We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the food and the golf!”
Review of Earl Grey Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Earl Grey Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Panorama
Certificate of Excellence
London, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Come for the food and the golf!”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed at Earl Grey Lodge because of the great reviews on tripadvisor. We would definitely recommend it but not as ecstatically as some of the reviewers have.

The lodge has a restaurant, which is really its claim to fame. We had a wonderful meal on the Saturday night. The restaurant is not open Sunday, so plan your trip accordingly. Our room was small and directly under the kitchen, I think, because there was a steady tap-tap-tap of heels on the ceiling from about 5 PM to nearly 10. Otherwise, it's fairly quiet in the lodge, but you wouldn't want to be trying to sleep while dinner was going on overhead.

Other than the dining room, the public spaces in the lodge are fairly small. You could squeeze two people into the lounge where the TV is located, but who goes to a mountain resort to watch TV anyway? The hosts, Phil and Clair, are a charming British couple who are very kind and helpful.

The lodge is about a 2-minute drive from Greywolf golf course, which was our main reason for going to Panorama. We have played courses with huge elevation changes in Whistler, Muskoka, and Mont Tremblant, but Greywolf is even more spectacular, especially the par-3 sixth hole. You must bring your camera for this one! And it's a bargain to play Greywolf, compared to what they charge at Banff Springs. The food in the clubhouse is surprisingly good and the pro shop has a really nice selection of clothing compared to what is on offer from some more famous Canadian resort courses.

We would definitely stay here again but would hope to get a larger room next time if one was available. It's a very reasonably priced B & B and you can see all the deer you'd ever need to see while breakfasting.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gzowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
49
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed this Canada Day long weekend, for the second time. Phil and Clair go out of their way always to accomidate - weather it be for just a meal or for a guest.
Food is perfect every time, they always exceed our expectations. Rooms are warm and cozy, food is exceptional!!

We reccomend The Earl Grey to anyone who is traveling in the area, even if you are just looking for some wonderful food or wine.

Thank you Phil and Clair - We really look forward to seeing you again soon.

Room Tip: I would stay here any season, any occasion!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMichalchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

I had the pleasure of attending a friends wedding at Panorama and the reception was held at the Earl Grey Lodge. It was a fantasic evening with a sit down meal for 30. The roast beef was out of this world, and the best I have ever eaten.
Claire and Phil were the perfect hosts, and when I visit Panorama again I will definitely want to stay at the Lodge!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Thompson49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

we have just returned fro a 2 week stay at the earl grey lodge. stunning is the only word to describe it. the view from the dining area and the quality of the food was superb, the little touches in the accommodation made a real difference. hosts Phil and Clare along with their staff could not do more to ensure your stay was an excellent experience we observed many instances of service that was over and above what you would normally expect. thank you for a memorable stay in Pano.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdcedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2011

While on a Ski Safari around Alberta & BC my brother Matt & I stayed at The Earl Grey Lodge for 2 nights last week. The Lodge is perfecly situated in the centre of Panorama. It is as instantly welcoming and comfortable as if you were coming home to your own house. The views from the dining area are spectacular and the owners Phil & Clair are charming and helpful in every way. We enjoyed a laugh-a-minute stay, with Phil daring us to ski in his Spiderman and Wolverine full piece lycra bodysuits on one of our Heli Ski days. See pictures for proof that we took up his dare !! We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicH-CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2011

The Early Grey Lodge, after all the highly rated trip advisor reviews, had much to live up to. My brother and I were fortunate enough to get a reservation on the dates that we were looking for at the very last minute. We were met by the owners, Phil and Claire's charming daughter, Charlotte, who introduced us to the lodge and gave us a tour of the facilities both in the room and public spaces. We were truly blow away by the friendly open atmosphere, the excellent food and most of all the home charm of the lodge. On a visit to Panorama, I highly recommend you book if you can get the reservation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewHodgsonTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Nearly all the other accommodation in Panorama are just condos that are rented out by the day. They are just like any other condo you have stayed at any other resort, clean and tidy but "soulless".

The Earl Grey lodge is more like a high quality lodge or chalet you might find in Europe. It has quality accommodation downstairs with a fantastic dinning room and bar upstairs where you can sit and look at the views or meet the other guests. It is a few minutes walk from the chair lift if you are skiing or you can walk on the many trails nearby.

It stands out as great place to stay and eat and the owners Phil and Clare are great hosts. They even welcomed our dog to the lodge.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanV034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panorama
9.8 mi away
Best Western Invermere Inn
13.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panorama Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
1,466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embarc Panorama
Embarc Panorama
#2 of 5 in Panorama
36 reviews
12.9 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#3 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earl Grey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earl Grey Lodge

Property: Earl Grey Lodge
Address: 2069 Summit Drive, Panorama, British Columbia V0A 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Panorama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Panorama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Earl Grey Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Custom built log lodge with award winning restaurant and en-suite bedrooms. Centre village location with private parking and gardens. Fully licensed bar, guest kitchen with DVD and book library, wi-fi, hot pools, activities organized from the lodge include mountain biking, fly fishing, golf, water skiing, wake boarding, hiking, ATV rides, white water rafting, kayaking. Winter: skiing, heli-skiing, snowmobiling, cross-country skiing, snow-shoeing, ice fishing winner of best non-condo accommodation in Canada 2007 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Earl Grey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl Grey Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing