We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit overpriced but it was a good stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haida Way Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Port McNeill
Reviewed July 25, 2013

For what it is , it could be a little bit cheaper. However the room was clean , the staff were super friendly and I had a great night of sleep!!
The restaurant is really good and the location is perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Haida Way Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 121 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We chose this hotel because the review for the only other one in Port McNeill was terrible. It is not often that we give a bad review but this was worth mentioning. Check in was ok, the room was clean but hot and smelled like smoke, even-though it was a non smoking room. We booked on hotwire which still was overpriced but when it came to pay there was a $15 dollar extra surcharge for having a second person - however it was a double room. The shower did not work - we needed pliers to operate the diverter and the breakfast was the worst you could imagine. The coffee was bad, the hard boiled eggs tasteless, the toast old and stale, the toaster old and slow and not doing a great job and the juices watered down and too sweet.

Room Tip: try the cheaper hotel or drive to town first and knock on doors on the other hotels or places to sta...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I've stayed here several times, and have always been well served. Rooms are always clean and comfortable. I appreciate the fridge and microwave. The included hot breakfast is far better than in most motels, with good food and plenty of variety. My most recent visit was earlier thins week, and the service was exceptional. I got home to discover I'd left a case in the bathroom that contained some important meds. Haida Way contacted me immediately, and made arrangements to send the case by courier. I had it within 24 hours!

Stayed: June 2013
Thank paulhami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have lived on Vancouver Island for 34 years and for the first time went to the top end of the Island to do some whale watching. We went with a group so this motel was not our personal choice. Although a bit utilitarian by some standards it was very clean, had most things one needs, a nice queen size bed, clean sheets, hot water, a T.V. and free WiFi, was very quiet and the food was very good. We started with a lunch consisting of 4 types of soup and a variety of sandwiches, croissants and buns. The dinner was roast beef, chicken or salmon, mashed potatoes, Yorkshire puddings, vegetables and rice plus desserts. Breakfast was eggs, sausage, hash browns, etc. Very good ordinary food nicely cooked. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimS456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I found myself at Haida Way when travelling over from the UK to visit a friend who is nannying in Canada for a year to see how she was getting on and also catch a bit of break from work at the same time. Although when booking I thought the prices were quite steep, after arriving I was satisfied that I had spent my money on adequate services. When arriving, the staff were very kind and pleasant which made me feel at home, this was really great for me as I was travelling on my own I was particularly worried that the environment of the hotel would be anti-social and awkward.They were also very helpful with any queries I had such as using my laptop in my room, and stated that I could use their computer in the lobby which had free internet – I was really chuffed with this as I have been to endless hotels where you have to pay a ridiculous price for just five minutes of internet!

I had a wander round the small town and felt that the tradition of it was very apparent. The town boasts activities that are true to its history and this makes the whole area seem a lot more homely to a visitor – I particularly enjoyed the whale watching which was truly breathtaking, and an exciting activity. I really feel that Port Mcneill is a fantastic place to get away from the stress of reality and have some quiet time.

I had been warned not to expect much and I can say with complete honestly that my stay at Haita Way was really not as bad as I had anticipated. Although the rooms were not fantastically decorated and seemed quite old, the beds were comfortable and the space within the room was adequate. This along with a slightly high pricing for the rooms were the only aspects that were not exceptional, otherwise I really enjoyed my stay and would like to thank the staff for making me feel so welcome and at ease!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieM32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The room that we were assigned contained very old furniture and was really nothing special including the colours of the room. Lighting was very dim. They charge $85 plus tax that's about $100 and I really feel that it is overpriced but there are not many options in Port McNeil. Right accross the street there is a nice resort but it is more expensive but it does include a free breakfast. If you are looking for better options go to Port Hardy if you have an extra 1/2 hour to drive north. There are two hostels there. The North Coast Trail Hostel has a single room and it's much nicer than the Haida Inn. It's about $60-65. Personally, I would never stay at any accomodation where there is a liquor store or bar in the facility like this one. I realized this error after paying our fee for the night. I don't feel that it appropriate for children. Overall, the service could improve significantly. I will not recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel where there is more respect for human life.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed overnight, on our way to a week's boat cruise. The rooms were OK - nothing special, but entirely comfortable. We weren't too excited by the breakfast offering, but lunch and dinner were excellent. The highlight, however, was the attitude of the staff. On our way back through town after the cruise, on our way to fly to Vancouver, we had a very good lunch at the hotel restaurant - and then discovered that the local taxi company had lost our bookings (despite several calls to confirm!) and had no cars available - so we had no way to get to the airport - a 40-minute drive away. The proprietors and their family members offered to take us in their own cars, and the lady who drove us (Christine) refused payment. Their helpfulness rescued us from a very difficult situation. Really really nice people!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port McNeill
4.1 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
45 reviews
20.5 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
73 reviews
20.1 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#4 of 6 in Port Hardy
52 reviews
19.7 mi away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
McNeill's Inn On The Harborfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haida Way Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haida Way Motor Inn

Address: 1817 Campbell Way, Port McNeill, British Columbia V0N 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port McNeill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Port McNeill
Price Range: $80 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Haida Way Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Haida Way Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haida Way Motor Hotel Port Mcneill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing