We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property, unique, but over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rowena's Inn on the River
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property, unique, but over priced”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed two nights. One night in the INN, and one night in the cottage. Staying in the INN was like staying in someones house. So a true B & B. You can hear everything. We prefer more privacy. The cottage was nice. Big fire place, 4 poster king bed, little deck, spa tub, heated floors.
Our complaint with the cottage we have that it has a tin roof so it gets really loud when its raining and no insulation,so got a little cold. Also all the cabinets need to be re hung as their falling off.
We enjoyed the complimentary cheese plate each day and breakfast. The only challenge with the breakfast was when they bring it to your cottage at 9am and you want to sleep in a bit longer, it will be ice cold.So My suggestion to the manager was bring it in a warmer of some kind or be flexible on the time you can have the breakfast delivered to you. I believe you can eat in the restaurant if you like, which I wish we new.
The staff was very friendly, and helpful and made you feel very welcomed. That was nice.
A highlight for us was skiing at Hemlock. Takes 20 minutes and your skiing. The golf course looks great too.
I feel if you stayed in the summer time and paid $325, plus taxes, it's a bit steep. There are deals in the winter time that make it more reasonable to stay.
We would return to golf, watch the eagles, walk the property and have lunch. If they had a great deal on for the cottage we would consider staying a night.We would not stay in the INN again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFoodie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer D, Public Relations Manager at Rowena's Inn on the River, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Mrs. Foodie,

We value our guests, and take all of our reviews very seriously. Thank you for the feedback. We think the location is magical as well. It's quite the hidden gem. Our travellers definitely have different preferences. Some love the B&B rooms and others want that rustic cottage experience. Just wanted to let you know that we have off-season specials. Right now there is the Winter Stay special, which is valid until March 31st! The first night at either the inn or the cottage is regular price, but the second price is 50% off. http://www.prettyestateresort.com/package/winter-escape-time-sensitive/

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    50
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
19
124
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The new wedding coordinator is terrible! What a disappointment. The old coordinator Kayla was wonderful but she has since gone elsewhere and her replacement Shiloh was disappointing. It is a nice venue but not worth the trouble. We will be take our business elsewhere.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer D, Public Relations Manager at Rowena's Inn on the River, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Laura,

We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with our Wedding Coordinator. Customer feedback is extremely important to us, and we would like to follow up with you to further pinpoint the issues you encountered. Could you please contact our Toll Free at 1.877.796.1001 and ask for our Public Relations and Marketing Manager?

Most Sincerely,
Pretty Estates Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Last spring I promised myself to return for the Bald Eagle Festival in November. I missed the big day, but went two weeks later. There were thousands on the Harrison River.
I was given one of the cottages beside the inn, my first time in one. The weather was gloomy with heavy rain on two days, but I could see twenty-four Bald Eagles in a tree from my door, more on a gravel bar from my deck, and many soaring above.
Inside was cosy, with the fire ready to be lit. There was a small kitchen but no M/W or stove. The bed was a huge four-poster. The modern bathroom had a double Jacuzzi, a heated slate floor, and a separate shower. No phones, no TV. Bliss! The only downer was very wonky wireless, which as a writer was a nuisance.
A huge picnic hamper arrived at 9am the next morning with my breakfast - a big one. OJ, muffins, carafe of coffee, Eggs Benedict, toast, etc. Enough for two, not one!
The other two meals of the day are available at the excellent River's Edge restaurant next door to the inn. Always good food here and a solid winelist.
After breakfast, I walked out towards the "flats" that lie to the east of the inn tripping over salmon carcasses that had been stripped by the eagles. Took many photos of many eagles. Ended the walk having Afternoon Tea in the inn with the owner, Betty Anne. This is a gracious reminder of a slower-paced, bygone era and a must-do while you're here.
On my last day, I had the pleasure of taking a boat safari to observe the eagles more closely. Rain had ended and this tour was a highlight of my time in Harrison Mills.
Rowena's is always a safe bet for a quiet getaway (at any season) only an hour and a half from Vancouver. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong here - all rooms and cottages are delightful. if you want absolute privacy, ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotosbyPharos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer D, Public Relations Manager at Rowena's Inn on the River, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for the ah-mazing review! We can't wait to have you back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Langley, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Absolutely perfect getaway! Idyllic spot, immaculate "rustic" cabins, gorgeous views of river and snow capped mountains, eagles, trumpeter swans. Everything was to perfection.....cheese platter with great local wine upon arrival....ready to go fire, robes, heated floors......super service in the restaurant , yummy food...........luxurious spa like jacuzzi, heated tile floors, roaring stone fireplace, iPod dock/system......Waking up to the sounds of birds and sunrise over the river.....breakfast served to the minute, hot and delicious.....

Didn't want to leave....definitely will be back.

A hidden gem.....shhhhhh

Room Tip: stayed in Nelson's Cottage....closest to the river, unobstructed view over golf course. All are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perfectiontrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer D, Guest Relations Manager at Rowena's Inn on the River, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hn�UD�
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

What a gem. From the person who greeted us to the restauranr servers to the lady who delivered our breakfast in the morning all were pleasant and helpful. If you just want to relax and chill in front of a roaring fireplace or observe eagles,swans,ducks and geese from your balconey then this is the place for you! Not a lot around but thats the beauty of Rowenas.We will be back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WilliamP791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer D, Public Relations Manager at Rowena's Inn on the River, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Google Translation
Double like!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have been coming here for a few years, and are planning to come back. We rented a cabin, they do have a pet friendly cabin available. And you will get at first sight is: A clean cabin, a bottle of local white wine with 2 glasses, a small bowl of crackers and a plate with fruit and cheese. You will also see a wood burning fire place ready to be lit and a bubble bath.The entrance floor and the washroom floor are heated. In the morning you will get a delicious hot breakfast. In the evening you can eat at the restaurant, the food is great and serve local salmon dishes. We always enjoyed taking a walk, watching the eagles in November. The only reason why i didn't give an excellent rating was the bed. Its 2 mattresses stuck together and the middle ridge made it a little uncomfortable to sleep on. I did mention it on my way out and the staff did say that they will look into it.We did also have the pleasure of talking with the owner, who, I may say is a very charming lady who seems to show genuine care for her establishment.They do have free Wi-Fi, a radio but no TV, (You are there to relax, you can watch TV at home so consider that as a plus) So yes I do recommend the cabin, Yes we will come back, In a nutshell we are pleased with the service and cabin.I do also recommend the afternoon tea in the main building.

Room Tip: choose the Phyllis cabin by the pond, the carol Ann cabin is the only pet friendly cabin. But they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drevildog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a great, spontaneous and relaxing stay at Rowena’s. Because we made reservations the day of our trip, we stayed in Charlie’s room which is located in the Inn. While the room was cozy, it was well appointed. The bathroom was immaculately clean, probably the cleanest I have experienced. There was a spacious sitting area outside our room to one side and a coffee and tea room on the other side (for our morning coffee). The setting of the Inn is elegant and we were impressed by the collection of antiques. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful, and we were made most welcome by Betty Anne. The breakfast was delicious (I had the Eggs Benedict Classic).

I cannot say any more than what others have said about the river and golf course setting which is perfect for weddings, and I can just imagine the area full of bald eagles during late fall. The grounds and golf course path were perfect for walking and thinking.

We enjoyed exploring around the area and for our next visit, I would try a river view room or cabin and bring my golf clubs.

Room Tip: The cabins looked really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrison Mills
7.9 mi away
Harrison Beach Hotel
Harrison Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Harrison Hot Springs
543 reviews
6.1 mi away
Coast Chilliwack Hotel
Coast Chilliwack Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chilliwack
759 reviews
8.2 mi away
Best Western Rainbow Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Spa
Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Harrison Hot Springs
3,533 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harrison Hammond House
Harrison Hammond House
#2 of 3 in Harrison Mills
21 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sasquatch Crossing EcoLodge
Sasquatch Crossing EcoLodge
#1 of 4 in Harrison Mills
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowena's Inn on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowena's Inn on the River

Property: Rowena's Inn on the River
Address: 14282 Morris Valley Rd., Harrison Mills, British Columbia V0M 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Harrison Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Harrison Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rowena's Inn on the River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world opulence blends with new world convenience. Secluded on a 160-acre estate Rowena’s Inn on the River is a grand, English-style manor that was converted into a boutique resort. The rooms offer waterfront or garden views, and sumptuous king-size beds, dressed in deluxe duvets, feather pillows and crisp linens. Large windows bathe the European-infused elegance in natural light, and the furniture exemplifies a timeless stylishness. The cottages have heated-slated floors, deep-soaker jacuzzi tubs for two, glassed-in showers and handcrafted, river rock wood-burning fireplaces.Rowena’s outstanding personalized service and attention to detail is guaranteed with only five rooms in the Inn, a two-bedroom gatehouse and four luxurious cabins. Professional, courteous staff has become an unquestioned hallmark of Rowena’s Inn through a commitment to responsive and attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rowena's Inn on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowena`s Hotel Harrison Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing