We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just the best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port McNeill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Artists Point Bed, Breakfast and Phototours
Ranked #1 of 8 Port McNeill B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The perfect place to stay while visiting the north island. Incredible view and very clean, spacious accomodation with host who are second to none. A most enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 67 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

A lot of privacy, because the Artists Point offers only one suite with a private access composed of a master bedroom with ensuite very large bathroom and a living room with a very confortable double sofa-bed where my teenager son slept as a prince.
A beautiful view over the ocean, and a porch where you can relax and admire such a beauty (and this porch is used exclusively by the guests).
A very warm welcome, because Rolf and Michelle are possibly the nicest people we met during our 3 weeks vacation in BC (and we only met nice people!) and to their best to make the stay of their guest the most pleasant. Everything is arranged according to their guest needs, starting from the home made breakfast that Michelle cooks every morning on your order and at the time you like
All this would be an excellent B&B, but there is much more!!!!!!! Rolf is a professional photographer, and offers you the chance of taking photo tours with him on land (with his 4 wheel drive car) or by sea (with his friend, unforgettable Captain Pete). We took two tours with him during our stay, learning a lot about photography, walking in the rain forest and on beautiful beaches (absolutely alone, the 4 of us!!!) and photo-hunting eagles and humpbacks amidst the hundreds of islet off shore the coast.
We spent only three nights at the Artists Point, but it is certainly worth of a longer stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fqf58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Location? Incredible! Food? Delicious! The hosts? Gracious! Photo workshop? Out of this world!

We basically had the entire lower level of the house as our own "suite". It was comfortable and spacious.

My wife and I are amateur photographers -- basically intermediate skill levels. During the photo workshop, Rolf was able to feed us information at just the right pace -- not too fast and complicated, and not too slow and simple. We both came home feeling like our photography skills were much improved. There's no doubt Rolf can contribute to the skills of anyone from beginner to professional. And the photo shoot locations are not only picturesque (hard to take a bad picture!), but also are places that we would never have found on our own. The entire experience was one we'll never forget. We would definitely go back again.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Whilst the property, amenities and location lived up to their billing, the most pleasant surprise was the warmth and hospitality of Rolf and Michelle. They ensured that the Artists Point was not only the base for a magnificient 4 day trip to this wonderland, it was a highlight in itself. We will definitely be back for a Rolf photo-tour.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SattuBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Unique and affordable B&B with only a single unit. A converted daylight basement transformed into a spacious well decorated living area with a separate entrance. The area is divided into a living room and a bedroom with a large bathroom. Nice place to relax and unwind after a day of touring, kayaking, hiking, whale watching, etc... on North Vancouver Island. Great made to order breakfasts. You get to chose the time you want to eat since you're the only guests. So feel free to sleep in or get up early. Friendly hosts that will assist you in planning any activities you may be interested in. They definitely went above and beyond our expectations. The best compliment I can make is we will be back. One recommendation I have is to stay for several days so you can truly enjoy this area and still have time to relax.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarenO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Western Canada we stayed at Rolf and Michelles "The Artists Point" near Port McNeill in northern Vancouver Island. Our goal was not only to relax from the hectic life back in Europe but also to get some stunning photos (as we are very enthusiastic about photography) from the landscape and wildlife up here. It turned out that we hit the perfect spot ! Not only that we were greeted by the hosts to the cozy and clean house in a warm and relaxed atmosphere, we could stay in the best rooms we had on our entire trip. The large and spacy suite with a big king size bed and a complete living room with a desk (to work on the pictures we shot during the day) was our home away from home for a (too) few days. Since the suite is the only guest accomodation in the house we were the only guests, adding to the atmosphere and the attendance of our hosts. The occasional barbecue on the large porch overlooking the bay in the evening just makes a perfect day. We would unconditionally recommend "The Artists Point" as a great base for all trips on nothern Vancouver Island. The small towns of Port McNeill and Telegraph Cove (very scenic build on poles in a bay) are nearby and just 3 mins walking from the house you are on a nearly private beach where you may see eagles and black bears. To add a comment about the offered photo tours conducted by Rolf : Do it ! Rolf is a professional photographer who adds excellent local knowledge to 25 years of experience in photography to plan and lead individually planned tours to see (and photograph) all the special places in the area and its wildlife too. Its an unusual way of doing a photographic workshop since Rolf values knowledge transfer as well as the fun on the trip. You will not feel like beeing teached, but having fun along the way, enjoy the trip AND come home with a better understanding of photography and GREAT shots.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Photolightspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We spent a week in this beautiful and unique B&B. The location, the guest suite and the hosts are top. The suite is very new, large and clean (with a private entrance) and the view amazing. The hosts, Michelle and Rolf were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was individually made to our requests, where else can you find such individual service today? We were very impressed.
The location of the B&B is great, outside of town but not too far away, a perfect base for all activities on northern Vancouver Island. We visited Alert Bay, Telegraph Cove and Port McNeill, our activities were whale watching, fishing and hiking. The wildlife is amazing up there, from our bed we even could watch bald eagles soaring.
We highly recommend The Artists Point Bed and Breakfast, the prices are very fair and the service is outstanding - we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heinz_teuscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port McNeill
3.1 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
46 reviews
3.1 mi away
Haida Way Motor Inn
Haida Way Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Port McNeill
126 reviews
22.7 mi away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
86 reviews
3.7 mi away
Seine Boat Inn
Seine Boat Inn
#1 of 4 in Alert Bay
129 reviews
3.3 mi away
McNeill's Inn On The Harborfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Artists Point Bed, Breakfast and Phototours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Artists Point Bed, Breakfast and Phototours

Address: 1003 Ocean Pl, Port McNeill, British Columbia V0N 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port McNeill
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Port McNeill
Price Range: $109 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Artists Point offers one large new guest suite which includes a living room, a bedroom and a private bathroom, totaling 60sqm/645sqft. Our property is 2.3 acres with ocean view, only 3 minutes to a beautiful peaceful beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing