We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean and quiet”
Review of Black Bear Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port McNeill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Bear Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port McNeill
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Only stayed one night but was met with friendly staff and the room was clean. It's a small town so accomodation options are limited but this is a good motel if you need to stay overnight in Port McNeill. The motel is quiet and I didn't hear neighbours or traffic noise at all. Breakfast is fairly basic but nice to have. Right across the street is a pub (there's also a restaurant) which looks pretty much what you'd expect for a small town pub. The waitress we had was very friendly and food was good. I'd recommend both the motel and the pub.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank cpmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Black Bear Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 118 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here one night and enjoyed the peace and quiet. It's walking distance to "downtown" port McNeill, if you can call it a town. The pool and hot tub are great and seem rarely used. The breakfast in the morning is average, but good.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcbusinesstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very clean and well maintained facility, clean and basic room, comfortable bed, Rather steep price. We loved the waffles in the morning, they really stood out from the continental breakfast. Guests without major credit card would be turned away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hiddenharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Black Bear Resort was a good place to rest for the night. Staff at reception were efficient and pleasant. Helped with directions and clearly laid out motel amenities. Rooms were standard and served their purpose. Rooms were exceptionally cleaned. Breakfast is included but the standard toast and bagels - didn't get to enjoy but was nice to have as an option. Next time I am up on the north island I will be booking to stay here again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Price was a little steep for winter rate ($135) but walked in and it was spotless. Smelled like new. We were shocked to learn it's seven years ago. Wouldn't have guessed it. Has a indoor pool, continental breakfast. We had a problem (NOT related to the accomodations) forcing us to leave within 20 minutes of checking in. And they REFUNDED US! This is incredible. Excellent customer service. We're still in shock. We brought down the small towel and soap we had used and they still REFUNDED US! THANK YOU and we will be staying the night here for sure.

Room Tip: All have views. Ask for one away from the street....very quiet town but one side is next to the str...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkiHikeKayakPlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Black Bear is a new facility that stands out from the other hotels in town. The owners obviously take pride in its appearance. The grounds were clean and well maintained and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Our room was clean and basic, with no-frills pine furniture, a comfortable bed, small fridge, TV and a nice clean bathroom. There is an indoor pool onsite (we didn't use it but it looked decent). They offer a pretty good self-serve breakfast with more than just the basic cereal-and-muffin buffet. They also allow travelers to leave their vehicles for an extended period - very handy if (like us) you're taking a whale watching/kayaking/fishing trip and need to leave your vehicle for a few days. The large parking lot is ideal for trucks, trailers and RV's, and they even have a couple of communal barbeques and picnic tables set aside for guests to use.

The hotel seems to be popular with logging crews and other industry types, so expect some late night/early morning comings-and-goings. For couples looking for a more private, quiet setting, a trip to a local B&B might be more appropriate. The only issue I have is with the price - $200 for a (king bed) room seems a bit steep. However, given the limited selection in town, I would pay the extra money to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Very clean and modern facility, I was pleasantly surprised. The service was very friendly and responsive to our needs. The complimentary breakfast was very decent.

The place is set up like a motel, such that all the rooms are accessed from a common veranda. This also means that if you are mobility impaired you should request a ground floor room.

All in all a great comfy place to stay, a stones throw away from restaurants and the docks. Beware of the bears!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nebulaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port McNeill
4.2 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haida Way Motor Inn
Haida Way Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Port McNeill
121 reviews
20.5 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
20.1 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#4 of 6 in Port Hardy
51 reviews
7.7 mi away
Alert Bay Cabins
Alert Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Alert Bay
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Resort

Address: 1812 Campbell Way, Port McNeill, British Columbia V0N 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port McNeill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port McNeill
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Port Mcneill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing