We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour areas include Johnstone Strait and Nuchatlitz Inlet on Vancouver Island, Gwaii Haanas National Park on Haida Gwaii, and the Great Bear Rainforest on BC's central coast. No experience is necessary for most tours and family friendly departures available.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We just completed the six-day Orca Waters Explorer Tour and it was wonderful. The guides were very knowledgeable on wildlife biology, First Nation culture and the area. They navigated the tides, the currents and the weather superbly. We saw orcas, awoke to the sounds of humpback whales, paddled up to an island where a black bear was eating berries on the shore, and saw all kinds of dolphins, sea lions, eagles and other wildlife. There were novice paddlers on our trip and they were confident and comfortable by the end of the week. Be sure to take the advice on the website and buy trip insurance. A family emergency threatened to interrupt out trip and we would have been out the substantial deposit.

1  Thank kayakerdiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Hi kayakerdiane, Thank you for joining us kayaking this summer and writing such a nice review including your advice for future guests. I hope to see you and the rest of your family on one of our other tours in the coming years

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 95 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

With zero sea kayaking experience, I opted for the Orca Waters Explorer Kayak Tour. It is a 6 day nomadic trip that explores the Broughton Archipelago and Johnstone Strait. Heeding Andrew’s advice, I made the time to do a whale watching tour before this trip. I highly recommend doing this as you are in a natural environment and wildlife runs to its own timetable. No orca on this occasion (did see them on the whale watch tour) but there was plenty to observe. This is sensory overload.

Liam and Ben were our guides who were enthusiastic, knowledgeable and incredibly resourceful. They really did an awesome job. We camped at three different campsites over the course of the trip. The sites were fairly primitive but this added to the adventure. Maggy Point was my favourite site as the views were simply incredible.

I had a great time, laughed a lot, met some extraordinary people and learnt a couple new skills. This was an excellent holiday.

1  Thank Kiwishells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Hi Kiwishells, Thank you for the nice review of our Orca Waters Explorer tour. We don't always suggest joining a whale watching tour before your kayak tour but for our late June and early July trips the reliability of orca sightings is lower than later in the season. So it definitely increases your odds and I am glad to hear that it worked out for you. As you mentioned the overall scenery, wildlife, and experiences is enough to overwhelm most people even if you mis the orcas. We hope to see you again soon on another one of our adventures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

OMG. The last four days were among the most amazing days of my life. We did the four-day kayak tour to Hanson Island. Gliding through the mist, we became one with nature, among the eagles, seals dolphins whales and otters. We saw a seal nursing its pup, and a youth eagle. No orcas, but a mother and baby humpback cruised the strait next to our tent every night. The owner, Andrew prepped us carefully for the trip (we are city slickers with no kayaking experience). Our guides, Liam and Silke are knowledgeable, attentive and organized. They love nature, and infuse their infectious enthusiasm. The base camp borders on luxurious. The tents are set on platforms strategically located for maximum privacy and magnificent views (Liam built them). The kitchen is impressive. Silke and Liam whipped up some tasty meals, usually serving our desserts at our campfire on the beach. Imagine a roaring campfire, cup of wine (we brought our own), and fresh fruit with chocolate fondue, with the dolphins and whales gracefully jumping through the mist.

Book this tour without hesitation.

1  Thank Colleen10012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Hi Colleen10012, Thank you for such a nice review. Our base camp trips early this July were a bit light on viewing orcas but the sheer diversity of wildlife that you mentioned that lives around our base camp is pretty phenomenal and gives us something new to see every day. We hope to see you again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I decided to take a kayaking trip and neither of us have experience kayaking. We love nature and exploring the what the great outdoors offers. We were going mainly to see Orca's in a new way then we had before. We didn't get to see any Orca's in our kayaks, but what we did see and do created our best vacation ever.

We both ended up in single kayaks (they do have doubles for couples as well) and we enjoyed learning how to kayak and the independence the single offered. Our guides Silka and Wendy were great trainers and had incredible knowledge of all things nature. The camp was more than we could've asked for and the food was fantastic and it kept coming! One of the food highlights was chololate fondue on the beach. The meals from breakfast to dinner were always incredible. In our kayaks we saw many animals eagles, dols porpoise, sea lions, many seals, birds, and some of the best views you could ask for. There were three other couples also on the trip and we all had a fantastic time in conversation and drinks at the end of the days.

We are missing the open waters and beautiful views and can't wait till our next trip to this area and next time we just may bring the kids as well.

2  Thank ajwolken0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Hi ajwolken0905, Thank yo for such a nice review. "Best vacation ever", is pretty high praise! We look forward to seeing you again , and by all means bring your kids (we have family specific departures available).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just returned from an outstanding four day camping & sea kayak trip with our two young children (6 & 9). It was an amazing experience for all.

Pre-trip help from the owner Andrew Jones was excellent and very prompt. Andrew provided a triple, double and single kayak and two guides (extremely competent kayakers) to make sure our children were well looked after and safe on each kayak trip.

Base camp is a seasonal semi-permanent site on Hanson Island. This is 'proper' camping although the tents are on wooden platforms and there is a lean-to style kitchen and dining area. WC is open to the elements and has a great view across Johnstone Strait. Our guides (Silka and Luke) were extremely knowledgeable and informative about wildlife above and below the waves and First Nation history and culture.

Sea Kayaking is weather (mainly wind) dependant so each day can vary - however the aim is to get out in the morning, paddle a while, investigate all the coves and inlets you cannot normally reach, have a lunch break, then return 4-6 hours in the kayak each day. We were all novices in the sea kayaks but the boats are quite stable and we had no incidents. Our 6 year old managed to go to sleep whilst sitting in the 'princess seat' in the triple.

We went hoping to see Orca but were too early, there were none in the area - despite this, the whole experience and all the sea and bird life we did see (Humpback whale, Dolphins, Porpoise, Seals, Sea Lion, Bald Eagle...) combined to make it an absolutely fantastic holiday.

1  Thank IainMac01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Hi IainMac01, Thank you for the nice review. Silke and Luke are great guides and they shared with me that they had a great trip with your family. I am happy to hear that despite the absence of the orcas during your trip in early July that you still saw lots of the diverse wildlife that can be found around the base camp. We hope to see you and your family again in the coming years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing