We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and fantastic service”
Review of Benchmark B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naramata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Benchmark B & B
Ranked #1 of 16 Naramata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxation and fantastic service”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Every year my siblings and our spouses pick a spot to have an annual "sibling get-together". This year we picked Benchmark B&B in Naramata, B.C. The B&B has four wonderful rooms (the beds are to die for). The food was wonderful...a 3 course breakfast each morning. The hosts, Gail and Steve Walker live upstairs but you would hardly know they are there except for bringing food and chatting with us, without being intrusive. They are both very welcoming and friendly.

The rooms open onto a back yard, complete with saltwater pool, hot tub and these wonderful big "tub" chairs that hold two people and let you curl up and enjoy the incredible view of the lake.

Gail and Steve arranged for bikes so we could bike the Naramata bench and do some wine tastings. They also arranged for us to be picked up and dropped back to the B&B for a dinner at a local winery/restaurant "the Hillside Winery", which included a wine tasting before dinner and a $75.00 coupon per couple to go towards dinner. The chance to be shuttled to and from the restaurant was great..no worries about needing a DD.

Overall a fantastic experience...we have already booked to go back again next year!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucesuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
219
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Steven and Gail are wonderful hosts, welcoming, warm and friendly. The rooms are artfully and uniquely decorated and all have comfortable beds with modern nicely appointed bathrooms. We were treated to simply outstanding 3 course gourmet breakfasts, a great start to a day of bike riding and wine tasting in the Naramata bench wine region.

Room Tip: insider tip - the Ruby room is the best room ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

To complement this fine wine region you need to rest your head, look no further you've found it benchmark, Gail and Steve are the perfect hosts, you have you leave time and room to saver the breakfast & the views.
Steve's banter along with Gail's outstanding cooking and preparation skills just make you wont to come back for more.
Each room has a theme to find out more make you way to this little piece of Chic in BC
You just cant take the Essex out of the boy ( British Joke)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed for three nights at Benchmark B&B. It is located on the Naramata Bench with perfect access to all the vineyards and fruit orchards in the region. It is very picturesque and is ideal for those who enjoy wine, cycling, walking and outdoor pursuits. The B&B is perfect for couples, offering luxurious rooms which open out onto a heated pool and beautiful views of the lake below. There is also a hot tub and lounge couches overlooking the lake, utterly lovely mornings and early evenings. Steve and Gail, were extremely hospitable, helpful and really made our stay special. The breakfasts were utterly spectacular in presentation and taste, the French toast was delicious and definitely one of the highlights. This is one of the nicest and best b&bs we have stayed in. We have booked in again for August and are so looking forward to seeing Gail and Steve and being in their little oasis of luxury.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying two nights at Benchmark B&B and only wish we could have stayed longer! Gail and Steve were outstanding hosts and the accommodations and gourmet breakfasts were first class.
Also, Steve does a great Michael Caine!
Looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Benchmark B&B have absolutely found the perfect balance between B&B and boutique hotel. It is modern, luxurious, serene, private and worth every penny. We could not have asked for a better place to relax and unwind on our trip (away from the children). The pool is heated, the garden is relaxing and the hot tub is inviting.

We loved that Steve and Gail have such good friends in the area and have set up some great ideas for dinner and transportation. Benchmark is in a great location for visiting all of the wineries and for a quiet walk in the morning before breakfast.

Speaking of breakfast - we were definitely spoiled with local, gourmet, delicious, 3 course breakfasts. Waffles with cherries, croissants, smoked salmon with eggs - my mouth is watering now.

We loved our visit and our hosts. We cannot wait to return. Is this weekend booked?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Benchmark during the weekend of our wedding. From the reviews I expected Benchmark to be fantastic, but my expectations were surpassed. Gail and Steve are the most welcoming hosts, warm and accommodating, with a sense of service and dedication that is truly inspiring.

The rooms are comfortable and very clean, the breakfast was unique and delicious, and the property is maintained like the grounds at a small 5 star resort - and what a view!

We did not have a chance to go wine tasting during this stay, but the location is convenient to all the best wineries that Naramata has to offer. We will definitely stay again to spend more time relaxing and enjoying the surroundings.

I could go on, but I've already said too much - the growing popularity of Benchmark will surely make it difficult to secure a future booking! For our wedding I left nothing to chance and booked a year in advance (much to the surprise of the hosts who are only in their second summer of operations), but I suspect that this will become a common phenomenon in the very near future.

All the best to Gail and Steve at Benchmark - we'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMoccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naramata
3.6 mi away
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
7.0 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Apple d'or
Apple d'or
#2 of 16 in Naramata
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Naramata Heritage Inn & Spa
0.6 mi away
Above Naramata B&B
Above Naramata B&B
#8 of 16 in Naramata
24 reviews
0.9 mi away
Singing Marmot Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benchmark B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benchmark B & B

Property: Benchmark B & B
Address: 1306 Smethurst Rd, Naramata, British Columbia V0H 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Naramata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Naramata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benchmark Estate offers luxury air conditioned pool side suites with panoramic lake views, private entrances and patios. All rooms have full bathrooms, Queen Pillow top mattresses, modern furnishings and include a Gourmet breakfast. Outdoor facilities include full size heated salt water pool, BBQ pavilion and hot tub dramatically situated on a bluff overlooking Naramata Creek and Lake. Very secluded situation yet only 1Km to KVR Trail and close to village center, beaches, vineyards and wineries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing