We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was our first time booking the Horsethief Lodge. We purchased the last week of May through RCI. We had requested a one bedroom unit but upon arrival we asked if we could upgrade to a 2 bedroom unit. The person handling the check-in was very helpful and for a small fee we received a two bedroom unit for our stay.

If you are from the city and want some good fresh mountain air, this is it. Lots of birds and animals, hiking trails and great golf courses. We were not here for the ski season but this appears to be a great place for skiing. Golf courses include Greywolf (minutes away), The Springs at Radium, Riverside and Mountainside at Fairmont and more. Some are a bit pricey but do rate high for the province of BC. During our stay at Panorama, we took in Radium Hot Springs - just over a half hour away. It is about an equal distance to Fairmont or Radium for their Hot Springs - just different directions.

Our unit at the Horsethief had considerable updating - new carpets recently, updated bathrooms and while we were there a Lazy Boy (all leather) chesterfield/hide-a-bed with memory foam and a Lazy Boy leather chair were delivered. Great quality and we were impressed. Remember this is a ski type condo and the units are a bit older. The exterior could use some work - lawn was very weedy, steps were cracked and sidewalks could use some levelling. Our only complaint with the inside of the unit was the mattress in the main bedroom could use replacing.

The people working here were very friendly and in all cases very helpful. Also the hot-tubs were working and much appreciated in the cool evenings.

We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Victor H,
Thank you for your review. We're happy to know that you enjoyed your first stay with us. It is always great to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy some of the local activities. We appreciate all your feedback and we will take into consideration your comments regarding our exterior appearance. We can't wait to have you back with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    20
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
28
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

The room was excellent! We got an updated suite and loved it. The only down side was that we went during the off season so not much was open (understandably) but I wish their warm pool wasn't under repair. My suggestion to the resort would be to update and get comfortable beds and have a couple rooms where the second room also has a queen bed instead of 2 twins, since we were a group of 2 couples. Other then that it was in a beautiful setting.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Curtis S,
Thank you for reviewing Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge. We're beyond pleased you enjoyed your stay at our property. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 3 and we spent 4 days at Pano snowboarding. In one word it was EPIC. This was our second trip here.
We had a ground level one bedroom. Unit was perfectly acceptable. We had no issues with it heating up. You could hear the neighbors occasionally but you can in any vacation property. It was clean and well stocked everything worked. Check in was fast and simple we arrived two hours early and had no problems checking in early.
We snowboarded for 3 days and the mountain was heaven. We went to the upper hot pools every night they were fantastic. Every staff member we encountered were professional, friendly, and helpful. Our unit was ski in ski out which was so nice at the end of the day riding right up to our door. Compared to some of the other mountains panorama is never crowded even on the weekend.
I really don't get what some people complain about.
We plan on returning every year and recommend it to all of our friends and family.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Alison T,
Thank you for your review. We're so glad you and your family enjoyed four days of some great snowboarding. We're thrilled to know your unit was comfortable and spacious enough for you and your family. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and we hope to welcome you back year after year for some family fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
200 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have been doing this ski trip for 27 years and as usual found Horsethief Lodge to our satisfaction. We were promptly and efficiently checked in. Our unit was clean and well stocked with kitchen ware and linens and we again saw some upgrades. Replacement of bedding and the freshening of the decor.Although with this years constant well below zero temperatures it took a while to warm up the two bedroom unit. But sitting by a cozy fire drinking cocoa added to the fun of it all. Because we were expecting company for dinner a number of evenings a call to housekeeping for extra kitchenware was promptly looked after. Anything I'd forgotten on our big grocery shop in Invermere was supplemented at the General Store, which was within 3 min walking distance. Horesthief Lodge has quick access to Toby lift, which takes you to many other lifts. The skiing this year was COLD , but we took advantage of 1000 peaks and One mile Apres to have cocoa and a bite to eat. Hot tubs at the main pool were not as good this year because there was a problem with getting the Jets to work. I know they were doing their best to fix this. However that was a first in 27 years. Our one meal out was very good. We always ski the first week of Feb. and we think this is absolutely the best time of year to be at Panorama. For those of you who have never been ,do put yourself out to travel the extra miles to get there. It is worth every penny. (Not that we have pennies left, but do try it.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room or unit close to Toby lifts, saves carrying your equipment very far especially if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BB Carmen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi BB Carmen J,
Thank you for reviewing your experience. We're thrilled to continue welcoming you back year after year for a successful ski trip. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed our new décor, found our location convenient, and had a great time skiing. We apologize about the hot tub jets not working properly during your stay. As you know, this is generally not the norm, and we appreciate your understanding. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for another 27 years. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Not too sure why people are so whiny..it's a sweet old school ski condo-lodge that's in the lower village with bbqs, hot tubs, general/liquor/pizza store, and the infamous jackpine pub..almost all the units are definately ski in ski out if you can maneuver at all on skis and know how to skate a little..no lift lines, except at Christmas and March break..some amazing tree skiing with steep chutes and small features (devils drop and starfire cliffs are the best spots on the mountain - also check out turnpike 1 for a cool view, if it's open) there's also some long steep groomers for takin it easy and layin some rails..not much fresh snow in large amounts but when it happens it's always champagne pow and lasts for days..It's bluebird and warm a lot with the massive mt Nelson booming at you from across the valley. The mountain views from the top will blow your mind and you can sit and have a beer.

If you come here to sit in your unit and look for stuff to complain about instead of always being outdoors and taking part in après in the village or checking out local culture then I'm afraid you've lost the ability to have fun and enjoy the simple life around you..for everyone else, enjoy..this place is a beaut!

Ps if you're planning a vacation do some research and figure out the best time of year to go for certain activities....the golf course is exceptional too, bent grass tee to green (not Augusta speeds but totally manageable) most scenic and creative holes I've ever played..play all day rate incl carts too..

I could go on and on about how awesome panorama is...just go check it out, have fun, and don't be a whiny B

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi GoWestGoBig,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Panorama Mountain Village. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our property, accommodations and surrounding area. It sounds like you had a really great time during your last visit. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Fast and polite 5 minute check-in, underground parking 30 steps from our front door, good start. The mountain is awesome, you simply cannot ski all the terrain in 3 days and they had a foot of snow the week before we came. This was mid-January and the daytime highs were +3 Celcius and -10 at night. Because of the warm temperatures the x-country trails were a little iced over and less than ideal.

HAVE COFFEE AND A FUDGE AT A VIEW OF A 1000 PEAKS, YOU WONT FORGET IT EVER!!

When we got there the door did not lock so we phoned the front desk and maintenance had it fixed within a half hour, awesome. One minor complaint, the shower head should be replaced, the spray was not adjustable and the hard fine spray stings the skin. The bed was really comfy.
Mid January is the perfect time to go, no lift lines and lots of terrain, good weather.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank veggiemanontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi veggiemanontherun,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at our property. We're so glad to learn of your visit and we're thrilled you enjoyed skiing and the coffee and fudge up at the top of the peak. We're happy to know our staff was able to accommodate the trouble you were experiencing with the lock on your door quickly. We hope to welcome you back for another stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Panorama Resort was everything I could ask for in a ski lodge. The staff was knowledgable, very friendly, professional and accommodating. The unit we stayed at was a ground level unit in Horse Thief Lodge and was very nice and in great shape with everything one would need. The decor was updated & casual with lots of towels and extra bedding. The bed was very comfortable, but the pull out sofa was springy and I did wish they had feather pillows (but i'm picky). We had a small appliance that wasn't working 100% of the time but the staff had it replaced that afternoon. The ski lift was just a few steps outside our door with a couple of hot tubs very close by and the general store was just down the way approx 5 min or less. Panorama had daily activities that we enjoyed through out the week as our husbands went to the slopes. Our stay was mid January so line ups were at a minimum, my husband took in a ski session and due to less people he had the instructor to himself. Restaurants were great about a 21/2-3 star with fantastic service. Laundry facilities was nearby in the underground parking which was also a great way to get places without having to go outside in the cold. We 're very glad we picked the off season to avoid the line ups that I could see happening during peak times as all resorts must have to deal with. This is our 4th year going and we will definitely come again.

Room Tip: Pick a main level and end unit, people can be very noisy with their ski boots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Dawn N,
Thank you for your review. We're so glad our staff was friendly, professional and knowledgeable about any of the questions you may have had during your visit. We hope you had fun exploring the area and hope you had a great time skiing. We look forward to welcoming you back next year for your fifth stay. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panorama
7.0 mi away
Earl Grey Lodge
Earl Grey Lodge
#2 of 2 in Panorama
105 reviews
10.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Invermere Inn
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn R...
#5 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#2 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
123 reviews
6.8 mi away
Panorama Mountain Resort
6.8 mi away
Embarc Panorama
Embarc Panorama
#2 of 5 in Panorama
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge

Property: Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge
Address: 2000 Panorama Drive (BAG 7000), Panorama, British Columbia V0A 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Panorama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Panorama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, nestled in the heart of the Canadian Rockies, is a favorite among visitors. Any time of the year, the resort's heated Jacuzzis, pools, saunas, and the natural Hot Springs are a respite after a day of outdoor adventure skiing, snowmobiling or exploring the landscape on ATVs. Play tennis, BBQ with friends and family, relax and splash in the mini water park, golfing at Greywolf or dine at the local restaurants, Panorama Vacation Retreat offers memorable activities for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing