We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Hidden Cove Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port McNeill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Cove Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port McNeill
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Had a great stay in this Lodge with great views right on the waters edge and easy access to whale, fishing and bear trips from the jetty. Great restaurant on site and friendly hosts.
Sofa bed a tad uncomfortable but all that fresh air meant u slept well anyway. Highly recomend Tide Tours for bears at Knights Inlet and MacKays for brilliant and informative whale tours- Bill trully loves his Orcas and his daughter Nicola who must be part fish by the way she dived into that frezzing cold water continues to fight the good fight for the survival of the wild salmon !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisakingEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    40
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
118
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We have recently returned from 2 weeks exploring Vancouver Island and without doubt our stay at Hidden Cove was the highlight of our trip. Dan and Sandra are wonderful hosts - knowledgeable, funny, entertaining and caring. We couldn't have asked for more. The location of Hidden Cove is exceptional - it really is a one off and I thank Dan and Sandra for their generosity in sharing their home with us.
The accommodation was great - a charming mixture of comfort and homeliness. We decided to eat in the first night, which is what we normally do as it's convenient but the food was so good we ate in every night we were there. Dinner consisted of a choice of 3-4 starters, a fish, meat or vegetarian main course and a delicious choice of desserts. You have to make your choice at breakfast, which was fine for us ( a meat eater and a fish eater) and our choices never failed to delight. The wine is worth a mention as it's good and very well priced - scarely more than you would pay in a shop.
We went on 2 trips whilst there, grizzly bear viewing in Knight Inlet with Tide Rip Tours and Whale Watching with Mackay. In both cases they will pick you up at Hidden Cove, which is a bonus. Both trips were excellent and well worth doing.
We stayed for 4 nights and could have happily stayed for another 4, we will next time! I would have loved to spend a couple of days just sitting on the deck with a good book and enjoying the wildlife, which is abundent. We were visited by bears, the smaller of which came up on the deck, a racoon, hummingbirds and eagles. It really was a delight and we look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thevirleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

What can I say that hasn't been said already, except to start with our biggest mistake which was only staying for 2 nights. Usually departing accommodation stops at the latest 8am we had to drag ourselves away from HCL at 11.
Situated down an unpaved road in an inlet off the Johnson Strait approx 15 minutes drive from Telegraph Cove and 25 minutes from Port McNeill the area is teeming with wildlife.
On numerours occasions during our stay we were able to watch black bear (1 with a cub) in close proximity and sea otters were playing on the dock. Dan fed the racoons which was amusing to watch and others saw blacktail deer, red squirrel and bald eagles as well as numerous other birds. The sunsets from the property are beautiful.
Our room was on a corner with two windows - one overlooking the side garden the water. It wasn't huge but beautifully furnished with a double bed, small open wardrobe and ensuite with ample toiletries and towels, It was also cleaned and tidied during our stay. As HCL is a home the furniture is better than hotel quality.
Dan is very friendly, Sandra less so and there are numerous rules posted around, but when you get to know the area you understand the need for this and adhere to them.
The food was very good with ample choice and alcohol is available at most times. My husband is a fussy eater and had no complaints!
We shared our stay with Americans, Israelis, French, Danes and lots of British and everyone socialised in the evening swapping stories of whale watching trips, grizzly trips and general driving trips.
We did the Grizzly & Salmon trip with Tide Rip Tours which was awsome. They collected and returned us to the dock at HCL.
This whole couple of days was a wonderful experience and we would love to return someday - staying at HCL longer of course!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Hidden Cove Lodge is appropriately named. It is hidden between forest and sea and is warm & cozy, teeming with wildlife. We saw some of the resident bears and deer but thoroughly enjoyed the racoon family that frolicked outside the window every morning while we ate breakfast. The rooms were clean & comfortable. The Lodge also serves dinner which we enjoyed every night of our stay. The huge sitting room is surrounded by a wall of windows overlooking the forest and the Straits. So easy to take the last of our dinner wine down to the sitting room & relax by the fire. Dan is so friendly and funny, making you feel like you're part of the family. He will sit with you for breakfast and strolls the dinner tables making everyone feel right at home. He is truly a gem.
The whale watching trip they booked was undeniably the best ever; orcas, humpbacks, seals, sea lions, eagles, etc. The captain parked the boat in the middle of Orcas which seemed comfortable with us and put on a show; especially the baby orca playing leap frog with a porpoise! The topper was when he dropped a microphone into the water and we could hear the orcas "speaking". It was amazing!!
We like to keep "moving on" and see new places year after year but this is one place I will go back to. As we were driving out to our next stop, I was missing it before we got off the property.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingwilberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

It was really the highlight of our vacation. What a great place!
It’s not fancy, nor deluxe hotel, but you get the full value of your money because of its special location, and the fact the place is surrounded by wild nature, at its highest beauty.
Black bear came to visit the yard few minutes after we arrived (and returned later…), a family of raccoons dined on the porch while we drank our coffee, a bold eagle was passing by, and cute beavers were catching sun on the deck… What more could we expect?
Dan and Sandra were nice – not more, but not less, so that’s exactly the right dosage we thought they should be. The rest of the staff were simply great.
The rooms are basic but comfortable, and the only thing I wish we had is a thicker blanket, because we were a bit cold during the night.
It’s a great place, and I hope to visit it again with our children one day

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LilaloTLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Hidden Cove Lodge. The setting is beautiful and although we weren't lucky enough to see a black bear, the resident racoon family were a delight and the 5 month old babies oh-so-cute in a clumsy kind of way. Dan (host) was especially entertaining with his tongue-in-cheek humour. The evening meal was delicious with generous portions and the waitresses were very friendly. Breakfast was also great. Our room was impeccably clean, comfortable and very quiet. We hope to return some day in the not-too-distant future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frannick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnborough hants
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Four of us stayed in one of the two cottages overlooking the sea. The cottage was clean & tidy with a fantastic view, which, on one afternoon included a black bear less than 10ft away, he just ignored us but we have him on camera.
We ate at the lodge three out of the four nights. The menu was available in the morning to book for that evening. There was a limited choice, but who cares the quality and presentation of the food was excellant - we have dined in 2* restaurants that would be hard pushed to match the quality. The waitresses were friendly and helpful and as other visitors have said the hosts Dan and Sandra were great , visiting each table for a chat before sitting down to their own evening meal. The whole experience was FANTASTIC!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilson017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port McNeill
8.7 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
44 reviews
10.2 mi away
Haida Way Motor Inn
Haida Way Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Port McNeill
111 reviews
30.5 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Alert Bay Cabins
Alert Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Alert Bay
47 reviews
3.1 mi away
Alert Bay Lodge
Alert Bay Lodge
#2 of 4 in Alert Bay
74 reviews
8.8 mi away
Cedar Park Resort Cottages & RV Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Cove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Cove Lodge

Property: Hidden Cove Lodge
Address: 1 Hidden Cove Rd | PO Box 258, Port McNeill, British Columbia V0N 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port McNeill
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port McNeill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Hidden Cove Hotel Port Mcneill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing