We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Fishin' Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trailhead Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trailhead Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Port Renfrew B&B and Inns
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Fishin' Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

We went in July 2011 and the 4 of us limited out both days. The cabins are awesome and the food is terrific. Going again this year and there will be 12 of us, so IWe'll be taking along a lot of coolers to pack the fish in.

Room Tip: all accommodations looked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricrobin33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    16
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
19
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We recently spent one night at one of the Cabins at the Trailhead Resort and had a great stay. The cabin itself was really nice, modern and spacious and was set in a really beautiful area, just a few minutes from the sea and near all the local conveniences.

The only thing I would say against this place was the quality of service which was provided. When we came to her with a couple of queries she made us feel a little like we were an inconvenience to her. She seemed to give us short answers and didn't follow up on a couple of issues which we raised with her.

In spite of this, it's a great place to stay and I would recommend it to others who are looking for quality accommodation at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beznee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCresort, Owner at Trailhead Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
“We are sorry about the quality of service you received during your visit. We do try to provide for our guests needs whenever possible. We have emphasized our “Super Host” policy to all the staff to ensure our guests feel welcome. We hope you will visit us again.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher Lake, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed overnight last summer after hiking. The accomodation was clean, comfortable, affordable, and very much appreciated. Thanks!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowichan Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

My husband and I have been visiting Trailhead for the last seven years. We've been on a number of fishing charters with fantastic results! Pete, Connie, Mike and the staff have always been great hosts.The fishing guides have been professional and very helpful to us, the clients. Accomodations and meals have been exceptional. We really look forward to coming to Trailhead again this year. Thanks for the hospitality!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kato g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

I would like to say the fishing is terrible, but in all honesty, that would be a lie. The only reason I would say that is because I don't want hordes of people coming to catch all of the fish at my favorite place. I would like to keep this private, although I guess they need some guests to come and pay for the business when I am not there. On our first day, we had a double header within two minutes of getting our lines into the water. The food was great, the boat was amazing, the guide was the best, we caught so many salmon and halibut that our arms pretty near fell off. i even caught a red & white spring (marbled flesh!). bring a patch if you are prone to motion sickness. this was the best fishing I ever had. I have my reservation for this year! (I hope not too many come to share my fish!)

Room Tip: if you are sharing a room with a fishing buddy, make sure he doesn't snore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taneda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

We drove out to Port Renfrew on a whim because while we were in Victoria several locals recommended it. Wish we had been able to stay longer! Loved this place. It was great for our family.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floridavolunteer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed at Trailhead the night before we went out fishing... Cabins were amazing! Fishing the next day was amazing.. we limited out within hours and Mike our guide was great!! We plan on going up next year from sure.

Room Tip: Cabins are great at Trailhead
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisag348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Renfrew
20.7 mi away
Van Riper's Resort
Van Riper's Resort
#1 of 5 in Sekiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
34.1 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW PREMIER Collection
34.6 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
#1 of 8 in Port Renfrew
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Handsome Dan's Port Renfrew
Handsome Dan's Port Renfrew
#3 of 8 in Port Renfrew
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Big Fish Lodge
Big Fish Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port Renfrew
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailhead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailhead Resort

Property: Trailhead Resort
Address: 17268 Parkinson Rd | 17268 Parkinson Rd., Port Renfrew, British Columbia V0S 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Renfrew
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Renfrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trailhead Resort offers Port Renfrew accommodation two hours west of Victoria, Vancopuver Island, BC. We feature comfortable and spacious suites and cabins, with access to hot tubs and a fire pit, plus a BC fishing lodge for the exclusive use of our fishing charter guests. Explore the beauty of the west coast or sign up for one of our full-service Port Renfrew fishing charters to experience one of the most remote and legendary fishing locations in British Columbia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Trailhead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing