We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smelled like a NEW PLACE!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bear Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port McNeill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Bear Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port McNeill
Certificate of Excellence
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Smelled like a NEW PLACE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Price was a little steep for winter rate ($135) but walked in and it was spotless. Smelled like new. We were shocked to learn it's seven years ago. Wouldn't have guessed it. Has a indoor pool, continental breakfast. We had a problem (NOT related to the accomodations) forcing us to leave within 20 minutes of checking in. And they REFUNDED US! This is incredible. Excellent customer service. We're still in shock. We brought down the small towel and soap we had used and they still REFUNDED US! THANK YOU and we will be staying the night here for sure.

Room Tip: All have views. Ask for one away from the street....very quiet town but one side is next to the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skipatroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    42
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
21
38
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Black Bear is a new facility that stands out from the other hotels in town. The owners obviously take pride in its appearance. The grounds were clean and well maintained and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Our room was clean and basic, with no-frills pine furniture, a comfortable bed, small fridge, TV and a nice clean bathroom. There is an indoor pool onsite (we didn't use it but it looked decent). They offer a pretty good self-serve breakfast with more than just the basic cereal-and-muffin buffet. They also allow travelers to leave their vehicles for an extended period - very handy if (like us) you're taking a whale watching/kayaking/fishing trip and need to leave your vehicle for a few days. The large parking lot is ideal for trucks, trailers and RV's, and they even have a couple of communal barbeques and picnic tables set aside for guests to use.

The hotel seems to be popular with logging crews and other industry types, so expect some late night/early morning comings-and-goings. For couples looking for a more private, quiet setting, a trip to a local B&B might be more appropriate. The only issue I have is with the price - $200 for a (king bed) room seems a bit steep. However, given the limited selection in town, I would pay the extra money to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Very clean and modern facility, I was pleasantly surprised. The service was very friendly and responsive to our needs. The complimentary breakfast was very decent.

The place is set up like a motel, such that all the rooms are accessed from a common veranda. This also means that if you are mobility impaired you should request a ground floor room.

All in all a great comfy place to stay, a stones throw away from restaurants and the docks. Beware of the bears!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nebulaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George
Level Contributor
109 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I travel well over 200 days per year. The Black Bear Inn surpasses ALL motels in Port Mcneill. The quality of ownership is obvious. It's family owned and run. The rooms are always spotless. The parking lot is well maintained. There's room even for my truck. The conti breakfast is impressive. The breakfast room is spacious. I have been staying here for the last 4 years. "Well done Black Bear Inn."

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benPrinceGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

What a refreshing find. My husband was not feeling well and was in no mood for pitching our tent, so we pulled in here.

Rooms are do fresh and large. Love all the pine wood. All amenities are here including a laundry room with really good appliances.

TV is great, wifi is fast and free, and the beds are super comfortable.

The views of the bay are very pleasant and everything you might need is close by from groceries to drugstore items to post office to liquor stores.

There is a free breakfast, too. And if you really want to splurge, try one of their spa offerings. The prices are very reasonable.

The room is a little more costly than others, but very much worth the extra dollars.

My only negative? I would expect deluxe toilet amenities in a place with a spa, but all they provide is s cheap tiny bar of everyday motel soap. And s dispenser on thr shower wall That is something that I simply do not understand. I strongly suggest an upgrade in this area to match the rest of the resort's quality.

Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheree Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the Black Bear Resort the night before we went out Whale watching.

I was very impressed with the overall look of Black Bear as we drove in, everything looked very well maintained and very neat/tidy. The place is obviously loved and cared for.

The welcome on reception was also warm & friendly, our rooms were ready and everything was explained from breakfast to facilities. We were told that they have a BBQ in the middle of the green where we were welcome to do a cook up, sadly we were no here long enough but that could have been fun!

The rooms were clean and comfortable enough for a 24 hour stay. There was a double bed, en-suite and fridge for our use. We walked into the town down to the water to grab a beer & some food that night, all of which was very easy and there is lots of car parking. There aren't many places to stay in Port McNeill which in part explains the higher price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed one night in Port McNeill here, but had left our booking too late so this was the only place we could find. It was hard to pay the price tag, but it was very clean &comfortable, with great bathtub. A lot of workers seemed to be staying there so the parking lot was a little noisy in the morning with big diesel work trucks starting up, but otherwise very quiet. Was happy we stayed - the pictures online didn't do it justice (though their claim of "elegantly appointed" is not what I would consider an accurate description). We were happy with our decision to stay in the end (though we will try for a B&B in the area instead next time just to save some money).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlisse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port McNeill
0.0 mi away
Haida Way Motor Inn
Haida Way Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Port McNeill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
19.8 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn
Quarterdeck Inn
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
90.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
7.7 mi away
Alert Bay Cabins
Alert Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Alert Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cedar Park Resort Cottages & RV Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Resort

Property: Black Bear Resort
Address: 1812 Campbell Way, Port McNeill, British Columbia V0N 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port McNeill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port McNeill
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Port Mcneill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing