We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch Out for the Belligerent Inn Keeper”
Review of Apple d'or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apple d'or
Ranked #2 of 16 Naramata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Watch Out for the Belligerent Inn Keeper”
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Beautiful log home, exquisitely manicure grounds, delectable menu, hostile and belligerent Inn Keeper.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tttravelguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applepop, Owner at Apple d'or, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
Can you please modify my previous response or remove this rating? We did not notice the date of this submission, May 16/17. We had no guests at Appledor on May 16th.

Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
86
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Apple d'Or. The owners left no stone unturned when planning this beautifully appointed property. Our room was perfect. Anything a visitor would need was provided. The french doors opened into a stunning garden complete with a lovely bistro table set. The property was gorgeous with a private pool area. We were warmly welcomed and we felt vary comfortable staying at this guest house. And then the topper was the incredible breakfast that was delivered to our door in the morning. Naramata is a lovely place to visit. Our trip was very memorable and we would HIGHLY recommend Apple d'Or and the Naramata area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welltraveledtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Although my family lives in nearby Penticton, my boyfriend and I live in West Palm Beach Florida. I was bringing him home to "meet the family". I wanted to show my boyfriend why people love the Okanagan so much, and of course, entice him to want to go back! We were the first guests of the season May 1/09, and stayed for 4 nights. We originally were booked for 5, but got stuck in Seattle overnight due to my boyfriend falling ill. One quick call to Holly was made and she assured us it was no problem at all... just come when we come. A little 10 minute car ride from Penticton through the orchards and vineyards to Naramata and we were there. This is where I am lacking for words. It was beautiful beyond belief! The woodwork and attention to the slightest of details was incredible. The first thing I noticed was the beautiful classical music playing throughout the B&B. Holly was right there to greet us, and gave us a great tour of place and showed us to our room. We had the sunrise suite. Upon entering, more relaxing classical music greeted us, along with a lovely bottle of Sparkling Wine from a local winery, and fresh fruit. The website truly shows how beautiful Apple D'or is. It is WWW.Appledor.ca. The suite was big, cozy and comfortable, with a separate kitchen, stove, fridge, microwave, and separate living area. Nice television, and fireplace. Lovely antiques, books everywhere. The king size bed was super comfortable, and had luxury linens. The bathroom was beautiful, with a huge tub for 2, and every possible thing in the drawers you may have forgotten from home! Lovely shower with 2 different types of shower heads. Private walkway to your suite, and private patio overlooking orchards, vineyards and the lake. The grounds were immaculate with spring tulips and daffodils everywhere. So warm, welcoming and relaxing. Each night you fill out a little card and check off what you would like for breakfast, what time you would like to be served, and where you would like your breakfast. we opted for our private patio. each morning, it was sitting outside our door, with a phone call to let us know, breakfast was ready. we rarely saw anyone.... but the service was great. Breakfast was a small feast each day. Fresh flowers adorned the tray, along with perfect linen napkins, and fine silver. Each day it was different... different granola yogurt parfaits, fruits. I have never tasted a croissant like that in my life... warm, buttery... perfect. fresh local preserves. It really was so very beautiful, and very filling. We loved the drive to and from Penticton. At night, there were alot of deer nibbling at the roadsides. During the day, lots of wineries to visit along the way. We absolutely plan to stay there again. Of course my family loved the boyfriend, and thanks to Colin, Holly and Karen.... my boyfriend fell in love with the Okanagan Valley.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greekwinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

We stayed here for our honeymoon in 2007 and were completely amazed by the B&B. Everything about it was perfect; not a thing to fault. The breakfasts, made with local ingredients, were fresh, flavourful and satisfying. The room was tastefully decorated, spacious, and perfectly tidy. The bed was king-sized and comfortable, and the bathroom was spa-like. We made use of the hot tub and sauna (don't remember if the pool was completed back then). The panoramic views were breathtaking and the service was subtle, but substantial. Although it was a little expensive, it was most certainly worth it.

This B&B is truly a work of art.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verdi-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, B.C.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2009

My husband and I recently celebrated our anniversary at Apple d'Or Guesthouse. This was our second trip and I look forward to visiting again. The accomodation is beautifully well-appointed with 3 private suites to choose from. All have ensuite with heated bathroom floors, king beds, kitchen, flatscrren tv, dvd player, music system, fireplace, and a private patio overlooking Okanagan Lake. They are exquisitely furnished with antiques, orginal art, luxurious bed linens, towels and bathrobes. The guesthouse has for your use- a hot tub, sauna and seasonal pool overlooking the fabulous views of the Okanagan valley. Each morning we were served a delicious continental breakfast either in the main room of the guesthouse or in the privacy of our own room. We could choose from juices, coffee, tea, croissants, toast, sweet breads, eggs, and fresh fruit presented on a silver tray with white linen. A beautiful start to our day! Apple d'Or is conveniently situated in the Naramata Benchlands area- close to wineries, restaurants and hiking/ biking trails. Tennis courts and golf courses are nearby in Penticton along with many fine restaurants that host music concerts on the weekends. The Pentiction airport is just a 20 minute drive away. I would recommend visiting their website at www.appledor.com
Our gracious hosts- Colin and Holly are very helpful with suggestions to restaurants, entertainment, sporting venues and local wineries. If you have the fortunate opportunity to visit the Naramata area- I would highly recommend staying at Apple d'Or Guesthouse.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naramata
3.6 mi away
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
8.2 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Naramata Heritage Inn & Spa
0.3 mi away
Singing Marmot Guest Suites
4.1 mi away
E'Laysa Guesthouse and Vineyard Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple d'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple d'or

Property: Apple d'or
Address: 2587 Naramata Rd, Naramata, British Columbia V0H 1N1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Naramata
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Naramata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple d'or 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although Apple d'or is a B+B, it feels more like a small boutique hotel contained within a 7500 square foot log house overlooking Okanagan Lake. It has only three individually and luxuriously decorated king suites, all with cooking facilities and private patios. With its exquisite gardens including hot tub and pool, it is the only Canada Select 5 Star accommodation east of the lower mainland in British Columbia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Apple d'or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing