We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the same”
Review of Borscht Bowl

Borscht Bowl
Ranked #3 of 46 Restaurants in Grand Forks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Russian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Campbell River, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the same”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stopped at the Borscht Bowl on our way through Grand Forks, looking for a bowl of the Borscht that my husband looks forward to all through our trip. Unfortunately, we discovered the Grand Forks Hotel has burned down, and the Borscht Bowl advertised serving the famous borscht. While it was tasty, it wasn't the same. It was only lukewarm, and wasn't even served with sour cream. It was rather pricey for what you received. We both had the large size, which was just a normal bowl of soup. I don't think we will go out of our way to stop again. I have the "Grand Forks Hotel" recipe, which is delicious, but a lot of work, so will make it myself.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank notpicky2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    27
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to meet friends for lunch!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Definitely the best place to get genuine Doukhobor Borscht... homey comfortable atmosphere... good simple foods... be sure to try all the Doukhbor foods such as Pedahi and pyroshky... historical building... used to be a bank

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sadeyedladyofthelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
202 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Loved our lunch here, the borscht was delicious!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed the summer special with Borscht. Everything was excellent including the bread, my husband also had the blueberry pyroshky which he really enjoyed. Everything was made fresh, you could hear the veggies being chopped!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I never knew Borscht was so good”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stopped here on a trip and had to do laundry, looked around for something local and found this place. Unfortunately it was closed so I looped around town some more. I passed this place from the other way and lucky me it was now open. I really enjoyed the Borscht and wanted to take some frozen but home was over 1,000 miles away. If I'm in the area, I will most definitely go here again, and the people are friendly and unpretentious here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank northatlanticpuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

After eating Russian food all my life and years of eating here I have concluded they should change there name from "Borscht Bowl" to "Pedahi Plate" The borscht although very good is no mach for the phenomenal pedahi!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AsoundGuygf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borscht Bowl also viewed

Grand Forks, British Columbia
Christina Lake, Grand Forks
 
Grand Forks, British Columbia
Grand Forks, British Columbia
 
Grand Forks, British Columbia
Grand Forks, British Columbia
 

Been to Borscht Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing