We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, tired hotel”
Review of Leland Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nakusp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Leland Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Nakusp
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, tired hotel”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This quaint old hotel has loads of character but is badly in need of a major renovation. The room was full of character but the beds and pillows were very uncomfortable, the bathroom was practically unusable. You couldn't stand in the shower (I am 5'7"), the sink was so close to the toilet it was difficult to sit down. When my bed was not made by 5 pm, they were most apologetic and sent someone to make it right away.
The restaurant ambience is pleasant and the deck has a million dollar view but the food is mediocre at best. If you don't mind staying in a not too clean, uncomfortable place with a killer view, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    39
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
33
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Its all about the location for the Leland Hotel. The patio overlooks the lake and the view is almost wrh the price of admission alone. The rooms are odd in configuration and the amenities are a bit worn. An example would be the clock radio in my room was from the 80's and wouldn't recieve any radio, but the buzzer worked. You have to remember this is a 100 year old hotel that's gone through several renovations. The beds are clean and comfy. The food on deck is average. The "we'll charge more and call it upscale" resturant is a bit expensive, but then one has to realize where you are. Nakusp is an out-of the-way town. The wait staff is friendly and attentive. I've been coming to Nakusp a couple times a year for the last 8 years and stayed in several other locations. There are nicer more generic hotels available. I tend to come back to the Leland for the character it brings and the hospitality the hosts show.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

"Quaint" might be a good word to describe the Leland. "Good value" not so much. For a total of $100 a night, a phone, or alarm radio, or a second chair in the room would have been nice. The view from the room was beautiful and apparent VERY early in the morning as there were no shades on the windows. The bathroom amenities were minimal, however the room was clean and the bed comfortable. The price is simply too steep when compared to other places we stayed at on our trip.
The meal at the restaurant was delicious and the atmosphere on the deck overlooking the lake wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigJ65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozen
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Great view over the lake, a nice play to stay a little bit longer ,great food in the restaurant............................................

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klemensbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

This is a lovely old hotel on the lakeshore. I paid a premium for a room with a view — $100 CDN — which is a bit steep. Upgrades to the building have not been of the highest quality. In fact, some of the work that had been done in my room was pretty awful. But I found it quite comfortable, despite the sound transfer from guests walking around in the room above. The restaurant has a nice patio and dinner was OK, but nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

Booked 1 night stay here based on photos on their website (it looked quaint and had a gorgeous view).

Building is quite tired as are rooms. Washroom had an odd arrangement: had to step up to what felt like a closet with a window. Washroom had an accordion partition with magnet to keep it shut rather than a customary door. Windows have tied back sheers rather than drapes/blinds (including the one in the bathroom).

Had a bar downstairs and even though my room was not directly above it, could hear it until late at night (stayed on a Friday night).

Having said that, the view was beautiful and have no complaints about the restaurant.

  • Liked — location & view
  • Disliked — noise and tired rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

Stayed here as a stop off from Rockies to Okanagan. Idealy located, Old tierd room but very clean, spacious and had fantastic view. Well worth the $79+tax. Our room had fridge apparently room without lake view also had small kitchen.
Dinning room and bar looked busy but we did not use them as arrived in evening with baby.
Bar was open till 1am and I heard a bit of noise at closing but nothing bothering just people talking and leaving.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank sbmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nakusp hotels
19.8 mi away
Halcyon Hot Springs
Halcyon Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Nakusp
482 reviews
1.4 mi away
Huckleberry Inn
Huckleberry Inn
#5 of 5 in Nakusp
33 reviews
10.2 mi away
Rock Island Resort
Rock Island Resort
#3 of 8 in Nakusp
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leland Hotel

Property: Leland Hotel
Address: 96 4th Ave. SW, Nakusp, British Columbia V0G 1R0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nakusp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Nakusp
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Leland Hotel Nakusp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing