We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean cabins, nice , best in town”
Review of Black Bear Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port McNeill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Bear Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port McNeill
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very clean cabins, nice , best in town”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This site is very clean, well kept, good prices, the cabins are the best. I would not stay at any other
locations in town as others are dumps. The cabins are great for two people, you are away from the main building.

Room Tip: Get a cabin if it works, no noise, private , nice porch, sat tv, wi fi, kitchen stove, fridge, coffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    43
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
21
38
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

As per previous comments, it is $155 per night for 2 adults and a teenager. The room is basic and is certainly not a resort. The pool and the gym were closed and we were not told at the time of reservation. Even if the pool was open, they have a policy that restricts access to adults only 19 years and up. Our room did have shampoo/conditioner in the shower/tub, good pillows, free breakfast, and fridge. One of two beds was more comfortable than the other one, the other one was hard. They do have lots of parking space and it is an easy walk to stores and restaurants.

Next time we stay in this town, I will look at the other available options in the area and maybe book at Telegraph Cove instead, which is about 30 km away.

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor and away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncanColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

This "resort" was just OK! We found it to be just like any other motel on the highway. The pool was closed and for adults only which if you don't like children might appeal to you but the price of 155.00 a night for a double queen basic room with no facility access and a TV that had no cable ( was also not working) the breakfast was OK but nothing special. The beds were not very comfortable. There is an in room safe for your valuables??? A ton of security cameras? This is a strange set up and not worth the current rates.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsalots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This very basic motel (definitely not a resort as stated in its name) was recommended by a friend who just relocated here but never stayed in this property. We stayed for 2 nights in a King bedroom suite although I preferred a King studio but couldn't get that since they did not accept an email booking which I had to do since no one picked up their phone! When we got to our suite I noticed the garbage was not removed and an item from the previous guest was left in the fridge. I did call the Front Desk to let them know who offered to pick it up but just to her to mention to their housekeeper. The room had no windows so was feeling a bit claustrophobic and that bed was so uncomfortable. I ended up with a sore back. Appreciated the free wifi and that the dinner place, Northern Lights was across the street. They also offered free breakfast which we tried once but better if you pay for breakfast down the road at Tia's Cafe.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0niaYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I agree with Joy B - although they do have a pool and a spa in a separate building, I wouldn't classify this as a resort. It is a motel. It is a clean, well maintained motel. Would recommend they put some shampoo/conditioner in the bathroom, but everything else was great. My room had a small fridge and a microwave as well as a coffee maker. There is also free wi-fi, but it is spotty, at best. Don't rely on it for business use. I also liked that they have a continental breakfast in the lodge where reception is. Waffles, coffee, toast, cereal, fruit, etc. For the price, a very adequate stopping spot in Port McNeill.

Room Tip: Choose the ones further away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDBradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

A 'Resort' is probably an over statement, I would class this as a nice motel. Our room was large enough, clean and basic, as was the breakfast. There is a small pool and spa, and I tried to book an appointment for a spa treatment, but I think the locals use this quite a lot, there were no appointments available. We stayed here as we were taking a whale watching boat trip from Port McNeill, so it was a handy stop over.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight. The rooms were unbelievably basic (think two star mattress and room amenities) with four star prices even in the off season! Lacey (front desk staff) was the saving grace with a friendly and helpful personality. (Thanks Lacey for bring so nice) Other front desk staff were unfriendly and not suited to tourism. We had money to spend and were looking for local resources and ideas from the front desk on how to tour but it was thanksgiving weekend and the town was shut down so we took our tourism and accommodation/meal dollars to campbell river instead. Outwardly the place looks ok from the road but I would give this place and the town a pass next time sorry to say.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Mattzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port McNeill
0.0 mi away
Haida Way Motor Inn
Haida Way Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Port McNeill
109 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
43 reviews
20.5 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Alert Bay Cabins
Alert Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Alert Bay
45 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cedar Park Resort Cottages & RV Camping
0.3 mi away
McNeill's Inn On The Harborfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Resort

Property: Black Bear Resort
Address: 1812 Campbell Way, Port McNeill, British Columbia V0N 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port McNeill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port McNeill
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Port Mcneill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing