We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pine Inn Repenting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Panorama Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Panorama
Calgary
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Pine Inn Repenting”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Pine Inn is specifically for people who 'just' want a place to sleep..... and even that is hard to do. What more is a hotel for you say..... other than a 'gnarly place to crash'...... well even in my single drunken stupor of youth packed six deep in a hotel room did I wanted to sleep someplace that was this uncomfortable and dirtier than the forest outside. Repenting is remorseful and regretful....... we should have upgraded. Literature says that renovations occurred in Nov 2011. Yes I would concede the walls were painted over top of damaged drywall and maybe the carpet replaced as it was likely beyond cleaning and repair, but they missed painting the stucco ceiling where spots and stains were abundant and cleaning staff has yet to vacuum the floor since Nov 2011 as we slept with our shoes on. I'm thinking that during ski season boots rarely get taken off. Bathroom sink had multiple toonie sized chips in porcelain and floor tile was filthy. There were stains on the comforter and chairs, which also needed to be covered in a plastic bag to be sat on. When the T-Bar & Grill gets out there are stumbling lost and loud patrons scaring wildlife away with shouts and slurred speech until all hours (pray for rain at night to keep the howlers away). Security drives around a lot up until dark..... then can't be seen after..... maybe it was them leaving the bar?? Should we have changed rooms...... to where? I also conceded that the entire Pine Inn is in the same character so changing rooms might have actually been worse?? Yikes! Sliding screen door needed Houdini to open and close…… watch your fingers, BANG! At least we knew our limits within our room with what we could touch and what we couldn't. I'm hoping this experience will make us stronger and more resilient as a family!!

Positives:
- Hot Pools & waterslides while staying at village
- free Gondola from lower to upper village
- Bed and Breakfast value deal (would have stayed in different upgraded lodge/condo, never Pine Inn again)
- Chairlift sightseeing pass included in bed & breakfast deal
- abundance of activities
- caters to family recreation.... prepare for a packed pool with tons of kids splashing
- golf courses everywhere with great junior plays free deals in evening (Greywolf if staying at Village, Fairmont Mountain & Riverside)
- breathtaking views

Negatives
- Pine Inn.... enough said
- 2 tablets of Gravol for winding meandering drive to and from resort from Invermere
- don't drive back to Calgary at 12noon on Sunday....... 4 km crawl leading up to Radium 4 way stop
- needs in room mini-fridge or AC.... but it never said it had them either
- service is non-existent other than at central check-in to begin our 'experience'.... do they clean rooms before, during and after stay..... not really sure??

Would we stay at Panorama Village Resort again......yes in a different complex assuming that paying a 2 to 3 times multiple will also provide us with a cleaner more comfortable stay? Money is everything?? Ha, ha...... Lesson learned I hope.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters where you are in Pine Inn, "modest rooms" is an over statemen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    186
    105
    57
    64
See reviews for
324
130
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in the Springs, located directly in front of the pools. It was a great room. The carpets left little to be desired and feel this resort could do much better by getting rid of the carpet and replacing it with some kind of tile or wood. It would improve the appearance of the room by 100%. PanoKids staff were absolutely wonderful!!!. They were all happy, friendly and very helpful. A special hats off to Lauren who made our daughter's (Sydney from St. Albert) day every time they saw each other.
All staff we encountered on this resort were kind and helpful. But moreover, they were happy. It's a pleasure to be around positive people who like their job and they radiate this positive aura around the whole village.
We stayed at Panorama on our way home - it was a short 4 day stay. We plan to return, stay longer and take in all that the resort has to offer. Very kid and family friendly. Loved that we could park the car and not need to drive everywhere we wanted to go. Shuttles go to town all day long. Loved the hiking trails!! GREAT place to stay and holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I have spent 3 days at Panorama Mountain Village in August 2013. Overall it was a nice vacation, but there were two distinct sides to the experience.

Hotel grounds - beautiful natural setting, great views no matter what direction you look in - mountain slopes and peaks, lush greenery. The grounds are well-maintained and the entire resort complex looks very nice. There is a free gondola between the top and the bottom sections of the resort, offering more of the amazing views.

Accommodations - a completely different story. We stayed in the Tamarac building. The room we got was the most basic type - a bed, a sitting area and a small kitchen with stove, sink, cupboards and fridge. The two major problems with the room (if you don't count the "boiling water advisory", which meant we could not use tap water for drinking, brushing teeth or washing fruit or vegetables) were:
- lack of ventilation - the kitchen hood fan made a lot of noise, but very little air flow, which meant we stopped cooking after day; lack of ventilation overall, which mean that room got uncomfortably hot during the day, especially in the afternoon. We would open the door and prop it open with a garbage can to create some air circulation
- lack of air conditioning - we normally don't use the AC, but since this room had no natural ventilation we really missed the functional AC. It worked in the corridor, but not in the room - just made a lot of noise and not much else.

Overall, the room was quite dated, especially the kitchen equipment. Fine to stay in during the winter, if you don't intend to cook.

Room Tip: Avoid Tamarac building in summer. Make sure your room at least has a balcony. In
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalinaCalgary_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Beautiful resort with an awesome pool! Lots of things to do and overall a fantastic place for a summer getaway. The 2-bedroom suite we were in was fantastic and I paid so little for the whole experience - wish I had stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallz98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I booked Panorama for our anniversary hoping for a couple of romantic nights in the mountains. I mentioned our anniversary ("We will try to get you a mountain view.") when I booked. On arrival we were sent to a lovely upper level condo, well furnished, and as advertised. Once we got outside and started wandering a bit, we were duly impressed by the friendly staff and gorgeous surroundings. The only issue on our first night was the preponderance of children-everywhere. This situation was further demonstrated the following day when we thought a swim would be nice. If you have seen those photographs of swimming pools in China, it was kind of like that-wall to wall kids-loud and no possibility of swimming. The night of our anniversary we had booked a special dinner package-excellent value really and in a lovely restaurant. Again-wall to wall children. Please understand-twenty-five years ago when our own kids were younger, it would have been ideal. Now that we are looking for a not so Disney Cruise like experience, this was definitely a poor choice. Obviously I should have done more research, but there you are. If you are doing a family thing at Panorama in the summer, you will probably have a great time. If you are a couple looking for some peace in the mountains, you had better look somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ib4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I see a lot of comments regarding the price for rooms,

I took my family there end of July, the little amount we spent on the rooms was amazing, I couldn't find a cheaper place to stay that I did not have to leave for my family to have fun.

We spent 10.00 for a family fun pass for our 2 children they had the time of their life playing mini golf, bouncy castles, rock wall climbing. Even enjoyed the rides on the gondola!

The weather was great!

Breakfast prices were the same as if we had to go to Humpty's or Denny's.

If your children are picky eaters you do not have to eat at the restaurant, you could take the gondola down next to the store and buy pizza!

We also had to watch out for the water boil that was on However Front desk advised if we need ice they could provide which they did they gave us a couple of real bags of ice, along with the 4 lt of water that was provided in our room.

My whole family are excited to go back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALLA WALLA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Although it was on the pricey side, I was very impressed at the size of our room and how nice it was. We were there in early August and did have to pay attention to the boil water notice, but they did provide a 4 liter bottle of water for our use. It was warm in the room, but placing the fan that they provided in the window sill made it fairly comfortable in the evening. I enjoyed the ambiance of being in the mountains...really being in the mountains. It was quiet and just very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Renaess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panorama
0.2 mi away
Earl Grey Lodge
Earl Grey Lodge
#2 of 2 in Panorama
106 reviews
13.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#3 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
374 reviews
19.3 mi away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#2 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
1,412 reviews
12.7 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embarc Panorama
Embarc Panorama
#2 of 5 in Panorama
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Mountain Resort

Property: Panorama Mountain Resort
Address: 2000 Panorama Drive | 18 km (11 mi) west of Invermere, Panorama, British Columbia V0A 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Panorama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Panorama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the B.C. Rockies, Panorama Mountain Village is a family year-round resort. During the winter season Panorama features true slope side lodging with one of North America’s biggest vertical descents. Panorama offers daily shuttle service from the Calgary International Airport. The winter brings skiers from afar in search of Rocky Mountain powder and Panorama’s famed long groomed cruisers. The mountain is over 4000 vertical feet and has nearly 3000 acres of terrain. From the resort, guests can also Nordic ski, snowshoe, snowmobile and relax in Canada’s largest slope side hot pools.Also operating right out of the Village is rk heliski. Over 40 years of experience in the back country ensure safe and unforgettable skiing. rk heli-ski specializes in heli-ski adventures for intermediate and first time heli-skiers. During the summer season Panorama is home to the acclaimed Greywolf Golf Course. Designed by talented Canadian architect Doug Carrick, who has built many of Canada's best courses in the past decade, Greywolf features many holes that will be seared in your memory bank for a long time. Panorama is also home to the Panorama Bike Park. The park has a number of downhill trails to challenge riders of all levels. There are endless opportunities for family fun activities including: kids adventure camp, horseback riding, ATV tours, white water rafting, hiking, cross-country biking, mini-golf, fishing and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Panorama Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Mountain Village Hotel Panorama
Mountain Village Hotel Panorama
Mountain Village Resort Panorama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing