We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Haida Way Motor Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Black Bear Resort(Port McNeill)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alert Bay Cabins(Alert Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Cove Lodge(Port McNeill)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    Airport Inn(Port Hardy)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Pioneer Inn(Port Hardy)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Pier Side Landing(Port Hardy)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (131)
    Filter reviews
    131 results
    Traveler rating
    10
    56
    48
    9
    8
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    10
    56
    48
    9
    8
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsthe pubone nightnorthern lightswould stay againcement blockincluded breakfastnothing fancytop floorcoffee maker and fridgestaff were politeroom was clean and comfortablesmall townhockey teamcold beer and wine storehot breakfastwhale watching tripyogurt
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    101 - 106 of 131 reviews
    Reviewed November 5, 2011

    We spent three nights at Haida Way in Port McNeill, room and bathroom were clean and comfortable, staff friendly and helpful. Reasonably priced, it included full breakfasts.
    (The rug in the dining room needs replacing).
    We were quite satisfied with this accomodation.
    From there it was a short trip to Port Hardy, Malcolm Island and Telegraph Cove, all pictoresque sites to visit.

    • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank FrankN6
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 29, 2011

    As another reviewer has pointed out, the photos do not represent the current reality.
    It is visually depressing, old furniture and so on. Feels a bit like you have arrived at the ends of the earth somewhere. Reminds me of a placee I stayed in in Rocky Mountain House a couple of years ago, which is similarly remotely located.
    However, it is very clean and meets basic needs. The TV is about a 19", so, if TV is important to you, you will be disappointed.
    The taps in our bathrooom were strange. The hot water kept shutting itself off in the sink, but if you turn the knob again, further, it comes back on again. Trial and error!
    The shower from next door was clearly heard, but overall quiet.
    The windows open a crack only, but have no screens; this did not pose a problem for us.
    The internet was not working very well the day we were there but they did everything they could to rectify it, including letting us use their computer.
    The breakfast area is similarly depressing, and the food hardly worth eating; in fact I didn't eat much of it at all.
    The lobby is small and depressing, institutional-looking.
    However, the bar/dining room is OK, great views, has a bit of an old bar smell to it which I could do without. I recommend the fish and chips, as they were made with fresh halibut,which you can't get very many places.
    My own feeling is that I would have more confidence in this place if they put some of the money they are obviously making into updating it, and keep the prices about the same. I think it's a bit too much for what it is right now. Being clean and tidy only gets you so far.

    Room Tip: if you don't like the one they offer, try asking for another one.
    • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank loo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 13, 2010

    Stayed here for 2 nights as we explored the far north of the Island. Theres not much choice in Port McNeill and this seems the best of a bad bunch. Imagine walking into a 1970's prison block and thats this hotel, I have never seen so many concrete blocks that hadn't been skimmed over, are there no good plasterers on the Island that could finish the job?.
    Also the hotel was very noisy, we had a room over looking the front and the locals like to keep their diesel engines running for a long time at 3am and 6am in the morning! The plumbing was rather thunderous too, you know when your neighbours are having a shower!
    The only saving grace was that it was spotlessly clean and on the Sunday morning we had a full cooked buffet breakfast and it was fabulous, the staff were so friendly too. We ate on saturday in the hotel restaurant (The Northern Lights) and that was amazing.
    Then Sunday came, the restaurant and bar were shut and on the Monday morning breakfast was the worst continental buffet we came across.
    We quickly checked out and put it down as an experience that cost us almost 200 dollars a night!!!!! ouch!
    If they charged you half the price I would have given a much better review, but the price, now that was taking the mickey!

    • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank scrapyardnow
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 26, 2010

    I see other reviews are mixed about this place but we booked here after a Washington based ex-pat aircraft engineer we befriended recommended it - this well-travelled person claimed not the best but certainly not the worst and this is exactly what we found. The outside does give a bit of shabby image but inside was fine for the price (98CAD +tax). The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the internet worked fine, and the shower was great!! Yellow emulsioned concrete walls may not be to everybody's taste but it did not look that tatty and indeed the colour brightened up the room. Breakfast was basic with cereal, hard boiled eggs and muffins. The staff were extremely polite and very helpful. An overnighter here would not be an issue except for extremely fussy guests looking for plush five star fittings and standards which the hotel is definitely not.

    • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank robin22059
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 25, 2010

    We were on BC ferries trip and stopped in Port McNeill for one night. The staff were friendly and helpful. and the food in the lounge was Superb! If in this area again, I would stay at Haida-Way again!
    Just one thing... if the light in bathroom can be lighter, that would be wonderful!

    • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Francis241
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews