We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coastal Kitchen rocks!”
Review of Coastal Kitchen

Coastal Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Coastal Kitchen rocks!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Who would have known that Port Renfrew, a small village on the west coast of Vancouver Island, would have such a fabulous restaurant. Food ranged from pub grub to upscale, with several vegetarian options (like the yummy portobello mushroom burger). The seafood chowder is to die for. Everything is well-prepared and really fresh, especially seafood. Despite the relatively large capacity of the restaurant, we had to place a reservation at a later sitting to get a table...the number of people waiting showed how popular the joint was. Good bar selection too.

It's a long drive to Port Renfrew. Great to have a restaurant worth visiting!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank OneWayVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    77
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I love this place”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We didn't expect much in terms of restaurants in Port Renfrew (you have to have visited there to understand) but this place was great - seated outside on a sunny afternoon made for a fantastic ending to our Sunday outing. Good food and reasonably priced given what it must cost them to get it transported out there! Cold draught beer and a smoked salmon pizza - what could be better. Now.... if the government would only fix the road to get there!!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sirlaroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Surprised”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Totally unexpected pleasure, out in the middle of nowhere. Great food, friendly prompt service, warm inviting atmosphere and, very clean. Highly recommend if you've made the trip all the way to Reny!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

After hiking the West Coast Trail you need a good feed, and the Coastal Kitchen didn't disappoint. Great service, good food (and plenty of it!) and so e interesting beers too!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank C0unt_Zer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Country, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We ate all our meals there when we recently visited Port renfrew, we also ate there about 8 months ago when we were just passing through. The food is awesome, tons to choose from, great locations, great hours and best of all awesome prices. I will be back!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank steffanymonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Kitchen also viewed

Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island
Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Coastal Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing