We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful natural setting”
Review of Nakusp Hot Springs

Nakusp Hot Springs
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Nakusp
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled deep within the natural beauty of the Kuskanax Valley, the Nakusp Hot Springs offers over 200 acres of year round outdoor recreation opportunities. Located 12 km NE of Nakusp, the Hot Springs are nestled amongst nature's splendour, along the Kuskanax Creek. Come for a restorative soak in the mineral pools after taking a hike on the many trails in the surrounding area. Stay at our cozy Chalets or in our Campground for the full experience. Visit our spectacular Kuskanax Creek Footbridge just a short walk from the Hotsprings. The source of our mineral water and original site of the Hotsprings are also accessible by hiking trails. For the more adventurous, try a day hike to the beautiful Kimbol Lake.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful natural setting”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Located at the top of a 12 kilometres dead end road, the setting of the Nakusp hotsprings is beautiful. From the hot springs, you can hear the roaring river and see the tops of the tall trees. The hot springs are clean and well kept. If you like camping, settle into a campsite within steps of the hotsprings and have a soak to end and start your day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ViVoVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    63
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Weekend of relaxation”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was our first time to Nakusp Hot Springs. We were very happy with our chalet and the pool.
The staff was very pleasant. We did not realize we could make our own meals and there was no restaurant. Saturday morning we went to town and bought some groceries, then had a nice BBQ (they are supplied) right outside our door.
The view from the pool was beautiful of the mountains. Pools are nice and clean.
Very enjoyable stay.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CKWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great pool to soak in at the end of the day”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with this hot spring. Although the pool itself is nothing spectacular the atmosphere we found there was awesome. We arrived an hour before they closed for the night and were greeted by friendly staff who were more than accommodating and efficient when it came to checking us in and making sure we had locks and towels. The pool itself was rustic and charming but the location is what makes this hot springs amazing. We were nestled amid a stunning mountain view, with a bright moon and bats winging there way over the pool on a nightly feast of bugs. The quiet relaxed atmosphere was just what we needed to end our day before retiring to our cabin. Although the whole facility is a bit older and showing its age it is still well maintained and clean and I would soak here again. We left the pool feeling totally relaxed and laid back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank howitzer_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of our favorite spots...”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Always keep coming back to the rustic, peaceful charm of these pools set amid the stunning mountain vista. Lovely 10km drive up past the scenic waterfall (great place to stop for photos on the way back down). The pools and facility are older but clean and well maintained. Totally relaxing atmosphere and usually not huge crowds of people here. Lots of great hiking trails near the springs as well as off the mountain road.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelChik87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consecon
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“you can pay but if you dont mind a hike you can go for free”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Theres a couple places in nakusp that offer hot springs you can pay a fee and visit the ones where they filter the water and its crystal clear and it flows into pools which they created like a large swimming pool but their also the free hot springs in nakusp if you dont mind nature, a good hike and a little algae, the free hot springs is the place to be there just past the coachmen inn there signs and depending on where u park youll either have a walk slightly uphill on a gradul slope wide enough to take an atv up or youll end up parking on the dirt road at the top of the springs and be prepared for a good leg workout as you walk down some nice half wood half dirt walkway through the forest to the hot springs its well worth the journey once you arrive your in the middle of a forest with a larger pool where its mid temp range and theres also a smaller 3 man pool at the source of the heat where its very hot they also have a cold pool farther down the slope beneath the main pool, i would definately check out the free hot springs watch out for black bears there abundant in that area and have fun :)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew86Consecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nakusp Hot Springs also viewed

 
Nakusp, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Nakusp Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing