We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous time indeed.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Earl Grey Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Earl Grey Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Panorama
Certificate of Excellence
North Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
“A fabulous time indeed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Thanks to our gracious hosts Phil and Clare who made us feel so welcome and took care of our every need. I don't believe that you have seen the last of us! Terrific 3 days of snowmobiling (w/ Toby Creek), skiing @ Panorama resort (with our guide and instructor Stuart) and epic day of heli skiing (with RK Heliski and guide Mike). All fueled by the fabulous food (thanks to Robert the chef) and drinks and hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
47
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were guests at the Earl Grey Lodge and also ate at the restaurant for dinner. The rooms are small. The other reviews did a good job of describing the rooms and amenities. You do need to know that the rooms are on the bottom floor, with the restaurant above; if you are accustomed to going to bed early, your sleep may be disrupted by the noise from the restaurant. I agree that the main attraction here is the restaurant. Though the service was slow, the food was delicious. I had Lobster & Bacon Risotto, a very rich entree, done quite well, and my husband loved his steak. But for me the star of the show was the Lodge Cake. It was amazing, and you must try it!
We enjoyed our visit to Panorama and the Earl Grey Lodge very much! Panorama is a fun and inviting resort to visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Clare and Phil are great hosts. Upon arrival at this lovely, chalet-style B&B, we were shown to our room by Clare. She bustled about turning on the heater and introducing us to all the amenities, including towels and passes for the hot pools, bathrobes, and free wifi. Though small, the room had everything we needed, even a heated floor in the bathroom. The guest lounge was well equipped and comfortable. The outstanding feature of this accommodation, though, is the restaurant. I had braised elk that was tender and rich and nestled on a bed of roasted veggies, accompanied by a bottle of Hester Creek "The Judge". The friendly waiter was the son of the household, just learning the ropes.
In the morning, we lingered over a leisurely breakfast chatting with Phil and some other guests. It was altogether a warm, relaxing place to stay. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madame1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

My daughter and her husband chose Earl Grey Lodge for their wedding. Clare and Phil and their daughter as well as the amazing Chef went totally out of their way to make this wedding such a great event. To feed and water over 50 people that evening was just amazing. The menu was as good as it gets. Panorama and the Earl Grey Lodge are well worth the trip, any time of the year. Thanx again Clare and Phil.

Room Tip: Book your room early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyrad1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nominingue, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed there two nights during our recent trip to BC. Excellent service from Clare and Phil, the owners. We were the only people staying there since it was low season. We could thus use the common TV room and kitchenette for our own use, which was great. We were greeted as if we were old friends, even though it was our first visit. We had our 2 breakfasts and diners there, and everything was perfect. Very good food and a nice choice of BC wines. The room was a bit small but very comfortable. I recommend it warmly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zibo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I came here for a wedding, and spent the night before in the lodge with the bride. The bed was medium, the cot was the F****** WORST. The walls are pretty thin so when someone is up, seems like everyone is up, that being said, there was a baby staying there and we didn't hear him, so maybe just as people are at the front door? The towels were absolutely rank. They smelled like they had been left in a washer for 2 days. Perhaps it was an oversight, as they were good quality and bright white otherwise. If I had been staying there two days I would have asked to have them changed.

The reason I would have asked to have them changed is because I think the owner would have done something about it because they were AWESOME!!!
These people absolutely make this place magical. They are funny, professional, accommodating, lenient and patient. Wow do they know how to make people feel special and welcome. They run the whole thing, top to bottom. The décor is elegant, although rustic, very clean (besides the towel incident). They get up in the am and provide a beautiful continental breakfast, they are very conscientious about food allergies.

The moms brought all the decorations, and Phil found a way to bring it all together, suggest places to hang things, ways things might look better, or had been done in the past. Got out his ladder and was just so helpful.

Dinner.
Dinner was the best wedding food I've ever had.
Ever.
Full stop.

The grounds were lovely and well taken care of, it poured the day of the wedding and it was still done outside and gorgeous.

Cant say enough about the family that runs this place, and how beautiful a place it was.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zostarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBOS, Owner at Earl Grey Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
To possible guests reading this review: Clare and I are upset, disappointed and rather angry about the start of this review.

To clarify the situation, all 5 rooms were hired by a couple and their close wedding party to stay for 2 nights before their wedding, our rooms each take 2 people. The reviewer was not included in the booking arrangements for the lodge. At the last minute the bride decided that she would like a sleepover for her and her 2 Bridesmaids (reviewer stayed) in a room for 2 people, we facilitated this late request by moving a cot which we clearly state on our web site is suitable for a child or adolescent into the room (has any adult ever stayed on a really comfy cot, and we doubt it was the F****** WORST?), we did not charge for the additional cot. Please see other reviews as to how comfy our beds are.

Noise – Clare and I deal with noise in the lodge seriously when rooms are rented individually, we live at the lodge and are here at all times in case of any disturbances. When the lodge is fully rented by a group we relax our rules and let the group regulate themselves more, yes sometimes all members of the group don’t agree on levels and we intervene to regulate. As we do not know what time the reviewer is discussing it could have been the Grooms party in the guest lounge the night before going to bed or the excited mothers, fathers and other relatives getting up early (approx. 7.15am we believe was the first) to have breakfast, walk the dog and start getting decorations ready. Our walls are not thin, they have additional soundproofing, the ceilings also have vibration and acoustic modifications, bedroom doors sometimes make a louder noise than we would like closing, due to them all be fitted with fire doors which need to close properly to ensure the safety of the guests.

Angry – Towels? We launder all of our towels and linens and take extreme care and pride of them, guests regularly comment on the quality, brightness and cleanliness, all our linens are white. Why, Oh why, Oh why would you not mention a problem with a towel at the time to us, rather than leaving these terrible comments weeks later? All rooms were taken, we had 10 other people staying and we are not aware of any towel problems. Could something have happened to the towel in the room which we are not aware of?

OWNERS PLEA! Please if you are ever staying at a hotel/B&B or similar and you have a problem, let the staff/owners know so that they can deal with the situation professionally, investigate it and make any alterations to rectify the situation, your enjoyment is paramount to us – don’t become a keyboard cowgirl/boy it doesn't help anyone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were greeted by Phil as if we were old friends even though it was our first visit! The rooms a top notch and we were impressed by how spotlessly clean it is kept. Phil recommended a restaurant which was excellent. We were sorry we could not stay another night to try their insight restaurant. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanP47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panorama
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Invermere Inn
13.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn R...
#7 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
19.2 mi away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#1 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Panorama Mountain Resort
11.4 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
12.9 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earl Grey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earl Grey Lodge

Property: Earl Grey Lodge
Address: 2069 Summit Drive, Panorama, British Columbia V0A 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Panorama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Panorama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Earl Grey Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Custom built log lodge with award winning restaurant and en-suite bedrooms. Centre village location with private parking and gardens. Fully licensed bar, guest kitchen with DVD and book library, wi-fi, hot pools, activities organized from the lodge include mountain biking, fly fishing, golf, water skiing, wake boarding, hiking, ATV rides, white water rafting, kayaking. Winter: skiing, heli-skiing, snowmobiling, cross-country skiing, snow-shoeing, ice fishing winner of best non-condo accommodation in Canada 2007 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Earl Grey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl Grey Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing