We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Getaway, Beautiful Cabin”
Review of The Tuwanek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tuwanek Hotel
Ranked #2 of 26 Sechelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Getaway, Beautiful Cabin”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying in Wildberry Cottage for an incredible long weekend getaway. All the details were thought of and this was truly a home away from home -- if my home had the luxury of a private hot tub, front and back deck, wood burning stove and incredible views of the ocean!
Every little detail was taken care of and this was amazing for a rejuvenating and quiet getaway, so close to home in Vancouver. Kayaking, paddling and swimming right around the corner, couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for the weekend.

Thanks to Chris and Krista for setting up this awesome property :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreadd77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    17
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
49
183
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in the Timberloft cabin with some friends. The hotel is away from sechelt so you need to have a car and to bring supplies - the hotel doesn't have a restaurant and breakfast wasn't available to us.

We went on a rainy weekend so there wasn't much to do but it looks like it might be more fun if it was sunny. They had paddle boats and kayaks for the guests. Friends of ours booked in the hotel and when they showed up with an 18mth old the owner was quite rude and said they didn't normally have children there and asked if they they had explained this in the booking (they had). Not the best first impression.

The Timberloft cabin was spacious and nice - (don't book it if you have problems walking up stairs though).

The sushi restaurant in Sechelt is worth a visit.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank collmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuwanekHotel, Owner at The Tuwanek Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. It sounds like you might have been happier at the hotel than at your own private cottage. We do offer a wide variety of accommodations that range from small romantic cottages with full kitchens to luxury suites at the hotel with king bedrooms and in room fireplaces as well as in suite dining.
Sea kayaking and canoes as well as paddle boards are offered right here in the next bay and we also have a full on site day spa so a few more options for activities.
I always suggest to guests to review the virtual tours as it gives you a better idea of the amenities of each type of accommodation. Sechelt is just 10 minutes away and there is a choice of 10 restaurants as well as fresh butcher, greens and two large grocery stores.

PS - We love kids....at the cottages. The hotel is designed and set up with amenities for guests that are looking for a romantic , quiet relaxing time on the water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Bed and Breakfasts aren’t normally my thing. I travel solo and the idea of being a third wheel at a romantic getaway location is not appealing. But there aren’t a lot of options in Sechelt, which is how I found myself at the Tuwanek ‘Hotel,’ lured by the positive Trip Advisor rating.

After a thorough look at their website and I had fallen in love with their cottage descriptions. Unfortunately, I was only staying for one night and the cottages required a minimum two night booking. I finally decided to use the one night to get a sense of the place and decide if I would return.

What I learned: This B&B really is setup for couples with lots of romantic decks and nooks to canoodle and enjoy the waterfront view from. They have a collection of toys to play on the water with and their hot tub has jets that sooth all the right places, but it’s also shared by all three B&B rooms. Finally, the breakfast was perfectly prepared and the snack bar did fill the late night craving spot (provided you’ve already had dinner).

On the downside: Netflix and the theatre were both non-functional during my visit.

Would I return, to a cottage – yes. The B&B lived up to the website so I can only imagine the cottages do to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

we loved our experience at tuwanekl!!! we stayed in the timberloft cabin, 4 adults & 2 4 yr olds. there was plenty of room. we all had a wonderful time. the cabin is beautiful & tastefully decorated. the beds were extremely comfortable as were the pillows. the only down side is that the room with the queen bed does not have a full wall dividing it from the living room so if anyone stays up late everything is heard. the kitchen is the perfect size & modern. the hot tub was used & appreciated by all of us. the cabin is located close to the beach & the view from all decks is absolutely phenomanal!!!! i can't say enough how much we enjoyed our stay! i highly recomend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is a distance from the ferry and from the township of Sechelt. When we arrived by car after checking at the main office for our guesthouse one of our party members was denied use of the restroom at the office in the main part of the hotel. We were sent "down the hill" to a potta-potty at a public beach as it was on the way to our lodgings. When I inquired why they wouldn't offer us quick use of the facility we were informed there was "no public restroom" in the Lodge. It seems if you give a credit card imprint you are a guest. We were assigned the "Tree House" cottage. This involved hauling luggage up to a cabin without view across gravel, a bridge and 60 winding uneven steps. Some may call this experience rustic charm. For the price I would say you may want to look somewhere else or select a different option if you want a "5 star" experience.

Room Tip: The "tree house" may be fun for people with kids who want to run up and down stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TropicalParadise888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuwanekHotel, Owner at The Tuwanek Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks for your comments. Let me start by saying we do not offer public washrooms at the Inn as each of our suites contains its own private full ensuite bath and shower. When you asked for a washroom you did not identify yourself as a guest and that is why we suggested the public facilities on the beachfront. Had we known it was your husband that had just checked in at the Treehouse we would have suggested your cottage... as just a minute down the road.....and a lovely 3 piece bath with heated floors.
It's unfortunate that your travel planner in the Okanagan did not request a level entry cottage as after competing in the Ironman I can totally sympathize with not wanting to climb any more stairs. When I spoke with your husband shortly after check in I offered to move you to a level entry cottage the next morning as soon as one became available but you did not let us know either way so we had to make the assumption that you were rested and decided to stay where you were.
Our main objective over the last 17 years is to ensure our guests have a great stay when they come and visit the coast and we work very hard at ensuring everyone has a nice time. Sometimes as in this case things are beyond our control and if we don't know about it at the time it's hard to respond after the fact.

I hope you had a nice time on the Sunshine Coast seeing all the sights as we love it when our friends come from Hawaii to visit. If you decide to compete in the Ironman next year call us ahead of time and we will get you into the correct accommodations based on your needs and i'll add a complimentary massage for the three of your at the day spa ....Aloha Ahiahi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We both agree that everything was perfect. Truely amazing. Thanks for everything. The cottage was fantastic. Much larger than we expected. Cozy and spotless. Loved every moment. Longer stay next time.
Bev & Ian

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Takingchances2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed in one of their bungalows rather than in the hotel itself and it was fantastic. All comfort is there including a hot tub and a nice terrace. The location is great and even very close to a small almost private beach. Service was not great but enough for us as we needed nothing but a nice place to stay ! I surely recommand the place for people looking for a quiet place with no disturbance

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senvatenguerre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
12.9 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
14.4 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Waterfront Inn
9.7 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
3.0 mi away
At The Shore B&B
At The Shore B&B
#4 of 26 in Sechelt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuwanek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuwanek Hotel

Property: The Tuwanek Hotel
Address: 7545 Islets Pl, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuwanek Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tuwanek Hotel, a Luxury Boutique Bed and Breakfast located on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, Canada. This 5 Star Luxury Waterfront Destination is located just a short 45 minute ferry ride from Vancouver, BC. Situated back in the 1950's this Oceanside Beach House will take you back to a time when life was simpler and less hectic. Each 600 sq. Ft. Luxury Suite has been designed with a theme from the Bogart era and is appointed with some of the finest amenities in Luxury Suite design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Tuwanek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tuwanek Hotel Sechelt, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing