We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern B&B with a classic feel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Benchmark B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naramata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Benchmark B & B
Ranked #1 of 16 Naramata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Modern B&B with a classic feel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Like most of us these days my wife and I researched this area to death before booking. We settled on Benchmark based off this being a "relaxation" trip over a "food" or "spa" trip and the excellent reviews of course. Also, Naramata doesn't seem to have any hotel that knocks it out of the park. Truth be told we're not exactly "bed and breakfast" people so I was nervous about the booking in advance. We really like our privacy when we get away.

Result was a full-on 10 out of 10. Great vibe, spacious rooms, and most of all.... this place has the true spirit of a classic bed and breakfast. Steve and Gail seem to genuinely love the area and are great embassadors. After a great breakfast prepared by Gail in the morning, Steve is more than happy to recommend restaurants, bike rental shops, vineyards, etc. and then you're on your way. At the end of the day (after perhaps too much wine) it was great to relax by the pool and hot tub. This would be a perfect location to book all 4 rooms and make it a group trip.

Looking forward to getting back here....

(only tip is to think about how you're going to get around if you're drinking at the vineyards. Taxis are non-existant in Naramata. We rented bikes!)

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ErikHoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
216
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were impressed by the quality of service and genuine warmth of our hosts Gail and Steve. Highlights were: big round red privacy sun beds, the lovely large salt water pool, being able to walk to do a wine tasting at Nichol Winery, and of course the gourmet breakfasts- including sparkling wine!
I almost don't want to write a good review so that we can keep this hidden gem to ourselves!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdumanoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

A wonderful location, genial hosts and just an all-round great place to enjoy. In fact, sitting around the pool enjoying the view was so relaxing that we fell behind on our wine tasting! Gail and Steve were cheerful and helpful and made teriffic breakfasts. We will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard2171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

My friend and I cycled a portion of the Kettle Valley Trail and had ridden 100km when we arrived at our own bit of paradise. If you are from BC or want a BC experience you need to stay here. Fabulous view, impeccable digs - everything is new and modern. There are only four suites which enter out onto the pool/hottub area. Beautiful saltwater pool. But most amazing are your hosts Gail and Steve - super people, incredible breakfasts and entirely accomodating. The beds were incredible and you felt like you were by yourselves even with a few other guests around. Right in the heart of wine country - close to a few very good restaurants - only 15 minutes from Penticton which is a larger town. I will go back for sure!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good - we had the diamond room which was the end room, closest to the hot tub so v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G0OT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Naramata had been recommended by a friend. I'd never heard of it. I found this B&B quite by chance. How wonderful.
Pefectly situated, with a fanastic view, close to town, close to the various wineries, close enough to walk up to the KVR for a short walk/bike ride.
Though they are relatively new to the area, Gail & Steve had great advice as to where we might visit, seemed to know so many people and their stories, a testament to their interest in people.
The breakfast were delicious, starting with warm muffins each morning (I am discerning about muffins!) and lovely fruit/granola/yogurt parfaits (I am discerning about yogurt!), and there was always a third course to breakfast which was some gourmet extrazagana! Top notch. We loved it. We recomend it. We want to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49Karen49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Benchmark B&B, and it was perfect! The rooms are beautiful, with great little touches, breakfasts were amazing, hospitality of the hosts (Steve and Gail) made us feel really welcomed, and the view from the room across the lake was stunning. Even though it rained every day unseasonally we had a great time (Steve recommended some great places to see regardless of the weather) and we will definately be coming back - a perfect trip with very happy memories! :)

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gem_Justin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I have just returned from a wonderfully relaxing stay at Benchmark B and B and i truly cannot recommend this place enough!

The breakfasts are crafted to perfection by Gail, (half of the Benchmark team) and are truly delicious, beautiful and an excellent selection of dishes served throughout the week, My personal favourite being salmon mountains with creme fraiche and caviar Yummy!

The breakfasts are delivered by Steve the resident butler! (and the other half of the benchmark team) Who is so personable funny and witty, he delights in doing as much for the guests no matter how many trips up and down the stairs it takes!

The resort has the most amazing view of lake Okanagan and the wonderful surroundings of orchards and vineyards adds to the magic of Benchmark.

The village is a charming community, very friendly and there is always something to do, the trouble is bringing yourself to leave the your pool side room, hot tub or the dining pavilion long enough to get anything done. I DIDN'T WANT TO LEAVE! And i will definitely be back !!
Great work Steve and Gail Your fantastic people, great hosts and it really comes through in your service and the effort you have put into benchmark shows, WELL DONE!

Room Tip: My personal favourite is the emerald room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naramata
3.6 mi away
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Apple d'or
Apple d'or
#2 of 16 in Naramata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.3 mi away
Naramata Heritage Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CastleRock
CastleRock
#10 of 16 in Naramata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
5.0 mi away
E'Laysa Guesthouse and Vineyard Retreat
0.6 mi away
Above Naramata B&B
Above Naramata B&B
#6 of 16 in Naramata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benchmark B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benchmark B & B

Property: Benchmark B & B
Address: 1306 Smethurst Rd, Naramata, British Columbia V0H 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Naramata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Naramata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benchmark Estate offers luxury air conditioned pool side suites with panoramic lake views, private entrances and patios. All rooms have full bathrooms, Queen Pillow top mattresses, modern furnishings and include a Gourmet breakfast. Outdoor facilities include full size heated salt water pool, BBQ pavilion and hot tub dramatically situated on a bluff overlooking Naramata Creek and Lake. Very secluded situation yet only 1Km to KVR Trail and close to village center, beaches, vineyards and wineries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing