We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, amazing hosts”
Review of Benchmark B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naramata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Benchmark B & B
Ranked #1 of 16 Naramata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I went on a special romantic retreat for our one year wedding anniversary and my husband's 30th and we couldn't have picked a more perfect spot. From the moment we reserved until we left our experience at Benchmark was exceptional! The evening we arrived we were welcomed by a stunning view of the sunset. We quickly jumped into the plush robes hanging in our closet and the flip-flops laid out for us and enjoyed a glass of wine in the hot tub while watching the sunset over the lake and the mountains. We had arrived! Steve and Gail were so warm and accommodating. They brought us gourmet 3 course breakfasts every morning and took personal orders for drinks and lattes. The area is beautiful and we spent our days biking and wine tasting. Steve gave us a ride up the KVR and directed us onto a gorgeous bike ride. We did 26 miles and then cruised right back to their place where we immediately went for a dip in their heated salt water pool. We stayed in the diamond room. The room was well appointed and everything was brand new. It had everything you could want including a backpack filled with picnic items as well as a small kitchenette with coffee maker, fridge and sink. We loved every moment of our stay at Benchmark and in Naramata. Steve and Gail made our stay a delight! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 280 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had an amazing experience at this beautiful B &B. The couple that run the B & B were wonderful and very funny. They provided us with great helpful tips and the B & B itself was very beautiful. It was like a private retreat overlooking the Lake. With a swimming pool and hot tub, we almost wanted to stay back and just enjoy the place instead of checking out the wineries. The room was clean, modern and chick. We would definitely stay here again as after the wine tasting, it was a great place to come back and unwind with an amazing view of the lake. The gourmet breakfast Gail prepared for us were delicious and she took extra caution to make sure she to substitute for my food allergies. Only keep in mind, the room that sleeps more than 2 can only accommodate for 3 not 4. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms in the B&B, only one of them sleeps for an extra 3rd person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessika_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at Benchmark in July, and I was thinking about it today, wishing we could go back soon! Steve and Gail are wonderful hosts, who attract some fun an interesting guests. The whole experience could not have been better, or more relaxing. Benchmark is the perfect choice for a stay in Naramata. Gail is an amazing chef and hostess. Steve is charming, and very quotable.. Next year for sure!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at Benchmark with Gail and Steve September 7-10, 2012. I really have nothing else to add to the other reviews as it was the most amazing experience! The accomodations are spectacular with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, along with beautiful views and a refreshing pool and relaxing hot tub. And then there are the breakfasts... Jason is still raving about the french toast! And the hosts, Gail and Steve, make your stay even more comfortable. They have a recommendation for everything and are always available to answer questions or give direction. I would reccomend Benchmark to anyone travelling to Naramata!! It mirrors a 5 star resort! We can't wait to come back next year!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife Gaia and I stayed with Steve and Gail this past weekend and must advise you'd be out of your heads to consider any other accommodation in Naramata. This one is simply outstanding. From the setting, to the rooms, to the cuisine, to of course the hosts it was a great getaway.

Grab a glass of the local wine, jump in the hot tub and realize what a magical part of the world you're in.

Thanks Steve and Gail. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Everything about our stay was wonderful. The views were amazing from the hot tub, the pool, the daybeds, the patio. The breakfasts tasted as wonderful as they looked. The service was both excellent and entertaining; Gail is as gracious as Steve is loquacious! The rooms are beautifully decorated; it was great to have our own space. There were 3 couples of us, friends for 40 years but this was the first time we had all been together in years. This setting provided us all the amenities of a hotel but the peace and quiet of home; a perfect combination to enable us to catch up on memories, our kids and grandkids. If you want to tour or dine, just talk to Steve. He's "got a guy" everywhere and in no time your day is arranged. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is what a B & B experience is all about - terrific accomodations and an A+ breakfast. Stunning views over the lake. Hot tub under the stars - a memorable experience. It is simply remarkable that Steve and Gail have only been running this B & B for less than a year.

Room Tip: pick your favourite jewel colour - the rooms are all spacious, pristine and with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naramata
3.6 mi away
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
7.0 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Apple d'or
Apple d'or
#3 of 16 in Naramata
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Naramata Heritage Inn & Spa
0.9 mi away
Singing Marmot Guest Suites
4.4 mi away
Crooked Tree Guest Suites
Crooked Tree Guest Suites
#1 of 20 in Penticton
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benchmark B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benchmark B & B

Address: 1306 Smethurst Rd, Naramata, British Columbia V0H 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Naramata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Naramata
Price Range: $160 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benchmark Estate offers luxury air conditioned pool side suites with panoramic lake views, private entrances and patios. All rooms have full bathrooms, Queen Pillow top mattresses, modern furnishings and include a Gourmet breakfast. Outdoor facilities include full size heated salt water pool, BBQ pavilion and hot tub dramatically situated on a bluff overlooking Naramata Creek and Lake. Very secluded situation yet only 1Km to KVR Trail and close to village center, beaches, vineyards and wineries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing