We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Buffet”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
New Century Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 46 Restaurants in Grand Forks
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Grand Forks, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Buffet”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The food was fresh and hot.The waitress was attentive.Bathrooms were clean and the food was really good.Nothing to dislike.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    2
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Didn't eat it”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Arrived late-ish (7:30)in Grand Forks and was spending the night... Not many choices to have delivery, this was a gamble.
Singapore noodles were a rice stick with curry powder with random scraps of meat and shrimp tossed in
Dry spareribs were deep fried batter
Delivery required a $30 cash order so we added a third spring roll which wasn't delivered.
Because we were choked about the food we called to get a refund etc....
Don't do it

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Got into Grand Forks 'late' (after 8 pm on a Saturday) and were recommended 2 places to eat. Went to the first place and they said they ran out of food. They then suggested another restaurant across the street, which just so happened to turn off their lights at that moment.

So, we decided to try this place as it seemed to be the only restaurant still open nearby. A little suspicious at first as this is a small town and chinese restaurants tend to be questionable in these kinds of places. However, we were pleasantly surprised with our meals. We didn't do the buffet but what we did have was tasty, had good portions, lots of ingrediants including an assortment of veggies and meat, and reasonably priced - even better than many of the restaurants back home.

On a night where we thought we might be stuck with Subway for dinner, this was an enjoyable and satisfying experience and we greatly appreciated the restaurant staying open later than 8:30 pm!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ScreamingBanshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Depressing”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

When we are in town to visit somehow we end up here ... It's too cafeteria like... Barely any selection ...no flavour ... Wilted lettuce. I was looking for some plain ol chicken , to feed a small child ... Whether it was a chicken wing I could break apart or a chicken strip ... Non existant! There was rice everywhere where we were sitting .. On the curtains , on the carpet , as if someone had a rice fight!
Always disappointed when I come here

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki4345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Tried this place several times to give them a chance. Just doesn't get any better. Very poor quality food. Vegetables always partly rotting in food, brown spots on cauliflower , broccoli , celery in smorgasbord food. Meat very stale and dried which they try to cover up with lots of sauce or salt. I don't believe these people know what Chinese food is. Both the Chinese restaurants in grand forks are an insult to claiming they make Chinese food. Certainly not even close to Chinese food I've eaten elsewhere. I just don't go here anymore. What I did notice are the patrons who go for quantity and not quality here with numerous visits to the smorgasbord .

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Onlythebest1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Century Restaurant also viewed

Grand Forks, British Columbia
Grand Forks, British Columbia
 
Grand Forks, British Columbia
Grand Forks, British Columbia
 
Grand Forks, British Columbia
Grand Forks, British Columbia
 

Been to New Century Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing