We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Creekside Cottage, Tuwanek”
Review of The Tuwanek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tuwanek Hotel
Ranked #2 of 26 Sechelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Creekside Cottage, Tuwanek”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I have been to the Creekside cottage twice in the last 2 years and believe it has become the annual get away for me and the girls. 3 Bedrooms consisting of 2 queen beds and a set of bunk beds makes it perfect for 2 families or 6 ladies looking to get away. The place is clean, comfy and the view is looking out over a lake of water that sets with the sun. There are quite a few scuba divers that swim off the shore so if that is your thing, this is the place.
The hot tub in the back is right beside a babbling brook and private. Fits 6 people very comfortably and is always clean.
The kitchen is stocked with all the tools you need to make anything you’re hungry for and after dinner there are board games or movies to keep you entertained. There is a spa in the hotel part of the facilities but we have never used them.
All in all it is a great place to make some unforgettable memories.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shabbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    17
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
49
183
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

My husband and I returned to the Tuwanek Hotel for our second visit in July 2011. I forgot to write a review upon our return. However, as I begin to feel run down at work, I again dream of my time at Tuwanek Hotel and hope to return again some day. There is something about the Tuwanek Hotel that melts your stress away and allows you to rest and rejuvenate.

On our first trip we stayed in the African Queen room and on our second visit we stayed at the Wildberry Cottage. The Wildberry Cottage was amazing! The sound of the creek outside the bedroom, the secluded hot tub, and the comfortable bed were more than what we had hoped for to celebrate our anniversary.

Chris and Krista were the perfect hosts. They were there to assist with anything that we needed. Chris made arrangements for us to go scuba diving. Krista let me borrow a dish for a dinner party that we were attending.

I enjoyed relaxing treatments at the beautiful spa. Sharon is wonderful!

My only disappointment is that the Tuwanek Hotel is so far from home so we are not able to return as often as we would like.

Room Tip: The African Queen room is wonderful. The Wildberry Cottage is perfect for a couple. The only prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

If you are looking for a classy, welcoming place to stay in the Sechelt area, look no further than the Tuwanek Hotel. We stayed in the Casablanca suite - comfortable, elegant, well-appointed, warm and cosy, with an awesome water view and a private deck (despite the November sunshine, it was a little cold for us to enjoy the latter for longer than a few minutes at a time).

With hotels we often find it is the little touches that make the difference, and the Tuwanek's owners have clearly put a lot of thought into those. Cosy robes, heated floors, a kettle for us tea-drinkers, a telescope to watch the waterfowl, and even an iPad to play with (if you don't bring your own).

The breakfasts are ample, tasty and beautifully presented at exactly the moment requested - this morning's included freshly baked croissants of a quality any Parisien baker would be proud of.

This fantastic, relaxing spot is recommended for anyone looking for a relaxing time with an ocean view in elegant surroundings.

Room Tip: We've only seen the Casablance suite but it is gorgeous - highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My new wife and I stayed here for a few nights in the African Queen suite. After a hectic few weeks of planning and the weekend on the wedding, this was exactly what we both needed. Situated right on the ocean, you cant help but be melted into a puddle of relaxation. The room was decorated with the utmost taste ( we were a bit worried about a "theme" room) and as a guy who loves a good shower setup, this place is the pinnacle. The food is something I literally felt guilty about, that the rest of the world was not eating as well as we were at that moment. Worth every penny, this place will forever make every other hotel room we stay in come up short. I can't say enough good things. Enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JyouKnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathmore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This was our 5th visit to the Tuwanek Hotel and it won't be our last! The accomodations are first class and Krista's breakfasts are amazing! I am sure I put on 5 pounds but took it off with Chris on one of our dives! Great diving, outdoor hot tub overlooking the ocean, comfortable beds to fall into at the end of the day and warm sunshine all around! We enjoy visiting with Chris and Krista too - they make the Tuwanek Hotel extra special! Looking forward to our 6th visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
408 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

There is no place like the Tuwanek Hotel. The food, the hosts, the room, the scenery, the ambiance, the sunsets - everything is a 10/10. Even rainy weather can’t spoil this place. Just love it more each time we visit and can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Via_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Nicely appointed cabin with comfy bed and and hot tub. What more could you want? Fairly high priced, but not out of line with the general market for accomodations of this type. We stayed in the Treehouse cabin it was a bit of a walk to the front door if you have a lot to carry, not a problem with an overnight bag.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bandlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
12.9 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
14.4 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Waterfront Inn
9.7 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
3.0 mi away
At The Shore B&B
At The Shore B&B
#4 of 26 in Sechelt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuwanek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuwanek Hotel

Property: The Tuwanek Hotel
Address: 7545 Islets Pl, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuwanek Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tuwanek Hotel, a Luxury Boutique Bed and Breakfast located on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, Canada. This 5 Star Luxury Waterfront Destination is located just a short 45 minute ferry ride from Vancouver, BC. Situated back in the 1950's this Oceanside Beach House will take you back to a time when life was simpler and less hectic. Each 600 sq. Ft. Luxury Suite has been designed with a theme from the Bogart era and is appointed with some of the finest amenities in Luxury Suite design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Tuwanek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tuwanek Hotel Sechelt, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing