We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mini holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halcyon Hot Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Halcyon Hot Springs
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nakusp
Yellowknife, NT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“mini holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

A perfect spot for a mini holiday - the queen cabin was cute, clean & cozy; the hot pools were relaxing; the dinner at the restaurant was very tasty. We brought our dog ... she was happy; there were good walking areas around the site. I loved the little church. We did bring our own wine and chocolate. Would definitely come again and bring friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendaA50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalcyonHotSprings, General Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you ver much for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed the resort, the springs, your dinner and the cabin. We would be happy to have you back!

With kind regards,

Sabine
General Manager
Halcyon Hot Springs Village and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    157
    59
    29
    21
See reviews for
118
230
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Booked the king chalet and romantic massage package. Our dog sitter ended up falling through so we had to bring her. I had read on the website that dogs were allowed so we brought her. Found out when we got there that the king chalets did not allow pets, so we were downgraded to a queen chalet, which was somewhat disappointing. The hot springs are beautiful, and when it is clear the view is amazing! The restaurant is very very over priced, I think we paid close to 175$ for a meal for 2, but that's also because we bought a bottle of wine (which was very overpriced as well). I didn't feel the food was that good to warrant that much money at all, and I probably wouldn't eat there again for that price. Bring your own wine if you want to have a glass in your room so you are not paying an insane amount of money there

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsCowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalcyonHotSprings, General Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Vistor to Halcyon Hot Springs,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry that we could not accommodate your dog in our King Chalet. A lot of our guests have sensitivities towards animal hair and we have to keep a part of our accommodation dog free. We are glad that you enjoyed our Hot Springs and our amazing views and hope to see you back soon.

With best regards,

Sabine Burmeister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

A great getaway for families or couples who want to relax and enjoy the peaceful hot pools. Rent a cabin just above the springs for a very private area. It is reasonably priced with rooms that are comfortable and warm. The restaurant is close if you don't want to cook in your own kitchenette. the food is fantastic. The view from the restaurant is amazing. If you wish to camp in the summer there are water, electrical hookups that are easily accessible to any kind of RV. Its just past the ferry before Nakusp. Lots of wild life close by.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c0mpassi0nate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalcyonHotSprings, General Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for visiting Halcyon Hot Springs Village and Spa and for giving us a review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and our amenities and hope to see you back soon.

With kind regards,

Sabine
General Manager
Halcyon Hot Springs Village and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have been coming here since 2007 and it's become like home away from home. The cabins and cottages are adorable and so cosy! The pools are so relaxing with a stunning view over Arrow Lk and the surrounding mountains. It is beautiful in summer and winter, day or night. We've seen many beautiful sunsets and sunrises from the hot pools, rain, snow, and even bald eagles. With a cabin rental you get access to the pools on the days you check in and out so you really feel pampered.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalcyonHotSprings, General Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for visiting Halcyon so many times. Our team is very happy that you enjoy Halcyon Hot Springs again and again.

Thank you for the kind review on Trip Advisor. This is very much appreciated.

With best wishes,

Sabine
Halcyon Hot Springs Village and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

A staff member's bullying behaviour still leaves me baffled. Bullying is never acceptable. A written complaint was made outlining the incidences that occurred. I am surprised that no follow up acknowledgment was provided, perhaps this is yet to come. First impressions are everything, and unfortunately the staff's behaviour spoiled that for me. Fortunately, the other staff were very kind and provided excellent service. I would rate the resort itself and amenities at a 3.5 - points are lost due to safety issues; in particular there was no telephone in the cabin and wheelchair accessibility from cabin to pools was non existent. Unfortunately, due to the aforementioned disappointing experience, I will not stay at Halcyon Hot Springs in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jarod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalcyonHotSprings, General Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
I dispute the content of this review. We do not bully or harrass our guests. Our staff asked this guest politely not to use the staff entrance to the restaurant which was also under construction and the guest did not agree with that. We did record the incident on surveillance.

Regards,

Sabine Burmeister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to have our wedding on a budget. My brother was actually looking at Halcyon for a weekend away with his family. My sister in law looked at the wedding options and it was fantastic. The staff there, especially Michelle, were so helpful from start to finish, always available if we had questions. We wanted a small wedding, about 20-25 guests. Halcyon has a chapel that can seat 30 people and was so cute and different to anywhere else we had seen. We were there for 3 nights, and even when you are staying in accommodations at the other side of the resort, its still only a 5 minute walk to anywhere. We stayed in one of the King chalets, so for the 3 days we had kind of an open house for everyone to stop by for food or drinks. The Kingfisher restaurant is fantastic, it may seem a little pricey but you are certainly getting your moneys worth. Our wedding was amazing, and it was great on the morning of the wedding to be swimming in the hot spring pool, looking over the Arrow Lake, relaxing and taking it easy. It could not have been a better venue for our special day and we cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hpieciak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalcyonHotSprings, General Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for this very nice review. Our team is so happy that you had a perfect wedding. We enjoyed sharing this special day with you, your friends and family.
Thank you also for recognizing our restaurant, staff and Michelle. I will pass your compliment on to them.

With kind regards and the hope to see you back soon,

Sabine
Halcyon Hot Springs Village and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
258 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Pools were clean and new, however not nearly as hot as I would have liked them. We stayed in one of the many Cabins on the property. While they are cheaply constructed and their amenities on the lower end, they provided us with a great and affordable getaway.

Cabins are just a short walk to the Hot spring pools... be sure to wear the cozy house coat provided...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalcyonHotSprings, General Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Visitor to the Halcyon Hot Springs Village and Spa,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Regarding the pool temperatures we follow government guidelines that limit the maximum heat for health reasons. Our visitors usually find our hottest pool quite hot, but of course this depends on personal preferences.

Our team hopes to see you back soon!

With kind regards,

Sabine Burmeister
Halcyon Hot Springs Village and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nakusp
18.4 mi away
Huckleberry Inn
Huckleberry Inn
#5 of 5 in Nakusp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
25.0 mi away
Mulvehill Creek Wilderness Inn and Wedding Chapel
0.0 mi away
Crazy Creek Resort
Crazy Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Malakwa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kicking Horse Kabins
Kicking Horse Kabins
#11 of 42 in Golden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
28.7 mi away
Rock Island Resort
Rock Island Resort
#3 of 8 in Nakusp
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Hot Springs

Property: Halcyon Hot Springs
Address: 5655 Highway 23, Nakusp, British Columbia V0G 1R0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nakusp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nakusp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Halcyon Hot Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake, mountains, natural hot springs, wilderness, comfort, fun and serenity... there is so much to explore at Halcyon Hot Springs Village and Spa. Experience the beauty of the Kootenays and our exceptional amenities.The famous Halcyon Hot Springs Lithia Waters have a unique combination of minerals that are very relaxing and beneficial for a variety of ailments. The cascading pools are constantly supplied with fresh hot springs water.Swirl away tensions in our natural mineral spring pools while gazing over serene Arrow Lake and the Monashee Mountain range. Enjoy the outstanding cuisine in the Kingfisher Restaurant or a pampering treatment at the Spa at Halcyon. Relax along the shoreline or explore the waters of Arrow Lake from the dock or by canoe or kayak.The resort is open year round and winters are magical. Heliski with CMH or explore the trails surrounding Halcyon Hot Springs with snowshoes or cross country skis. Or visit the new Revelstoke Mountain for a day of lift skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Halcyon Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Hot Springs Hotel Nakusp
Halcyon Hot Springs Nakusp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing