We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!!”

Sandpiper Golf Course
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed!!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our foursome has been playing at Sandpiper twenty plus times per year for over five years. Once our favourite course we are now playing elsewhere. The ruff is so ruff you can't get out of it and that is if you can find your ball which just rolled off the fairway. When/or if the grass is cut it is just left sitting on the fairway. The once perfect greens are now impossible to putt, I don't think they have been rolled all year. There are so many other courses at a much better rate and in a much better condition and closer to home, it is no longer worth the time or effort to play at Sandpiper. .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer D, Public Relations Manager at Sandpiper Golf Course, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi Randy,

We definitely value your loyalty. I just heard again today how our Pro Shop team has always enjoyed having you.

As for your last experience, the greens were just aerated and maintaining the rough had to be delayed as a result. We sent a newsletter informing our players and reduced rates by 25%.

We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    1
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bucerias, Mexico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Go again and again!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Beautiful layout, well-maintained with tricky greens. A bit challenging but still a very enjoyable outing. Good value. YES I'd go again and again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LibbyinMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer D, Public Relations Manager at Sandpiper Golf Course, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks LibbyinMexico!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful place for a challenging round”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went to Sandpiper today and was overall very impressed. The course is well manicured and despite the fact we haven't had any rain in the area for the past month, they did a great job of keeping the course playable. Would love to play it again when it's in all of it's lush, green glory. Green fees are high, but not outrageous. Played the round in under 4 hours which is fantastic.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer D, Public Relations Manager at Sandpiper Golf Course, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for the review! We have had a record-breaking month of sunshine. Just fantastic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Not for the average golfer”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have played this course for eight years. I have always told people that this was my favorite course. Now my opinion has changed. The last few times that I was there the rough was so long that if your ball was not in the fairway, you couldn't find it. It is expensive considering how long you have to drive to get there.....even with their internet specials. They have not dropped their prices in the same manner that most courses have. The scenery is still beautiful. If the rough was cut and the prices were a little lower, it would still be my favorite course. I am so sad that I am not able to play this course anymore.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank T1foster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer D, Public Relations Manager at Sandpiper Golf Course, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi T1foster,

Our loyal customers are extremely important to us, which is why we are responding right away. Your opinion matters! The wet weather has caused the rough to be a little longer than usual and our maintenance staff is on it. We promise. We were once your favourite and would like to be again. Come back and we'll treat you. Also, I know the buzz is still making its way around, but in celebration of our 15th Anniversary, we introduced retro pricing. Our prices are actually the same as they were when we first opened. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. Hoping you'll visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great golf course”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you want a beautiful golf course in great shape, with a million dollar view for $40 this is your Place. The drive to the country leaves you with breathless views. Planning your trip also dictates the price of admission. There are great rates in the afternoon and specials to make this a real deal. The course is tree lined and narrow in places with tight fairways. If you get your tee shot out of place you will be placing your second to get to the green. The greens vary is size, are undulating and tricky to read. The pins are often placed strategically behind the sand traps which are well stocked with somewhat course sand The course is easily walk able, BUT bring your bug spray as a trip into the woods will find pesky mosquitoes. My wife is a second year golfer and did just fine. But bring a few extra balls in case your shots find some deep forest rough!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer D, Public Relations Manager at Sandpiper Golf Course, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for the amazing review. We are so very appreciative!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandpiper Golf Course also viewed

Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Sandpiper Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing