We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spot in Arrow Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Halcyon Hot Springs
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nakusp
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent spot in Arrow Lake”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed for 3 days and have to recognize the amiability of their employees, the very well maintained pools, and spectacular view of the lake. A fair wireless signal kept my children connected with their friends and plays. The BBQ that we tried to use wasn't working but they immediately replaced it. I would say that this is an excellent place to relax and reinforce the family spirit surrounded by mother Nature

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalcyonHotSprings, General Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review of Halcyon Hot Springs Village and Spa here on Arrow Lake.
We are very glad that you had a great time and enjoyed the resort. We have improved our internet services and it is nice to hear that your children were able to stay connected.

See you back at Halcyon in the near future!

With best regards,

Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    157
    59
    30
    21
See reviews for
119
230
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here quite a few years ago and were pleased that everything was still of the same quality. The 1-bedroom chalet we had and the pool facilities were very clean and well-kept. They provide wonderful soft robes you can use to walk to the pool. It was only a short walk from the chalets.

My only complaint would be that it would be nice to have some adult-only hours in the pools, otherwise it often feels as if you are in a day-care centre rather than the relaxing environment it should be. It didn't help that it was the weekend, so lots of families were there.

We didn't go to the restaurant at the hotel because we knew it was expensive, but we did have a kitchenette in our chalet and drove to the small towns nearby for other food options. It would be nice if they had lower-priced food options at the hotel, I think more people would go there if they did.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy01calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalcyonHotSprings, General Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Halcyon Hot Springs Village and Spa and for giving us a nice review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon.
We will take extra care to enforce the quiet hour in our pools this season.

With kind regards,

Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at one of the cottages for one night, cottage is small but well appointed, a fair way to go to the pools, you have to drive or get cold.
No cellular phone coverage at all, this may be a drawback nowdays.
The wireless internet was advertised but it was so weak that I could only open for few minutes and, even when open could not pratically use because too slow, so no internet coverage either.
One particular clerk at the desk, a youg lady, was fairly rude.
The pools were nice and with a beautiful view but no well mantained considering the cost of the place.
The worst comment of the review is about the restaurant, way too expensive starting from the wine (food was not cheap either), only one waitress for the whole dining room and not very experienced; ordered a fish dish and the recipe was good but the ingredients were far from fresh, expecially shrimp and mussels and this could be dangerous!
We visited Halcyon after we spent 2 days at Ainsworth Hot Springs, well, we would go back to Ainsworth any time but would not consider to return to Halcyon unless there was a more reasonably priced restaurant because the cottage was comfortable and would be fine in warmer weather than April, it is beautiful there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalcyonHotSprings, General Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with Halcyon Hot Springs. We are happy that you enjoyed our accommodation, the pools and our unique and pristine setting.
We have addressed your comments about our restaurant with our management team.

We hope to see you back at Halcyon Hot Springs in the future.

Kind regards,

Sabine
General Manager
Halcyon Hot Springs Village and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Have now been here twice, May 2012 & Sept 2012. Both times we stayed in the RV Park which although adequate is nothing special when it comes to site development. The pools are the main attraction and we all thoroughly enjoyed them. The location overlooking the Arrow Lakes is spectacular and the hiking trails provide easy access to the beach. We are going again May 2013.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carl k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalcyonHotSprings, General Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for staying at Halcyon Hot Springs Village and Spa and for giving us a review.
Our RV park is very small and we are very limited for layout and space.

We will be renovating our pools with tiles this spring to make the hot springs pools even more attractive.

See you back in May!

Wtih kind regards,

Sabine Burmeister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for one night at this beautiful getaway. Our small, clean, Queen cabin was perfect and more than adequite. It was just a short walk to the pools. The pools themselves were wonderful and relaxing. Everyone there was very helpful and friendly. We took a nice hike down to the beach area which was amazing and you can build your own Inukshuk. The only thing we can say negative would have to be the restaurant. It was a little pricey. Would definetly go back again.

Room Tip: If you don't need a kitchen the Queen cabins are perectly located and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalcyonHotSprings, General Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Queen Cabins and that you found the time to visit our lake front.

Thank you again for visiting Halcyon and we hope to see you back soon.

With best regards,

Sabine Burmeister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in one of the cabins on the Valentine's day special. We had our dog with us and it worked out very well. Dog friendly and there were other dogs he could play with.

Great place to enjoy hot springs, eat good food, do walks, and spend time with your significant other. Don't expect cell phone coverage and wifi is limited to the reception area.

The Restuarant is high end though we were a bit disappointed in our breakfast. The chef didn't understand was "basted" was with respect to eggs and it took three tries. Ruined that breakfast but they didn't charge for the entrée. We assume its a one off. Our dinners were quite good, though not fantastic. There was a table of helicopter-skiers there who seemed to get the attention with other guests as #2 priority.

It's hard to find a path to the beach to walk along. The paths dead end or lead to closed trails. Having said all that, I would go again

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalcyonHotSprings, General Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate all feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Now that the snow is gone we are opening up the lakeside trail again. It is very pretty down at the lake. I am sorry that you felt that we were giving certain guests priority in the restaurant. We value all our guests and appreciate that you chose to dine at the Kingfisher and will address this with our staff.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

With best regards,

Sabine Burmeister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We attended a wedding for a close family member and stayed one night. We ate at the restaurant for lunch, dinner for the reception, and breakfast the next morning. It was great each time and the food and service were outstanding. I thought the prices were good.

The chalet my in-laws stayed in were the newer ones and they were fabulous. My husband, son and I, shared a chalet that was in the older section with another couple. It was good for one night, but I would have preferred the newer (price is much higher). The only issue we had with it, was the musty, mildew smell. It was clean and the bedrooms/beds were very comfortable. The pull out couch, may need a new mattress. I would definitely recommend the hot springs. My 3 year old son had an awesome time in the hot pools, especially the current. We spent every moment we could before and after the wedding in the pools. We would love to go back for a family getaway. If fall was beautiful, winter would be gorgeous. Note: Rooms/cabins are pricey.

The wedding was in a small chapel located on the grounds. It was very quaint and perfect for a small wedding. The reception area was perfect and they made it very private by putting a sort of blind outside to block anyone from the pool seeing the wedding party. Food was excellent as well as the service.

Room Tip: Newer chalets, no musty smell. I heard the cottages were very cute (for 2 peoples)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalcyonHotSprings, General Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay.
I will pass on your comments to our staff.
We will be renovating the older chalets this year with new carpets and also will upgrade the wood flooring.

We hope to seen you back soon.

With kind regards,

Sabine Burmeister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nakusp
18.4 mi away
Huckleberry Inn
Huckleberry Inn
#5 of 5 in Nakusp
31 reviews
25.0 mi away
Mulvehill Creek Wilderness Inn and Wedding Chapel
28.7 mi away
Rock Island Resort
Rock Island Resort
#3 of 8 in Nakusp
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crazy Creek Resort
Crazy Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Malakwa
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kicking Horse Kabins
Kicking Horse Kabins
#11 of 42 in Golden
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Hot Springs

Property: Halcyon Hot Springs
Address: 5655 Highway 23, Nakusp, British Columbia V0G 1R0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nakusp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nakusp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Halcyon Hot Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake, mountains, natural hot springs, wilderness, comfort, fun and serenity... there is so much to explore at Halcyon Hot Springs Village and Spa. Experience the beauty of the Kootenays and our exceptional amenities.The famous Halcyon Hot Springs Lithia Waters have a unique combination of minerals that are very relaxing and beneficial for a variety of ailments. The cascading pools are constantly supplied with fresh hot springs water.Swirl away tensions in our natural mineral spring pools while gazing over serene Arrow Lake and the Monashee Mountain range. Enjoy the outstanding cuisine in the Kingfisher Restaurant or a pampering treatment at the Spa at Halcyon. Relax along the shoreline or explore the waters of Arrow Lake from the dock or by canoe or kayak.The resort is open year round and winters are magical. Heliski with CMH or explore the trails surrounding Halcyon Hot Springs with snowshoes or cross country skis. Or visit the new Revelstoke Mountain for a day of lift skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Halcyon Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Hot Springs Hotel Nakusp
Halcyon Hot Springs Nakusp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing