We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved the Sunset Beach Suite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tuwanek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Tuwanek Hotel
Ranked #2 of 26 Sechelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We loved the Sunset Beach Suite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I spent four magical nights here for our wedding anniversary and can't stop raving about the wonderful experience. We stayed in the Sunset Beach Suite, so had remarkably delicious breakfasts, in two courses, delivered to our room each morning. (The "cabins," which are more like villas, are self-catering.) The suite was beautiful, with a view of the inlet and beach, and had the most comfortable bed we've ever encountered. The electronics were state of the art and we enjoyed the heated floors. The decorating touches in the rooms were elegant and the owners, Krista and Chris, were very accommodating.

We loved the club room, across the hall, with it's HUGE TV screen, theater lighting, and very extensive selection of DVD's. The complimentary snacks, including the requisite popcorns, were icing on the cake. We didn't play pool (always meant to get to it), but the table was pro quality. The outdoor hot tub, with a water view, was great.

We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: If you have bad knees and don't do well with lots of stairs, Sunset Beach is good. There are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleSueAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    17
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
48
182
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We checked in and the services was excellent. We were early, but that was not an issue. We got into our cabin (the Wildberry) and it was all we expected. Love the wood burning fireplace, and the gas fire pit out back was a nice bonus we were not expecting.
On our second day, after an amazing sleep on the very comfortable bed, we headed to the SPA for a "couples" spa treatment. (Facials a massage for me and a body wrap for my wife) Decadent is the only way to describe it.
The owners and staff are all very friendly, and the accommodation are all that the website purports them to be. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcguy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We decided on a mini-getaway with the Living Social deal as we had never been to the Sunshine Coast before and wanted to explore the area. This cabin is absolutely gorgeous and luxurious. Definitely not roughing it here! The decor, furnishings, attention to details and modern conveniences were amazing..The heated bathroom floors were a real treat. It was a little cool for lounging on the patios but front and back were well set up with seating, hammocks, and a firepit in the back. The best part though was the trail from the bedroom, across the bridge over a beautiful stream, up the little hill to your own private hot tub/gazebo. What a great way to end the day. Would definitely recommend this beautiful spot to anyone wanting a relaxing escape.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanaimoite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from an amazing mini-break at the Tuwanek Hotel. I found the B & B on a living social deal website and fell in live with the description. Previous trip advisor reviews sealed the deal. We stayed in the Casablanca room, which has a beautiful large deck overlooking the bay. Everything from the soft bathrobes to the comfy beds suggested this is a 5 star hotel. Krista made fabulous gourmet breakfasts each morning (2 courses) with fresh orange juice and coffee. Everything about the reservations and spa bookings were online and easy. Once we arrived we had no responsibilities other than enjoying the beach. I completely recommend this hotel and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen44536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Such excellence is surroundings, service, facilities and friendliness.
5 star service - we've been coming here since 2007 and every time is a 10/10.
Totally recommend to anyone who needs a break and wants to do it in easy style and be very well looked after.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I decided to return to the Tuwanek for our first trip away from our 14 month old babe. We chose the Tuwanek because we knew how much we enjoyed the relaxing and luxurious feeling that surrounds you as soon as you arrive. Also, we remembered how unbelievably cozy and comfortable the king size bed was in the Casablanca suite - and we needed to catch up on some sleep! Breakfast was delicious and the spa services were just what we needed. Our entire stay was filled with great service, privacy and serenity. We will definitely be back to visit Chris, Krista and Sharon - maybe next time with the babe in one of the cottages!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank julikolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

All I can say is the Timberlodge represents an unbelieveable relaxing atmosphere suitable for a family retreat or for a girlfriends getaway weekend. This place has it all!
A fully equiped kitchen, BBQ and a hot tub to boot. This place is a perfect compliment to all that the Tuwanek has to offer. You simply must check this place out!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
12.9 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
14.4 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Waterfront Inn
5.2 mi away
The Driftwood Inn
The Driftwood Inn
#1 of 5 in Sechelt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuwanek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuwanek Hotel

Property: The Tuwanek Hotel
Address: 7545 Islets Pl, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuwanek Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tuwanek Hotel, a Luxury Boutique Bed and Breakfast located on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, Canada. This 5 Star Luxury Waterfront Destination is located just a short 45 minute ferry ride from Vancouver, BC. Situated back in the 1950's this Oceanside Beach House will take you back to a time when life was simpler and less hectic. Each 600 sq. Ft. Luxury Suite has been designed with a theme from the Bogart era and is appointed with some of the finest amenities in Luxury Suite design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Tuwanek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tuwanek Hotel Sechelt, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing