We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
North Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in McBride
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed a night at this establishment and feel that although the price was only $85.00, the room and service we had easily compared to other rooms we have stayed at with a price tag of $110 to 130. Very neat and clean and being on the ground floor, we could back up to the door for easy unloading. The gentleman on the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. The room had everything we needed for our stay. In addition, there was a terrific little restaurant right next door so no driving to go and eat. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDT47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    24
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
18
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2013

There are a few nice places to stay in McBride but the North Country Lodge is easily the best. The location of the motel itself is perfect its with walking distance of the gas station and the Yellow-head highway. The parking lot is huge and has more than enough space to park your trucks and trailers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hajara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHANLY ONT CANADA
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

stayed many times in mcbride and usually stay at the sandman but decided to try the north country lodge wow what a difference. the rooms are much larger and cleaner. the wifi really works. the staff is very helpful and friendly. it would be nice if they could upgrade the tv package only 9 channels

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chala-Michal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCountryLodge, General Manager at North Country Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you so much. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.......by summer 2014 we should have satellite tv in all the rooms :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in on the way east and needed a room for the night. Found the accommodations standard fare but clean. Nothing special here but you will get a reasonably quiet room, decent bed and a clean bathroom. Not much else a man needs on the way to somewhere

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dre62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Wow! It's not a chain hotel so I was hesitant but it's waaaaaay better than most of the "name brand" places. It was super clean, the rooms are nicely appointed, the front desk staff is friendly and helpful and there's a restaurant with a fantastic menu and the greatest wait staff. I will absolutely stay again when I'm going through this way.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelStar40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was a great place to stay in McBride. The accommodations were comfortable and clean with a mini frig in the room. The staff was friendly and helpful. They are a pet friendly hotel which is a big plus for us since we travel with our dogs. They have a good restaurant connected to the motel. We had dinner there, the selection on the menu was great and so was the food. We would definitely stay here again if we are travelling through this area again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed for a sleding trip in one of the 2 bedroom family rooms. Accomodations were clean, bright and plenty of room. Well stocked kitchenette, full size fridge and stove. But if you have more than 4 in your party you will need extra plates etc. We had a great sleep and it was quiet. Eventhough our bedroom was right along the highway, we didn't hear it at all. We could have accomodated 4 more people in our room and I don't think it would have been crowded. Rooms were cleaned each day. No issues at all. We will definately stay here again on our next sledding trip.

Only drawback was the parking and the fact that our stove fan only worked when it wanted to. Not allot of room for vehicles with larger sled trailers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SportsMomAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McBride hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandman Inn McBride
Sandman Inn McBride
#3 of 3 in McBride
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bell Mountain Motel
Bell Mountain Motel
#2 of 3 in McBride
40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dominion Creek B&B
Dominion Creek B&B
#3 of 4 in McBride
1 reviews
0.2 mi away
McBride Hotel
McBride Hotel
#4 of 4 in McBride
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Country Lodge

Property: North Country Lodge
Address: 868 NW Frontage Road | Highway 16 W, McBride, British Columbia V0J 2E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > McBride
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in McBride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — North Country Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your North Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing