We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenery and food to dream of”
Review of Soule Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Renfrew
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Soule Creek Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Port Renfrew B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

A glorious peaceful spot on top of a mini mountain. Book the dinner it's well worth it.With yurts and cabins it's described as 'Glamping' bur we had large room, the kanata suite in the main lodge but the overall feel is more towards rustic than to luxury. We couldn't fault the food or our room except there seems to be little insulation and we could hear others showers and footsteps. The hot tub on top of hill at night was amazing. It is a tortuous drive up and down so perhaps a maximum stay of 2 nights eating there each night. At the price it is good value. They could really dress it up and aim for top end of luxury market, but we liked the friendly mix of rustic and organic/gourmet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wildroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouleMan, Owner at Soule Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. Yes the road to the lodge does suffer by the end of the summer. Dry conditions and all the traffic is the cause. This year we are planning on road upgrades which should make a big difference.Tim, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Soule Creek Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 220 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The road to Port Renfrew is pretty awful so start early and in daylight. The driveway to the resort is very bad. Dinners with Jon are very good but breakfasts are small and boring. Service is fine but cool and Tim? could use some lessons in friendliness and hospitality. A black bear hung out in the yard eating berries. The yurts are nice but windows have to be dealt with outside. Fun for a novelty.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lil_farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouleMan, Owner at Soule Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for your comments and happy you enjoyed your stay overall. The road to Port Renfrew is a narrow winding highway, very scenic and remote, this is one of the reasons people come to Port Renfrew. The Hwy has had a $ 14 million upgrade/resurfacing in the last 2 years but if you are not used to hilly and curving roads the West Coast may not be for you as many of our roads are like this. As for our 2 km private road we do our best to maintain it. This spring we are planning significant upgrades for the last section up to the lodge.
I have never had any complaints about our complimentary full hot breakfasts. Our options change daily. We use high quality ingredients in our preparations such as Alder smoked thick cut bacon, French Toast made with Panatone (Italian Brioche w/candied orange & raisin) Bread, Wild Blueberry Pancakes and Belgian waffles with organic rhubarb/strawberry compote (in addition to any preparation of eggs desired, fresh fruit salad and mini smoothie which are served daily) all of which was served during your stay. Our guests are always welcome to seconds and need only ask.
As for my friendliness and hospitality I do apologize for lacking in it during your stay. My weariness may have been mistaken for “cool” at the end of a long season, our staff has returned to school leaving us to pull double duty. I do try to connect to all of my guests and thought I had achieved that with you after talking about your fishing adventure. Again sorry I fell short.
Tim, Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband & I booked this rather unusual accommodation some months ago, not quite knowing what to expect.
Port Renfrew was an interesting little town that was positioned beautifully amongst rainforest, beaches, lakes.
Soule Creek Lodge was amazing! We stayed in one of the 3 "yurts" on the property. Our yurt overlooked the water & as the fog rolled in & the sun set we knew we were blessed. My husband opened the skylight covering in our yurt & we lay in bed looking out at the stars. It is clean & certainly worth the stay there.
Book early if you want to stay in the yurts.
We opted for dinner at the lodge & the meals, cooked only for guests, were fabulous. The produce was either bought locally or from the gardens at the lodge itself. Each night was a different meal. There is not a menu to choose from, but it didn't bother us, in fact it made a refreshing change to not having to navigate our way through an uninteresting menu which can often be the case.

Room Tip: A yurt!!! Get a yurt!!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D3958H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouleMan, Owner at Soule Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

So glad you were happy with your yurt. We are planning on building an new yurt this winter to be ready for next season with an outdoor kitchen and natural stone and glass brick shower. We are also toying with making it off the grid with solar/wind power and large enough to accommodate workshops and retreats. Look for it in the spring and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Perched on a hillside at the end of a 2km gravel road , this lodge feels remote and peaceful . We stayed in the yurt of the setting sun, which was an amazing experience . Just to sit on our balcony enjoying the views seemed like a piece of paradise. We ate in the lodge every night which we would highly recommend. The owners are happy for you to supply your own wine. Perfect experience .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevewells5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouleMan, Manager at Soule Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed in one of the yurts for two nights, loved it, and wished we had stayed there longer. The yurt sits up on a ridge and overlooks the water of Port San Juan. We sat out on the deck every night and watched the sun set. At night we would pop the cover on the dome and watch the stars as long as we could. The area is also quiet and we slept well in the yurt.

They also were very accommodating in cooking for food allergies & intolerances. We ate dinner and breakfast at the lodge. The food was wonderful and the chef made sure he had something we could eat. They also made arrangements for us to have a mini breakfast in our yurt since we normally get up and eat at 3am their time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSEEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouleMan, Owner at Soule Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Glad we could accommodate you and your stay with us was a good one. When the night sky is clear here you can see so many stars because there is so little light pollution with our nearest neighbors a mile away and the closest town from Port Renfrew is Neah Bay in the US.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We were really lucky to get a room here! We were driving passed & noticed they had a vacancy, was a delight as we had no luck anywhere else nearby with the long weekend coming up, school holidays drawing to a close, everywhere we'd checked were full. We didn't have any cell reception out here and couldn't call to confirm, so took the drive up to the lodge (even had seers crossing half way up the drive) & were lucky to get the last room, less than 5mins before another car pulled up looking for a room.
The bed was very comfortable, the view is said to be fantastic but unfortunately it was terrible weather when we arrived and was only just starting to clear when we left. But the lodge room has a balcony to enjoy the view when the weather allows.
It was very clean & so was the ensuite!
We arrived too late for dinner but didn't miss the included breakfast which was cooked to perfection & left us wishing we had made dinner here also!
The hosts were very welcoming & the stay exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldwide_wandererz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouleMan, Owner at Soule Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Glad you found us! By seers I think you meant bears as we do have a couple of local mothers and cubs this year which wander onto the "driveway" occasionally. I never get tired of seeing the little ones. Next time we will see you for dinner. Remember to book ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a ten night trip to Vancouver Island. Two kilometres off the pavement up a winding hill and you will find a little piece of paradise. On night one we stayed in the Yurt of the Setting Sun. VERY COOL!!! The circular structure has a deck overlooking the bay below. We were pretty fogged in but that made it a little more beautiful and peaceful. The beds and linen here are amazing, too. A very good breakfast is included, prepared by the owners, who make an effort to use local foods. Wonder down the boardwalk through the woods to the outdoor hot tub, and enjoy a soak in the misty ocean air on a cool night! If you have a chance, make sure you enjoy the 3 course evening meal here. We ate localled grown vegetables, freshly caught salmon and a divine dessert. Our second night we stayed in the lodge, which was absolutely perfect as well. We look forward to coming back here the next time we visit Port Renfrew..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forestchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouleMan, Owner at Soule Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thanks for the great review! Hopefully the next time you stay with us you will have the benefit of our view of the Ocean and Inlet. The sunset here are amazing as well when the fog is kept at bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Renfrew
33.6 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
34.0 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Trailhead Resort
Trailhead Resort
#2 of 5 in Port Renfrew
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
#1 of 8 in Port Renfrew
95 reviews
0.8 mi away
Handsome Dan's Port Renfrew
Handsome Dan's Port Renfrew
#3 of 8 in Port Renfrew
37 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gallery House at Port Renfrew
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soule Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soule Creek Lodge

Address: 6215 Powdermain Rd, Port Renfrew, British Columbia V0S 1K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Renfrew
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Renfrew
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soule Creek Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on top of the San Juan Ridge with stunning ocean views and 160 private acres. Guests can choose a newly remodeled Yurt, cabin or lodge suite all with en suite and balcony. A short drive to Botanical Beach, WCT, day hikes and some of the largest trees in the world. Chef/owners offer guest a three course locally sourced dinner option and warm hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing