We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The second you leave, you'll want to go back”
Review of Soule Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Renfrew
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Soule Creek Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Port Renfrew B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The second you leave, you'll want to go back”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just got home from Soule Creek Lodge (our second stay) and already want to book our next visit. The yurts are magical — luxurious, while keeping you closer to nature than a regular hotel room. You can lie in bed and stargaze at night, enjoy the panoramic views from your private deck during the day and, most importantly, eat some truly amazing food. The three-course dinner features the freshest seafood you'll ever taste in your life and the breakfast goes well beyond expectations (cinnamon raisin French toast, blueberry pancakes, etc.)
While you're in the area, be sure to spend some time exploring Botanical Beach and the amazing ancient trees of Avatar Grove.

Room Tip: If you want a unique experience, go for a yurt. But expect to hear noises outside, just as you would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    44
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
128
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed one night in the Tanglewood Cabin and enjoyed the stay. Arduous 2 km gravel road to get to the b&b but worth it. Breakfast was tasty and filling and we learned from another couple who stayed there for dinner that the meal was exquisite. They also showed us the Tatoosh yurt they stayed in and it was incredible. Next time we will reserve it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Soule Creek Lodge is fantastic! If you happen to stay in a jurt. For this, you need to book in advance! If not, you will stay in the main building and that is wooden house with very thin walls. You can try to be as quiet as possible, but you will nonetheless being heard by your neighbours: Snoring, walking, toilet flushing, talking... If you are sensible to this, stay in a jurt.

The Lodge is located on a hill top. It takes 2 KM on a gravel road to reach it. The sight from the top over the ocean is breathtaking!

The owners are very friendly and helpful with tips and recommendations and they cook ... Wow! Eating there is a wonderful experience! Fresh Fish, directly from the hook into the pan.
Breakfast is great too!

Port Renfrew is small but it has so much to offer! And since it is a starting point to the Pacific Rim and the Juan de Fuca Trail, the people coming to Port Renfrew are more on the hiking than on the tourist with flipflops side. This is a nice change and you will have interesting conversations in the pubs and restaurants.

Bring time with you, if you come to Port Renfrew. And reserve a jurt at the Soule Creek Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanWilberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouleMan, Owner at Soule Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thanks for the kind words Stephan and sorry your sleep was not as peaceful as one might hope. It sounds like you were in one of the only two rooms which share a wall (the other two rooms in the lodge have no shared walls and two entry doors). The two which do we have done everything we can to minimize sound travel by adding an extra sound proofing layer of drywall mounted on residence absorbing bars and two extra layers to the ceiling (which is now over 1 ft thick). Being located in an area which is dead quite at night tends to amplify all other noises which is also why we turn away many reservations which might compromise that serenity, like those fishing or attending weddings in town which result in guests leaving early or coming in very late. Few accommodations providers go to the lengths we do trying to insure a peaceful stay as commented on in many other reviews. We cannot however screen for heavy snorers or those using the bathroom in the middle of the night. We can offer recommendations for the quietest unit we have to those sensitive to sound, which would in fact be a room in the lodge. Thanks again, Jon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ucluelet, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Had an absolutely wonderful stay at Soule Creek Lodge. The rooms are beautiful and very clean. The level of service is excellent - courteous and professional. I was very impressed with the food as well - breakfasts were great! Make sure to stay at least one night for dinner. The level of cuisine by these internationally-trained chefs is second to none! Thanks for a great stay Tim and Jon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_odney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Soule Creek is a perfect retreat for couples. The accommodation in the house is clean, comfortable and private. Tim welcomes you into his home and with Jon and the other staff make your stay very relaxed. Meals are of a high standard and reasonably priced. My husband and I would not hesitate to return here, it is an excellent base from which to explore the area.

Room Tip: We were pleased to be in the main house as the weather was very wet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and two sons spent one night in one of the yurts and enjoyed the experiene but would not necessarily recommend it with two boys (one of which is a teenager). The yurt was beautiful and comfortable and the hot tub in the garden was particularly impressive. It would be a good spot for a romantic week-end but there is not much to do for children.
The dinner was also very nice.

Room Tip: I would not recommend the yurt with the Murphy bed for four adults as the Murphy bed is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BreeOttawaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Soule Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thanks for the feed back Bree. We used to have a queen bed and a bunk bed in the Yurts but found they took up a lot of space and were a bit of an eyesore when you just had a couple in them which is most often the case. If you had mentioned the bedding being too small we could have given you a foam mattress which folds up and out of the way when not in use for the younger child. Couples traveling together have the option of renting two units with either a king or queen sized bed each. If they are sharing, five of our units have an extra double(full) bed for that purpose which is described on our website under Accommodation. This is a good option for those on a budget as the extra person charge includes a full hot breakfast as well. Thanks again and happy travels, Jon and Tim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We went back to Soule Creek for a second time this year to do West Coast Trail. This is THE place to stay if you're in Port Renfrew area. Fantastic people, great food, quiet and relaxing. Don't bother looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheresaHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Renfrew
33.6 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
34.1 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
20.1 mi away
Van Riper's Resort
Van Riper's Resort
#1 of 5 in Sekiu
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.8 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
#1 of 8 in Port Renfrew
92 reviews
0.8 mi away
Handsome Dan's Port Renfrew
Handsome Dan's Port Renfrew
#3 of 8 in Port Renfrew
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soule Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soule Creek Lodge

Property: Soule Creek Lodge
Address: 6215 Powdermain Rd, Port Renfrew, British Columbia V0S 1K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Renfrew
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Renfrew
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soule Creek Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on top of the San Juan Ridge with stunning ocean views and 160 private acres. Guests can choose a newly remodeled Yurt, cabin or lodge suite all with en suite and balcony. A short drive to Botanical Beach, WCT, day hikes and some of the largest trees in the world. Chef/owners offer guest a three course locally sourced dinner option and warm hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing