We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST I'VE BEEN TO EVER!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Halcyon Hot Springs
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nakusp
Reviewed August 9, 2011

By far the best place I've stayed in Canada or the USA. I would rate EVERYTHING 10 out of 10 at this resort. Our chalet seemed brand new, everything was spotless, very roomy, bright, warm, lovely hardwood floors, even a barbeque for each unit to use. The grounds were immaculate, it was very peaceful, the hot springs were beautiful, we even enjoyed trying our luck at fishing off the dock at the lake. Everyone was incredibly friendly. HIGHLY recommended, will definately go back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
There are newer reviews for Halcyon Hot Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 505 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

It is a fantastic rustic getaway for couples and family! Humming birds everywhere! Great Hiking trails and Hot Springs at the main building! The cabins to main lodge (hot springs pool)are tough for people who has restricted mobility. I reserved the King Deluxe with full equipped kitchen and private BBQ. All you have to bring is food and spices! Staff is friendly and the King Fisher Restaurant Staff is fantastic as well! I wish I booked for more days as they were sold out.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinTwinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

we traveled by motorcycle and arrived july 5 and got a great cabin to stay in just as the rain hit - what a great place to be held up. Firstly the hotsprings are warm and wonderful
but I have to say the highlight to the trip was the dinning room. My wife and I were in
foodie heaven - great taste and quality for the price and very friendly table staff. As the
rain kept pouring down we stayed a second night and felt very at home and are talking
about a return trip very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 81shovelhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Go to Halcyon if you like:

1. Enjoying nature. The views are incredible. Resort is set in the woods overlooking gorgeous mountains and Upper Arrow Lake
2. Family friendly hot springs. 4 pools of varying temps. 2 are quite large. Very clean.
3. Attentive service. Staff work tirelessly to ensure you enjoy your stay. Andrei, Michelle and the rest of the staff we interacted with were extremely helpful, kind and very responsive. No they did not ask me to write this. They need to be recognized for their hard work.
4. Delicious food. Chef Tyler has created a great menu and the execution was spot-on. We loved everything we tried; well worth paying for quality.

Don't go to Halcyon if:

1. You dislike being cut off from technology. No cell service, no internet. Get over it. You are on vacation. Use a payphone or go to Nakusp if you must check your Groupons.
2. You cannot tolerate the outdoors. The resort is set in the wilderness, lakeside. Bugs were not an issue at all for us. If you don't like being outdoors, then go stay at West Edmonton Mall.
3. You want food that looks and is priced like it is at the pub down the road to you. It's a special occasion, you're staying at an incredible resort, they have hired a great chef, respect the skill and cuisine. If you want chicken fingers, then go to KFC.

I suppose the only other comment I'd like to make is that the RV camping spots are too cramped. Less spots or perhaps turning the tenting area into larger RV spots would be great. But really, we didn't go to Halcyon to sit at our camping spot.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelSeeker1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Fiance and I went for a weekend getaway from Alberta. The best thing about this place is the setting/location. The arrow lakes is one of our favorite places to spend time at in the summer, and this spot is amazing!

Cabins are definitely adequate. Hot springs are very nice and relaxing. Food was very good!.

Only negatives for us were the food at the restaurant was a bit pricey for dinner, and the cabins do not have telephones. There is no cell service here, so if you have to check your messages, you would have to go to the main building to access a phone.

Overall, we recommend it, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilot32123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a romantic weekend getaway at the Halcyon Hot Springs.

The staff were very friendly and accomodating.

We were not keen on spending so much for a room, but got a village chalet and it was incredible. The room was absolutely spotless. We were blown away by the many amenities in the room, including all appliances and kitchen utensils, two LCD screens with DVD players, nice furniture in all rooms and a bathroom to die for. The views are breathtaking.

The food at the restaurant was also to die for-- simply delicious. Highly recommend the tenderloin! Live music on Saturday night was an unexpected treat.

The pools are quite nice and well-cleaned, no complaints there, especially since the place was super busy with travelers from around the world (judging by the many languages we heard).

Only complaint: TERRIBLE internet access. We couldn't reserve online and had to phone. Then we got there to discover the wireless was usually not available, very antiquated methods of logging in and, when it was up, it was painfully slow. We couldn't get anything done on our laptops and it made it hard for us to manage projects and our own customers over the weekend. A real disappointment there because one would expect the thing to function well, especially if their livelihood depends on the connection.

Otherwise a lovely place to visit and we hope to go back again.

Room Tip: Village Chalets: Immaculate and you don't have to pack lots to be comfortable
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B1GMAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreiGK, Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2011

Thank you for joining us, and for the great review!
Due to our wilderness setting, the only internet we have is from a sattelite service provider. Clearly there are some issues with both the speed and bandwidth of our connection. We have been promised high speed by a different provider this Fall, and we can't wait!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We had a very nice time in Halcyon and would go back soon and for longer, if not for the prohibitive prices for accommodation. The cottage we stayed in was lovely, but basic and small. Staff very friendly, both at the front desk and at the restaurant. The pools are great, and the best part is floating around on a couple of water noodles and letting all your worries float away. The large swimming pool was only open for a few hours a day (from 11 AM to 4 PM). Towels and soft robes are provided for the overnight guests. If you can move away from the pools, there are other things to do. There are movies to rent, you can walk down to the lake and enjoy the seclusion of the rocky beach, you can stroll around the resort and look at beautiful flowers, you can take in a piece of history by visiting the old chapel - the only reminder of the old Halcyon days. Nakusp is only a short drive away, and the area is beautiful to explore.

One curious thing was that we found the pool band of the previous cottage occupant in our bed, between the sheet and the comforter - makes you wonder if they change bedding before the new guests arrive....

It is a great getaway, typically quiet and relaxed but it can get busy in the evening or weekend. Great views from the pools, from the restaurant, from the lodge, from the cottage. Intimate setting and beautiful surroundings, but the high prices tend to make this resort exclusive, especially in high season.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank electronicpaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nakusp
19.7 mi away
CMH K2 Rotor Lodge
CMH K2 Rotor Lodge
#3 of 6 in Nakusp
87 reviews
18.4 mi away
Huckleberry Inn
Huckleberry Inn
#5 of 5 in Nakusp
33 reviews
25.0 mi away
Mulvehill Creek Wilderness Inn and Wedding Chapel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 mi away
Rock Island Resort
Rock Island Resort
#3 of 8 in Nakusp
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kicking Horse Kabins
Kicking Horse Kabins
#11 of 43 in Golden
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Hot Springs

Address: 5655 Highway 23, Nakusp, British Columbia V0G 1R0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nakusp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nakusp
Price Range: $133 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Halcyon Hot Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake, mountains, natural hot springs, wilderness, comfort, fun and serenity... there is so much to explore at Halcyon Hot Springs Village and Spa. Experience the beauty of the Kootenays and our exceptional amenities.The famous Halcyon Hot Springs Lithia Waters have a unique combination of minerals that are very relaxing and beneficial for a variety of ailments. The cascading pools are constantly supplied with fresh hot springs water.Swirl away tensions in our natural mineral spring pools while gazing over serene Arrow Lake and the Monashee Mountain range. Enjoy the outstanding cuisine in the Kingfisher Restaurant or a pampering treatment at the Spa at Halcyon. Relax along the shoreline or explore the waters of Arrow Lake from the dock or by canoe or kayak.The resort is open year round and winters are magical. Heliski with CMH or explore the trails surrounding Halcyon Hot Springs with snowshoes or cross country skis. Or visit the new Revelstoke Mountain for a day of lift skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Halcyon Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Hot Springs Hotel Nakusp
Halcyon Hot Springs Nakusp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing