We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable!”
Review of Trailhead Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trailhead Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Port Renfrew B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit. We stayed in Cabin 5. The cabins have two large bedrooms and two bathrooms. Nicely outfitted, clean and very comfortable. Enjoyed sitting on the front porch in the sunshine. Did not get to try out the hot tub this time, but nice knowing it was there. Great kayaking in the area, sea caves and surge channels. Lots to explore up the estuary, and waves to play in if you are lucky. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    18
    5
    4
    8
See reviews for
20
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed first in a suite with the husband on the top floor of the suited building and then later in a cabin shared with friends on each end of our West Coast Trail hike last summer (just now remembered to review it). We basically chose the Trailhead because we booked last minute and they were one of the few places that still had availability at the time, but I'm glad it worked out.

Each accommodation was very clean and comfortable and there is access to cooking facilities and a hot tube. It looked like our cabin was newer than the suite. Both were very spacious and the cabin seems like the perfect place to bring a load of people to hang out with if you find yourself in Port Renfrew. It was unfortunate that we only spent one night at a time there as it really is a pleasant place and I'll stay there again if I ever return to that area of Vancouver Island.

I didn't know about their Hiker Huts at the time, but it looks like they would have been a cost-effective and completely satisfactory option for us at the start of the trail.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meeeohhmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in one of the hiker huts the night before we embarked on the West Coast Trail hike in July 2013. The place was perfect to meet our needs since we wanted a clean bed before we hit tents for the next week. The staff was also very helpful in making arrangements for us to take the water taxi to the north trailhead. We had planned to take 7 nights to complete the trail, and when we arrived back a day early they accommodated our change of plans.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had an awesome time fishing and staying at Trailhead. Stayed 4 nights and fished 3 days. We had three guys in the group and caught our limit of fish. Fish cleaning, vacuum sealing and freezing done on site so it was ready for the flight home.

Food was gourmet and couldn't have been better. Resort and lodge was great. Just what you want for a fishing trip. Had a knowledgeable guide, boats are top of the line and had lots of fun on the water each days. Connie and the staff were easy to get along with and the whole experience was very relaxed and casual.

Can't wait to plan my next trip to Trailhead.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryCouple_BT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blind Bay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Have had many great experiences while fishing with Trailhead Resort. These folks really know their stuff. Have tried other outfits fishing out of Port Renfrew but none compare to Trailhead it is what all the other outfitters strive to be, fantastic guides, clean comfortable and modern accomadations and down to earth people.
Having fished the Queen Charlottes I have to say this is better fishing.
Pete and Connie are the pioneers out here.
West Coast Wild.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shudann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Like others have commented, we got bumped out of our Hiker Hilton into a suite which was not a suite but actually just a big room. The suite was nothing special with minimal towels and few amenities. Excessive noise from other guests coming and going early in the morning and late at night indicated that there was no insulation in the walls. Overpriced for what was provided. This is not a resort and not what we expected.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustic-Ranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Trailhead is a focused charter fishing organization. We were a fishing group of four. We stayed 3 nights and fished two days. We caught our limit of fish and came home with each person having over 50 lbs of cleaned, portion packaged and frozen fish. I've many many trips there and every year is a little better. Food is gourmet, the rooms are great and the guides are a-one fishermen who want you to catch fish. Peter & Connie are great hosts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryleytoryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Renfrew
20.7 mi away
Van Riper's Resort
Van Riper's Resort
#1 of 5 in Sekiu
34 reviews
34.1 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
34.6 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
#1 of 8 in Port Renfrew
90 reviews
0.8 mi away
Big Fish Lodge
Big Fish Lodge
#3 of 8 in Port Renfrew
54 reviews
20.7 mi away
Curley's Resort and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailhead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailhead Resort

Property: Trailhead Resort
Address: 17268 Parkinson Rd | 17268 Parkinson Rd., Port Renfrew, British Columbia V0S 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Renfrew
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Renfrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trailhead Resort offers Port Renfrew accommodation two hours west of Victoria, Vancopuver Island, BC. We feature comfortable and spacious suites and cabins, with access to hot tubs and a fire pit, plus a BC fishing lodge for the exclusive use of our fishing charter guests. Explore the beauty of the west coast or sign up for one of our full-service Port Renfrew fishing charters to experience one of the most remote and legendary fishing locations in British Columbia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Trailhead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing