We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most relaxing vacation we have ever had” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tuwanek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Tuwanek Hotel
Ranked #2 of 26 Sechelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Redmond, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most relaxing vacation we have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

The most remarkable place we have ever been. The best vacation we have ever had. My wife has dietary restrictions that were totally taken care of. The room was wonderful. The wildlife, eagles, king fishers and seals to the little rufus humming bird that had breakfast with us every morning, was almost scripted . Even when the weather turned a little wet we were so relaxed. The Waters Edge day spa was most remarkable with several options to choose from and a very accomplished massage therapist to work out the kinks of life. We left wondering what had happened to us. After three days home we found out we had been transformed by the serenity of a place where the world stops. That being said I would love to keep this place a secret but that would do a disservice to the fantastic people who call the Tuwanek Hotel their home. This will be a yearly trip for us

Room Tip: The room downstairs is the closest to the hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    17
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
48
182
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed here with a friend in April, for two nights, in the Treehouse cabin. The setting was lovely - be warned, the treehouse stair climb lives up to its name. But when we arrived the second bedroom had been left uncleaned from the previous renters. The bedding was soiled, etc. We called the office, the owner came and changed the bedding a little while later but didn't actually apologize or offer any type of compensation. She was kind of akward and left without much of a PR attempt. Later I discovered lots of dust and cobwebs, and a used kleenex on the floor near the couch.
The cabin itself had all of the necessary basics but I wasn't thrilled with what it was for the regular price of the rental. We luckily had booked through the Living Social deal, so it wasn't too disappointing.
We visited the spa and the treatments were lovely. The setting is gorgeous, and I guess that's why the accomodation is so pricey.
Overall it was "fine", but my friend and I both agreed we wouldn't rush back there, especially at full price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suspicionofcorgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Tuwanek Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We value your business and we want to ensure everyone has a wonderful time. Yes, the Treehouse is our funky little cottage perched 56 steps up in the trees and as a matter of fact we even had to fly the hot tub in with a helicopter so not only do you get a vacation but a great workout. We try and make sure that it well noted on the websites as not the best accommodations for guests who have problems with stairs. I apologize that you did not see this on the site and I will try and include it in more places on the websites.
I had a chance to check with the people involved during your stay. Our cottages are designed to accommodate from 2-8 people depending on the location so we will often lock off bedrooms if not required for smaller numbers of guests. This allows small groups of even two persons to enjoy larger accommodations and meets our Green Hotel objective of reducing water and laundry use on the environment. In your case the cottage booking was set up for 2 people so housekeeping had set up for a couple and locked off the lower room. When you arrived for check in and it was noted that you were two singles Krista went up to the cottage right away to open and complete the set up of the second lock off. On a quick turn around housekeeping will often not make up the lock off but I can assure you that the room is never dirty and the laundry is always done so no sheets would ever be soiled even in an unoccupied room.
I know that Krista said she made the room up right away for you and she noted that you were happy with the service at the time so not sure why you did not let us know right away as I would have been happy to chat with you about it. It's hard as business owners to deal with any type of customer service issue 2 months after the event but I would be happy to buy you dinner on your next visit to the coast as we value your business and want to ensure you have a great time.
Call me anytime personally at 800.665.2311 Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary and really enjoyed our time. The bed was comfortable, the room was very nice (Sunset Beach Suite).

Even though it was raining like crazy for the majority of our stay, we still enjoyed the outdoor hot tub and steam room. The breakfast each morning was great! The portions were large so it filled us up for most of the day.

The location is a little ways out of town, but it's great if you are looking to relax in a very peaceful quiet place.

Would definitely recommend this place to other couples.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcowood1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

This review is for the INN- African Queen Suite

Overall Magnificent!

Beautifully appointed property not lacking in any detail. Breakfast was superb, hosts were delightful and the scenery was magnificent. Excellent array of entertainment opts both indoors and out. Also, though technically a B&B, we completely had our privacy and never felt like we had to engage in conversation with anyone unless we wanted to. Loved enjoying our beautifully presented breakfast in our room overlooking the ocean.

Things to note...

I had a very difficult time with booking this reservation due to the influx of Living Social Vouchers being used. I also wasn't fond of the 80.00 upcharge that was tacked on to "other that queen" suites. The value was WELL worth it but I felt it wasn't spelled out clear enough within the fine print of the voucher leaving people to feel taken advantage of and possibly having that taint there stay. To have anything cheat the moment at this fine establishment would truly be a travesty.

Ferry ride round trip from Vancouver was 75.00 CAN for a car and driver plus a passenger. Not a crisis but can be a bummer if you're not counting on it.

If you're coming from Victoria or Nanaimo check Coach Saver for current promotions-I saw they had a deal through the end of June.

If you are bringing children-book a cabin. The Inn is most certainly adult oriented

If you have a problem with stairs-book a cabin. Lot's of stair climbing at the Inn

Room Tip: We stayed in the African queen and it was amazing! The pictures online really didn't speak to it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeeJaneEatStayPlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

A weekend at the Tuwanek Hotel was a dream getaway. Chris and Krista made their lovely home a sanctuary to all who visit there. The guest rooms are beautifully decorated, very spacious, and loaded with generous amenities. Waking up to a sunrise over the calm bay water, Krista's artful five star breakfast, beautiful garden and hot tub, delightful time with Sharon at her spa... everything we need for a relaxing, pampering vacation is there. Chris gave us some tips for rain forest hiking, that was a wonderful experience even for us from Pacific Northwest. This is the best B&B I have ever stayed, and no doubt will be our frequent destination. Thank you so much Chris, Krista, Sharon and Lucy, for making our weekend so special and lovely. Can't wait to come back! xoxo Shoko

Room Tip: The room we stayed was African Queen, and it was absolutely fantastic. Perfect and so romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoko F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Tuwanek this weekend and it was amazing. Even though the weather was not great this weekend it didn't dampen our experience one bit!

The owners Chris and Krista were really friendly and welcoming. The attention to detail at the hotel was extremely impressive - we especially enjoyed the tranquil and relaxing music that we can stream in our room throughout the day.

The views from the deck of the hotel were amazing and Krista brought out our breakfast for us to enjoy from there. It was better than any patio brunch we've had in Vancouver for sure!!!

I highly recommend this great hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

This place is so pleasing to all the senses. The natural beauty of the Sunshine Coast was matched by the friendly relaxed atmosphere of the whole property. The delicious breakfasts that Sharon prepared were served in the room and were a culinary extravaganza. We loved the outdoor steam bath, the tasteful decorating, the quiet surroundings and the little thoughtful extras in the room and clubroom. Clearly the owners have taken great pride in developing this place to feel luxurious yet respectful of the surroundings. I had one of the most wonderful pedicures I have ever had with Sharon. The hiking in the are was wonderful and the Gumboot cafe in Roberts Creek a real treat. Thank you for a memorable birthday and anniversary. We can't wait to return!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malcac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
12.9 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
14.4 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Waterfront Inn
5.2 mi away
The Driftwood Inn
The Driftwood Inn
#1 of 5 in Sechelt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuwanek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuwanek Hotel

Property: The Tuwanek Hotel
Address: 7545 Islets Pl, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuwanek Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tuwanek Hotel, a Luxury Boutique Bed and Breakfast located on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, Canada. This 5 Star Luxury Waterfront Destination is located just a short 45 minute ferry ride from Vancouver, BC. Situated back in the 1950's this Oceanside Beach House will take you back to a time when life was simpler and less hectic. Each 600 sq. Ft. Luxury Suite has been designed with a theme from the Bogart era and is appointed with some of the finest amenities in Luxury Suite design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Tuwanek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tuwanek Hotel Sechelt, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing