We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money”
Review of Selkirk Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nakusp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Selkirk Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Nakusp
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have stayed at the Rotor Lodge before and it is an excellent hotel but this time I had a 9 night stay and was trying to save a bit of money so tried Selkirk (price was roughly half of Rotor).

The rooms are quite new and VERY clean. The owners Sam and Grace are very helpful and friendly.

I didn't take breakfast as I prefer to have yogurt and fruit in the room so can't comment on that.

Location is very good - the big grocery store is a two minute walk.

To be quite frank, the rooms are not much different than Rotor - both are basic and clean... the difference with Rotor is you have the restaurant and bar - Selkirk has neither.

But since Selkirk is located just off the Main St... you can within 5 minutes walk to every restaurant in town anyway. So why pay double?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Inukshukasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Selkirk Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 77 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the beginning of entering Nakusp to leaving was an excellent experience. Staying at Slekirk Inn was part of that. The staff are friendly and accommodating. It is a family owned and opperated facilty and they have made it a welcoming home atmosphere. They even have a veggie garden growing and some lovely small flower gardens. The hotel is 2 blocks from a well priced grocery store and a block further you are at the lake where the view is breathtaking. There is a sidewalk along the lake with amazing gardens all along the path as well as many
benches to sit on and enjoy the view or have a picnic. We bought picnic supplies at the grocery store, had a lovely walk and then sat for a most enjoyable picnic. Drive a few miles on the same road as the inn the opposite way as the lake and you arrive at the Hot Springs. $9.50 for adults.
The hotel is decorated with 80's furniture and lamps but the beds are new and very compfortable. The town is quiet so it was a pleasant sleep without cars racing up and down the street. The room was large. Coffee and Tea are provided in the lobby each morning, perhaps throughout the day. The only thing I felt could be cleaned
were the carpets. Perhaps they are dirty after a summer of people coming and going from the lake.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to choose this hotel. It is affordable. Don't let the age of the furnishing...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ilovegod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Place is alright if you are ok with outdated everything. Rooms were clean and the bed was comfy and since it was +30 deg we were happy to have air conditioning even though it was very noisy. The owners are friendly and accommodating...gave us towels to use at the hot springs.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground, the ones upstairs have not been renovated.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grammy929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our bike club of about 15 people stayed one night on a Silver Triangle tour, on our last night out before packing up the van and driving home.

It is located right on the highway, a couple blocks from downtown.
There is no restaurant but restaurants are a couple of blocks away.

Nakusp is a nice funky town with a very pretty waterfront walk with formal gardens.

Managers were very helpful to our group, opened up a storage room for the bikes, provided blankets to pad bikes.

Opening up the basement breakfast room at 6:45 was nice

Check-In: efficient, did not faze them that our group of 15 had spread out all up and down the road and arrived at different times.

Noise - minimal (our room was at the back of building)

Rooms are good size - 2 queen beds

Bathroom - normal for a motel, full tub. Fixtures worked passably well although they are old, not everything shuts driplessly tight or fits perfectly.

Amenities ..
Internet - WiFi worked well
Coffee maker (did not use)
Fridge - bar fridge
TV channels - normal basic cable.

Breakfast - they advertise coffee and muffins in the morning although we brought and ate our own. The manager was nice in opening up the breakfast room (in the basement) a little early so we could get on our way.

Check-Out - seamless

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank energizer090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here two nights on out tout throug the rockies. For this price you get a perfect queensize bedroom with free wifi and a fridge. Rooms are clean and towels are fresh and good without any holes or torn!!!.
When there was no wifi connection the staff fixed it within 2 minutes.

The inn is in walking distance of the town centre.

Staff is friendly and provided us with information about Nakusp and things to do.

We will sertanly stay here again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Berry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This place is alright. Very outdated decor, Curtains on windows our from the 1980's. The bed spreads on the beds are very retro. The taps in the bathroom are very old school. The shower head is the worst. It like stings your back when you try to have a shower. there are no microwaves or coffee pots in the room. The tv is a old school 27" tubed tv. Also trick of the trade. Make sure you pin the blind up if you want the air conditioner to actually cool off your room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

-room was nice and clean.
-good size
-friendly staff.
-cant beat the price....$65 a night
-bed was a little on the hard side but no biggie for one night.
-its an older building but really well maintained.
-good place to stay if you are planning to go to the hotsprings
-we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmdk116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nakusp hotels
19.5 mi away
Halcyon Hot Springs
Halcyon Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Nakusp
505 reviews
1.2 mi away
Huckleberry Inn
Huckleberry Inn
#5 of 5 in Nakusp
33 reviews
10.4 mi away
Rock Island Resort
Rock Island Resort
#3 of 8 in Nakusp
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CMH K2 Rotor Lodge
CMH K2 Rotor Lodge
#3 of 6 in Nakusp
87 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Selkirk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selkirk Inn

Address: 210 6th Ave NW | Box 370, Nakusp, British Columbia V0G 1R0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nakusp
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Nakusp
Price Range: $65 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selkirk Inn,conveniently located downtown Nakusp,has 39 clean and spacious units (incl. 11 Kitchenette rooms), luxurious queen/double size beds for you to enjoy. Each room has cable TV, wireless internet, and a mini fridge. Complimentary coffee in the lobby. Friendly people offering a clean and comfortable home away from home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing