We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LITTLE KNOWN, BUT WORTH A VISIT!”

Kilby Historic Site
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“LITTLE KNOWN, BUT WORTH A VISIT!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Few British Columbians know about Kilby Historic Site and the family that settled here and then donated the historical site and park on the river to the Province of BC. It lies on a point of land where the Harrison River pours into the Mighty Fraser at Harrison Mills, just off Hwy 7 after the Harrison River bridge.
Geographically, it’s a spectacular spot; historically, it takes us back to BC’s pioneering days and beyond; and for families, it’s kid-friendly.
Kilby is a living museum centred on the authentic general store that was built by the Kilby family in about 1906 when the small town was a transportation hub for the logging and salmon industries.
On top of the store is the former Manchester Hotel that is the real museum and tells the story of the family and town, including the local First Nations contribution to its history.
The surrounding land was part of their farm and now has a Jersey cow, goats, sheep, chickens and turkeys, an old orchard, and outbuildings.
The horse barn houses an excellent gift shop and a cafe that serves hearty 1920s food.
As a history buff, I spent all morning here and ate lunch too. Staff are very knowledgeable and welcoming. I also walked through the small provincial park and campground and along the beach where the Kilby children played in the summers.
Good value at $10/ adult and very interesting; fun for kids too.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank PhotosbyPharos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilby H, Social Media Marketing at Kilby Historic Site, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for such great words! We really hope you can make it back again this season. We have some great events planned. Since you like historical events I would really recommend the Black Powder Event on Father's Day. It's a blast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a surprising place off Highway 7, near where the Harrison River joins the Fraser. The General Store will transport visitors to the early decades of the 20th Century with many items from that period. The museum includes a farm with farm animals and a First Nations exhibit. We've often brought friends for a visit and lunch in the restaurant.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a couple hours!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

$10 per person gives you access to the Museum store with old items to look at (there's ALSO a gift shop), little post office, upstairs rooms, and a little farm. Lots of stuff to check out! Hosts were all SUPER nice. I liked the animals the best though...the little white goat is SO friendly and just wants to be pet!

They have a little restaurant in the gift shop area too. We didn't eat there, but would have liked to if we'd have been more hungry - looked pretty quaint.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleGCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilby H, Social Media Marketing at Kilby Historic Site, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Glad to hear you had a good visit. Brother, the white goat, is such a character. He is always getting into some trouble around here. Sure keeps us on our toes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Entertainment”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

An interesting place, but very pricey for what's there. Certainly a historical place which I like. Again, too expensive. Not a place to go back to a second time.

Helpful?
1 Thank JoD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilby H, Social Media Marketing at Kilby Historic Site, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for the comment. I am sorry you felt that admission price of $9 was too expensive. Our prices are set at industry standards.
We hope you do return again since the site is always changing. We host family friendly events all through the season and even on the non event days we get little surprises such as baby animals being born or an impromptu homemade ice cream making workshop. Which yes, we get to eat the ice cream! Hope to see you again and please bring a friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Step Back In Time”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A great place to stop at, if you are not taking Hwy 1. The musuem is well done (there's always a coupon in the Entertainment Book)...we like to stop here for a scone and coffee in the little cafe. Some neat things in the gift shop, especially for kids.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilby H, Social Media Marketing at Kilby Historic Site, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Next time through make sure you stop for a piece of pie. The restaurant is now the new home to the famous "Blackberry Lane Pie Company". YUMMMM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilby Historic Site also viewed

Harrison Mills, British Columbia
Agassiz, British Columbia
 
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
Chilliwack, British Columbia
 

Been to Kilby Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing