We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Private, Remote, Clean, New and most everything...”
#17 The French Girl's Lair / 1BR / Pet Friendly
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
#17 The French Girl's Lair / 1BR / Pet Friendly
Kitchen, living area. Sofa can be open as sofa bed if needed. Cozy gas fireplace.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
#17 The French Girl's Lair / 1BR / Pet Friendly
Kitchen, living area. Sofa can be open as sofa bed if needed.
Cozy gas fireplace.
Cozy gas fireplace.
Full fridge and gas cooking stove.
Queen bed in the 1BR
Full bathroom with bath and shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DeblostnH...
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Private, Remote, Clean, New and most everything we needed.”
Reviewed August 19, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Rod's Roost was our choice when we booked for August 12th the last week in June. The cottage was clean inside, uncluttered, everything we needed for comfort. This cottage owner doesn't have any cable, but one tv in the bedroom instead of the living. The TV has a DVD with a few older DVDs but I'd recommend bringing laptop or tablet to connect to internet, and/or owner furnishing an HD cable to hook a laptop up to the TV. You come to this remote island community to fish and hike, not to watch television - if only at night. There is internet wify so this was the only way to connect to the outside as cell service doesn't work anywhere at Handsome Dan's unless connected through internet. France the manager of HD is awesome! Bring in your food, or like us - traveling on a motorcycle, we only stayed for two nights so bought some food at the only general store in Port Renfrew and went to two of the 3 restaurants in town too. We sprayed down the front and back decks due to spiders and webbing everywhere - perhaps due to owner neglect or dry weather for several weeks. If you are like us, we didn't have a budget higher than the cost of one room cottages. I would recommend selecting a small cottage like this property, but one with a fireplace just for the coziness of it. All in all Rod's Roost bonus was the fenced in deck although we didn't have a dog. We enjoyed the property, the peaceful walks to the community dock, etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the inside of cottage.
Liked least: Unkept decks - both front and back; we hosed them down due to lots of webs and spiders.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rp176
Colorado
1 review
“Terrific cabin with beautiful location!”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Enjoyed our stay very much! Clean, quiet and well appointed cabin, also close to beach and amenities. Very good communication from owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable, clean and well appointed, close to beach and restaurants
Liked least: fire ban in place, however there was a heat lamp on the porch, nice for sitting outside
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
476cherie...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Self contained, great location and wonderful hosts.
The cottage was exactly as shown on the website, the kitchen was well stocked and there was everything we needed for a comfortable stay.
My kids loved the cottage and the peaceful surrounds. We spent our days exploring the area and the afternoons lazing about the deck.
The weather was perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCMcManus
Gilroy, California
1 review
“Beautiful cabin with a great view of the water”
Reviewed August 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My wife and I stayed for a few days and were thrilled with the cabin (Tilby's Rainbow) we rented from Handsome Dan's Wild Coast Cottages. The cabin had everything we could possibly need, and the atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for - nice and peaceful. We spent hours sitting out on the deck that has a great view of the water. If you are planning a trip to Port Renfrew, I highly recommend renting one of these cabins.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calma15
Ferrara, Italy
1 review
“Relax and hiking”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Nice place to relax, go fishing if you like ( I don't) and enjoy hiking, I recommend Juan de Fuca trail. Very quiet cottage, with everything you might need. We onjoyed it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward I
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More to do in Port Renfrew than you think. Handsome Dan's was Great.”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Summer along the British Columbian Coast is spectacular and even more so when staying in a well appointed cabin with nearly all the amenities of home. The cabin was ready when promised, clean, and well equipped. The views from the deck are stunning. We had a great time swimming at Lizard Lake and exploring the tide pools at Botanical Beach both of which are just a short drive away. Great place to visit and I would book again with Handsome Dan without hesitation.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylTph...
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Found the Handsome Dan's website randomly and so glad we did! 4 of us stayed in a wonderful cottage for a couple of days just to rest and relax. The cottage was so new and well appointed. Comfortable beds and we had everything we needed in the kitchen to cook up great meals. The spacious deck was great for playing games around the table and we loved to hike along the beach and watch the eagles overhead. Just stunning, quiet, friendly little town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet, clean, lovely complex
Liked least: slow drive on back roads to get there
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing