We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Halcyon Hot Springs
Nearby Hotels
$173
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silverton Resort(Silverton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveler rating
217
182
76
32
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
182
76
32
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskingfisher restauranthot poolshot springsarrow lakechange roomsthe cottagesbedroom chaletpools were nicepool noodlesrv parkking fishermain buildingqueen bedfull kitchenaccommodationshotspringsrobes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
490 - 495 of 530 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Go to Halcyon if you like:

1. Enjoying nature. The views are incredible. Resort is set in the woods overlooking gorgeous mountains and Upper Arrow Lake
2. Family friendly hot springs. 4 pools of varying temps. 2 are quite large. Very clean.
3. Attentive service. Staff work tirelessly to ensure you enjoy your stay. Andrei, Michelle and the rest of the staff we interacted with were extremely helpful, kind and very responsive. No they did not ask me to write this. They need to be recognized for their hard work.
4. Delicious food. Chef Tyler has created a great menu and the execution was spot-on. We loved everything we tried; well worth paying for quality.

Don't go to Halcyon if:

1. You dislike being cut off from technology. No cell service, no internet. Get over it. You are on vacation. Use a payphone or go to Nakusp if you must check your Groupons.
2. You cannot tolerate the outdoors. The resort is set in the wilderness, lakeside. Bugs were not an issue at all for us. If you don't like being outdoors, then go stay at West Edmonton Mall.
3. You want food that looks and is priced like it is at the pub down the road to you. It's a special occasion, you're staying at an incredible resort, they have hired a great chef, respect the skill and cuisine. If you want chicken fingers, then go to KFC.

I suppose the only other comment I'd like to make is that the RV camping spots are too cramped. Less spots or perhaps turning the tenting area into larger RV spots would be great. But really, we didn't go to Halcyon to sit at our camping spot.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelSeeker1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Fiance and I went for a weekend getaway from Alberta. The best thing about this place is the setting/location. The arrow lakes is one of our favorite places to spend time at in the summer, and this spot is amazing!

Cabins are definitely adequate. Hot springs are very nice and relaxing. Food was very good!.

Only negatives for us were the food at the restaurant was a bit pricey for dinner, and the cabins do not have telephones. There is no cell service here, so if you have to check your messages, you would have to go to the main building to access a phone.

Overall, we recommend it, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilot32123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a romantic weekend getaway at the Halcyon Hot Springs.

The staff were very friendly and accomodating.

We were not keen on spending so much for a room, but got a village chalet and it was incredible. The room was absolutely spotless. We were blown away by the many amenities in the room, including all appliances and kitchen utensils, two LCD screens with DVD players, nice furniture in all rooms and a bathroom to die for. The views are breathtaking.

The food at the restaurant was also to die for-- simply delicious. Highly recommend the tenderloin! Live music on Saturday night was an unexpected treat.

The pools are quite nice and well-cleaned, no complaints there, especially since the place was super busy with travelers from around the world (judging by the many languages we heard).

Only complaint: TERRIBLE internet access. We couldn't reserve online and had to phone. Then we got there to discover the wireless was usually not available, very antiquated methods of logging in and, when it was up, it was painfully slow. We couldn't get anything done on our laptops and it made it hard for us to manage projects and our own customers over the weekend. A real disappointment there because one would expect the thing to function well, especially if their livelihood depends on the connection.

Otherwise a lovely place to visit and we hope to go back again.

Room Tip: Village Chalets: Immaculate and you don't have to pack lots to be comfortable
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B1GMAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreiGK, Manager at Halcyon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2011

Thank you for joining us, and for the great review!
Due to our wilderness setting, the only internet we have is from a sattelite service provider. Clearly there are some issues with both the speed and bandwidth of our connection. We have been promised high speed by a different provider this Fall, and we can't wait!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We had a very nice time in Halcyon and would go back soon and for longer, if not for the prohibitive prices for accommodation. The cottage we stayed in was lovely, but basic and small. Staff very friendly, both at the front desk and at the restaurant. The pools are great, and the best part is floating around on a couple of water noodles and letting all your worries float away. The large swimming pool was only open for a few hours a day (from 11 AM to 4 PM). Towels and soft robes are provided for the overnight guests. If you can move away from the pools, there are other things to do. There are movies to rent, you can walk down to the lake and enjoy the seclusion of the rocky beach, you can stroll around the resort and look at beautiful flowers, you can take in a piece of history by visiting the old chapel - the only reminder of the old Halcyon days. Nakusp is only a short drive away, and the area is beautiful to explore.

One curious thing was that we found the pool band of the previous cottage occupant in our bed, between the sheet and the comforter - makes you wonder if they change bedding before the new guests arrive....

It is a great getaway, typically quiet and relaxed but it can get busy in the evening or weekend. Great views from the pools, from the restaurant, from the lodge, from the cottage. Intimate setting and beautiful surroundings, but the high prices tend to make this resort exclusive, especially in high season.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank electronicpaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I only stopped off here passing through from Osoyoos to Banff. The cottage I was put in was small, well equipped and functional. The dinner was delicious and the view from the front of the hotel (hot springs included) was magnificent.

Too short a stay to make any real judgement as I left before breakfast the next day but nevertheless it was a nice stop over place.

Room Tip: No idea but possibly near the lake
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARINAROSEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews