We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautifully displayed

It was nice that the history of the burl was available for reading and one can walk around the... read more

Reviewed August 22, 2020
hollyif
,
Duncan, Canada
HUGE!!!!

This is a fun quick stop in Port McNeill. There is a small plaque describing where and how this... read more

Reviewed August 5, 2019
Lin T
,
Oakland, California
Read all 43 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Vancouver Island
from $125.11
More Info
from $75.69
More Info
from $57.41
More Info
from $145.43
More Info
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
18
15
9
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
18
15
9
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 43 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2016

This HUGE burl is really cool, but we can't figure out why they hid it in a parking lot?
It should be moved near the waterfront or harbour area.
It's hard to get a good picture that shows the true scale of it's size, so I had Colleen sit beside it. Check this out if you're in town.

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank Paulshappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2016

Not exactly exciting. Do not go out of your way to see this. Located in what appears to be a forgotten parking lot, it would be very easy to drive by...and not even notice it.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank tyarbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2016

We are local explorers going down every highway and byway we can find in our region of Mount Waddington. We discovered this awesome Burl display recently when we were visiting the forestry offices nearby to talk maps and backcountry driving. Its very photogenic.

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank seaside-traveler1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2016

You have to love the ability of communities large and small to find the world's "biggest" or "oldest" or whatever. McNeill has a large lump from a tree - the "worlds largest burl". I don't know by what authority this stellar claim to fame is made but, really, who cares - it is a very impressive burl and has a shelter to enhance its importance. If you are in the area, get a selfie in front of this giant piece of tree and show all of your friends and family - you are bound to be a hit on Facebook :)

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank bigaloz2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2015

The burl was quite something, must have been a big of work to get that one out of the bush. Make sure to visit the museum beside it, rich history and our guide/volunteer was hilarious. I didn't know that the trees in the rain forest of Vancouver Island can grow to three feet in diameter in 42 years, and that parts of the Island have been logged three times. Makes me rethink my view of logging sustainability. What a neat place!

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Mat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews