We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Port Renfrew PUB

Port Renfrew PUB
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Renfrew Pub is the homey gathering place for locals and visitors at the heart of Snuggery Cove. Friendly and inviting, it’s the sort of place even first-timers swear they’ve been before. The waterfront pub and restaurant occupies an enviable spot, right next to the dock. Our craft brews include crisp, cold favourites from right around here: Vancouver Island Brewery High Trail Honey Ale, Lighthouse Race Rocks, Saltspring Island Golden Ale, Phillips Blue Buck, Granville Island Raspberry Ale. And we’re just getting started. Our food is all about quality with a fresh, homespun focus. Chickens are roasted daily on site; sauces and gravies are built from scratch. The baked goods are handcrafted, fries hand-cut, and herbs pulled fresh. Choose from sumptuous burgers or boat-to-table seafood drawn from nearby waters. The Pub serves breakfast (weekends), lunch and dinner, along with elevated pub fare — wings for the game and gooey poutine. Snuggle up or wake up with a steaming mug of Discovery Coffee from Victoria’s beloved roastery, and let the day unspool.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Visited Port Renfrew for the weekend, and came here for dinner one night. We both had hamburgers and we thought they were delicious. Great service. Some beautiful First Nations art pieces inside. A very large ocean front deck outside, which I presume is open in the summer and would be a wonderful place to sit and enjoy the view.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank yyesiamtrish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    82
    19
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We only ate one evening there but it was fantastic. We actually met the owner who also cooks there---and quite enjoyed the blueberry/rhubarb pie.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank karenbminute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“AVERAGE”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

surprisingly modern inside, clean, lovely setting but the food and service very average, if in the area again would give it a miss

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank decaugnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Poor Service and Burnt Cod”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We drove to Botanical Beach and decided to eat at this Pub. The Beach and Pub were recommended by locals from Victoria. Well, it took over 20 minutes to be even recognized by the waitperson. Then, more time take drink orders. The four of us ordered finally, another 1/2 hour to get our meals. I ordered fish & chips. The piece of cod was cooked to a crisp and burnt, thus very, very dry inside. Another had the beef soup, no flavor at all. This is $$$ and not good, wouldn't stop again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rocktownlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Day trip”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We took a day trip from Victoria, to Port Renfrew and back through Lake Cowichan. The weather was beautiful - 32 degrees C. We decided to stop in Port Renfrew for lunch. We stopped at Port \Renfrew Hotel and ate on the veranda of the restaurant. What a beautiful spot. We had the Cod burger and salad. I have never eaten anything quite so delicious. The fish was melt in your mouth. No doubt fresh. The sauce added great taste. The salad was wonderful with the mango dressing.
I would definitely recommend this to anyone driving that way or staying at the hotel. Fabulous food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C&D-Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Renfrew PUB also viewed

Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island
Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island
 
Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Port Renfrew PUB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing