We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“German profile” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karl's Woodfire Pizza N'More

Karl's Woodfire Pizza N'More
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Nakusp
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“German profile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

It was hot and I am in nakusp every summer for 25 years. Retail comes and goes here. I am happy the pizza place is hanging on..the food is good. Draft beer and salads too. I was unhappy that it is not wood fired as the name implies but it is a good place to eat.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kayakcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    26
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Eats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Cold Beer & excellent wood fired Pizza, would eat there again. My pals liked what they had as well ! :)

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank HouseofBobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awful.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stopped by here in September and ordered a takeout pizza. Honestly, I had better food at run-down gas stations. $22 bought us a small, paper-thin, sad-excuse for pizza. The "toppings" were spread so thinly you'd think they were rationing them. The "extra" mushroom was literally that: one mushroom flaked over the barely-existent cheese. We stared at this "pizza" for a while, utterly bewildered.

Anyways, it seems you'd be better off walking down the street and spending $7 on a pizza at Overwaitea. It'll come frozen. It will still be better taste and value!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank bp1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service but Strange Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

We visited this restaurant for the first time last month while driving through town and was very impressed with the food! We ordered pizza and beer. The pizza was a great vegetarian recipe with exotic toppings such as artichoke hearts, portabello mushrooms and roasted red peppers. The waitress was very friendly but the owner was really unpleasant (maybe he was having a bad day). While we were finishing up our pizza, i glanced over to the open kitchen (they cook everything in the open), i saw the cook drop a steak on the ground while he was bringing it from the oven to the counter before plating. I thought oh too bad, what a waste! but then a moment later to my surprise i see him plating it and he did not throw it away and cook another one. After this i was totally disgusted but too embarassed to say anything to the waitress. Overall, the food was great but will not go back considering what i saw take place. Too bad.... everything else was excellent.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank BobbyJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
318 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Class and pride shine through”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

We wandered Nakusp looking for an interesting place to eat and landed upon Karl's after hearing that they did German food too. I've spent a lot of time in Germany and it's not often you get that style of cooking in Canada. We were delighted with the ambience, cleanliness, service, and of course the food. We both had the schntizel. My wife had the home made spatzle (Wunderbar) and I had the potatoes. The salads were fresh and very creative with walnut pieces, dried apricots, sliced fig and apple. I had an excellent house Merlot, my wife had the German beer. They have 3 German beers I've seen in Europe but never in Canada. The folks at the table next to us had the wood fired pizza and they were very pleased. Made me want to order one too so we got one to go and ate it the next day cold for breakfast! Yum.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cmbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karl's Woodfire Pizza N'More also viewed

Nakusp, Kootenay Rockies
Nakusp, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nakusp, Kootenay Rockies
Nakusp, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Karl's Woodfire Pizza N'More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing