray, you can relax with a huge flat screen! The best breakfast, fresh coffee, old growth forrest, and water activities make this a must getaway. Next time we want to book 4 nights so we can do more. Didn't get time to use the day spa, the hot tub or the sauna. Tuwanek has alot of amenities to enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I had to travel to Sechelt for an event and decided to make a little getaway out of it, so when we found The Tuwanek Hotel, we figured this would be a good spot.

We spent two nights in the very beautiful African Queen suite. The room and bathroom were large (huge, actually), luxurious and comfortable - lots of attention to detail, including a rubber duckie beside the claw foot tub which made me laugh. The "techie" features including Apple TV, Netflix and an in-suite iPad were a nice addition. Breakfast on the balcony overlooking the inlet was superb. I wish I could have my coffee there every morning.

The owners were friendly, and we were able to check-in/out without any issues, despite arriving a bit later in the evening. Service was effiicient and polite. I wouldn't say anyone went out of their way for anything, but there absolutely nothing to complain about.

The location is a bit outside of the town of Sechelt near-ish the end of a curvy road. Perfect for someone looking for a bit of peace, quiet and beauty, but was a bit out of the way for us as we had to go in and out of town for our event.

Overall, we had a lovely stay and would absoultely return again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshleyEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I travel to Vancouver often for work and decided to stretch our stay with a few days on the Sunshine Coast on a whim given the sunny forecast. The Sunshine coast is well worth a visit and more time, but what made our few days so memorable was staying at the Tuwanek Hotel. This is a special place. We stayed in the Casablanca Suite which we would recommend (insert bad Bogart pun here). However we were the only ones staying there so Sharon our host showed us the other two rooms in the "Hotel" and we would have enjoyed either of them as well. The Hotel is really a grand house and the attention to detail and care is more than evident. The grounds are inviting and beautiful and the ability to get on the water with their paddle boat or paddle boards is a huge plus. Sharon was an absolute delight and her breakfasts were scrumptious and served in our suite. We ate while watching eagles, hummingbirds, and other wildlife from the balcony. When we left to explore the Sunshine Coast, we could not wait to get back to this little slice of heaven. We set "deep anchors" on their beach and watched the sunset. What more can you want? We are already planning on returning with friends and will not even think about staying anywhere else. I did have one complaint for Sharon: When we took out the two paddle boards, I kept falling in the water while my wife never did. Clearly, my paddle board was defective. Sharon said "she would look into it".

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleMears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I just had to write a review of our wonderful weekend getaway. The location and hotel are absolutely stunning. The breakfast is amazing!!! The view is gorgeous. We kayaked and snorkelled. The hotel is situated in a private bay and the water was quite warm. The hosts are friendly and very informative. It's our new favourite place and we will return. Checked out Hidden Groves Park as well. Beautiful spot!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank svc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It is a lovely property about 10 km north of Sechelt with its own little bay. Don't forget to bring your aqua shoes. The bathroom is huge (the shower is great for two) and the bed sheets are definitely the softest I've experienced and the breakfasts were lovely. The downside is the lack of privacy from the neighbouring suite upstairs ... you share a balcony with a flimsy divider so it's not very conducive to romance when you have to whisper all the time ... perhaps a more formative divider could be placed between the suites because at that price the lack of privacy was a surprise ...

Room Tip: Not sure what to do about the balcony - in the fall and spring it would not be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mouse841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
12.9 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
408 reviews
14.5 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
153 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Waterfront Inn
5.2 mi away
The Driftwood Inn
The Driftwood Inn
#1 of 5 in Sechelt
134 reviews
9.7 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuwanek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuwanek Hotel

Address: 7545 Islets Pl, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Sechelt
Price Range: $218 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuwanek Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tuwanek Hotel, a Luxury Boutique Bed and Breakfast located on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, Canada. This 5 Star Luxury Waterfront Destination is located just a short 45 minute ferry ride from Vancouver, BC. Situated back in the 1950's this Oceanside Beach House will take you back to a time when life was simpler and less hectic. Each 600 sq. Ft. Luxury Suite has been designed with a theme from the Bogart era and is appointed with some of the finest amenities in Luxury Suite design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Tuwanek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tuwanek Hotel Sechelt, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing