We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a hockey team”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandman Inn McBride
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in McBride
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good place for a hockey team”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were there over the weekend with our hockey team for a tournament. They were very organized at the front desk when we arrived. We ate that the Heartland restaurant attached and it was very good. I agree with the other reviews that this motel has some rough edges but I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. My only concern was that when the town had a power outtage and the hotel was dark, there was only one emergency light on the ground floor and none on the upper floor. This could be dangerous in a serious situation but it did add to the adventure of our weekend there. Wayne was very accommodating with our requests and I would be happy to tell other sports teams to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrochetAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Sandman M, General Manager at Sandman Inn McBride, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced while a guest at our Inn. Your comments are important to us and we use them to evaluate our Inn for possible upgrades and improvements to our facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
13
14
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We broke down on the highway and while our car was being repaired next door we stayed overnight at the Sandman. We were very exhausted from our long trip and vehicle breakdown but were immediately smiling after being greeted at the front desk. We were promptly given a comfortable room and enjoyed a hot bath. Dinner at the restaurant was great and with friendly staff and guests to chat with it was like home. I would recommend this hotel to all my family and friends as well as any travelers needing a hot bath, a bit to eat and a good night sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee-Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Sandman M, General Manager at Sandman Inn McBride, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a response. We pride ourselves in providing excellence in customer services and strive to exceed guest expectations. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The McBride Sandman is not the best hotel you will ever stay at. Its not fantastically clean, the rooms smell of cigarette smoke, the carpet is old and spotted with stains, but its not unsanitary. The sheets seemed clean and the room had clearly been vacuumed.
The man at the front desk seemed nice but didn't know about some of the better restaurants in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquavan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Sandman M, General Manager at Sandman Inn McBride, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced while a guest at our Inn. Your comments are important to us and we use them to evaluate our Inn for possible upgrades and improvements to our facilities. Your comments are also used for further training of our staff when necessary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel is quiet, the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The hotel is a bit dated and the hallways have a pool hall smell (smokey). The room has the tiniest bathroom I have ever seen. A large person would have a very tough time in there.
Overall it was a good place for an overnight stay. Don't think I would want to stay there long term.
If you stay in Mcbride try the Giggling Grizzly Pub. Great place...we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Sandman M, General Manager at Sandman Inn McBride, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your review, we appreciate your taking the time to do so. Our staff works hard to provide you with the best possible accommodations for the most reasonable rates. We are happy that you found our Inn to be clean and comfortable and hope to see you during your next trip through McBride.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The management, Wayne and Murrielle, made our trip. We were on a 10 day adventure and this stop made our travels special. They showed such a warm welcome and great hospitality. We have told our friends about how friendly the staff was and how that in itself made this such a memorable stay, especially after staying out the other 9 nights of our trip. Beautiful country and great hosts. We will definitely recommend this location and would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Sandman M, General Manager at Sandman Inn McBride, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a response. We pride ourselves in providing excellence in customer services and strive to exceed guest expectations. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
1,442 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 628 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I used this hotel as a base for our hikes in Mt Robson. It was nice to find a decent sleep after those long hikes. It was a cheaper alternative than staying somewhere near Jasper. The hotel is an average quality, but given the remoteness it was a decent and affordable accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGlacierist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Sandman M, General Manager at Sandman Inn McBride, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a response. We pride ourselves in providing excellence in customer services and strive to exceed guest expectations. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was my first stay at this hotel, and although I like the Sandman's rewards (stay 12 nights get 1 night free), I'm not sure if I'll include this particular hotel in my future reservations. My job has me staying in hotels 44 weeks a year, and this is the only hotel I've encountered with 35 rooms and 7 air conditioners!! I'm sure it's GREAT in the winter,, but 30 degrees in the summer and a fan to blow hot air around doesn't quite cut it. The managers are great and will bend over backwards for their guests, but when it comes down to it, air conditioning is a requirement for comfort. This Sandman is located conveniently just off the highway and has a restaurant with good food and service. There is plenty of parking if you're towing a trailer and seems to be a popular spot for truckers and work crews. By the end of the year this hotel is getting remodeled and I'm sure it will look much better, but without air conditioning it will never be highly recommended.

Room Tip: ask for a room with A/C,, there are only 7, so good luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sterling H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Sandman M, General Manager at Sandman Inn McBride, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for posting a review, we appreciate you taking the time to do so. We are happy you found the room nice and the staff helpful, we pride ourselves on customer service and excellence. Your comments are important to us and we use them to evaluate our Inn for possible upgrades and improvements. We look forward to seeing you and your family on your next trip through McBride.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McBride hotels
0.4 mi away
North Country Lodge
North Country Lodge
#1 of 3 in McBride
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bell Mountain Motel
Bell Mountain Motel
#2 of 3 in McBride
37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dominion Creek B&B
Dominion Creek B&B
#3 of 4 in McBride
1 reviews
0.3 mi away
McBride Hotel
McBride Hotel
#4 of 4 in McBride
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Inn McBride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Inn McBride

Property: Sandman Inn McBride
Address: 1051 SE Frontage Rd, McBride, British Columbia V0J 2E0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > McBride
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in McBride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandman Inn McBride 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandman Inn McBride is just off Highway 16 and boasts McBride's most popular restaurant - Heartland Restaurant. Comfortable beds, kitchenettes, pet-friendly rooms and complimentary high-speed Internet access provide all the essentials for travel, work, and beyond. Whether you're in town for for one of the many outdoor recreational activities or you are simply in transit on a cross-province road trip, you're guaranteed to have a restful and relaxing experience at this Sandman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Sandman Inn McBride reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing