We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs new menu”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Tia's Cafe

Tia's Cafe
Ranked #9 of 12 Restaurants in Port McNeill
Cuisines: Canadian, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Needs new menu”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The service is about the same as always and that was poor. Had to bring our meal to the cash register since the waitress didn't come back to our table for about half hour and there was only 2 other tables. But there menu has nothing on it. Not 1 salad couldn't even eat had to watch my family eat. Sad

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    8
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Great Cafe Great Service”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had driven from Campbell River to Port Hardy and all places off the highway and were looking for a nice place to have lunch. We saw Tia's and it looked like a nice clean place. We had a very friendly waitress named Katlyn and she took good care of us. We had a nice lunch and my husband said the soup was one of the best he had tasted. Not sure if we will ever get back up to Port McNeill but if we do we will stop for lunch again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanadaPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slow but decent breakfast”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We ate at Tia's twice for breakfast while visiting the North Island. Mostly because it was about the only thing we could find for breakfast in Port McNeill, but we came back because it was a good enough breakfast. The service was really slow, especially the second time. Our coffees and water were refilled somewhat regularly but we had to wait to order an exceedingly long time. The second day we were there they were out of sausage, sourdough toast, wheat toast (brown as they called it) and chorizo. I had ham, cheese and mushroom omeletes both days, the hash browns are actually what I would call country potatoes and were done just right. My daughter had french toast one day and an omelet the next, she said both were good. My boyfriend had the huevos rancheros and didn't say a whole lot about it...which means it was fine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank music4mysoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Long wait Horrible Food”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My Husband and I took our grandson to this restaurant on Saturday. Not only did the wait staff have no clue how to do their job, no water jugs in a restaurant? Telling me they have no onion rings after a half an hour of already waiting?, they laced their incompetence with rudeness. It took an hour for our food to arrive, we should have just left after a half an hour. Other customers seemed to get their food quickly while we waited and waited and waited. One waitress even refused to serve us because we asked for refills on our water. The one who did treated us with abject rudeness. Just so rude. The food was terrible. My chicken burger was dry and unpleasant while my grandsons chicken strips were over cooked and hard for him to eat. Horrible. Do not go here, go anywhere else.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GBB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Waitstaff-pleasant Food-UGH”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

10-09-2012 Drove by and saw a number of people in there, figured it was one of those quaint local eateries. It was but this on it's own doesn't make a good choice for food. Each of us had a burger. I had the daily special Minestrone soup - the ingrediants included old bacon, chopped carrots, one piece of a snow pea, spagetti noodles, and unidentifable objects. The burger meat was grissley, and oozed with fat, similar to some evil breakfast pork sausage. Come to think of it there was a porkish texture to it-not beef. I left 3/4 of the burger and the soup (with the exception of two spoonfuls). My husband ate his burger and then asked me if I had Tums about 20 minutes later. For the check you need to go to the counter and ask for it. That's okay..it made it easy to run away faster. SAVE YOURSELF - GO ELSEWHERE. (sorry for any misspellings)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiHikeKayakPlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tia's Cafe also viewed

Port McNeill, Vancouver Island
Port McNeill, Vancouver Island
 
Port McNeill, Vancouver Island
Port McNeill, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Tia's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing