We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nights Stay in Grand Forks”

Western Traveller Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Western Traveller Motel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grand Forks
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Nights Stay in Grand Forks”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a night at this establishment in a quiet, super clean room on the second floor. Inernet connection was good and it was just a short walk across the parking lot to breakfast. Theprice of accommodation was reasonable and would certainly go back to this hotel on our way home from Calgary.

Room Tip: Second floor worked well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paddle62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    45
    12
    1
    7
See reviews for
22
40
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We just experienced a two night stay at this hotel, what a great clean place. Apon arrival the owner was friendly, courteous, and promt with our check in. When we walked into the room it was clean, fresh smelling and needing nothing. My thanks to the chambermaids for doing a stellar job. It was quiet, great location and my boyfriend and I will recommend this place to anyone wishing to stay in Grand Forks. Thank you very much and if we are ever going through there again we wont hesitate to stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My Wife and I showed up early ,we ask if we could please get our room early? As I have a lot of trouble with pain, as I walk with canes and need rest. The staff were very nice and said yes ,they let us have our room an hour early.The room was nice and clean , and a good bed ., lots of t.v. channels to watch. We got a very good rest ,as it was nice and quiet here! Had a very nice stay here!, would tell everyone to stay here for sure!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at north are quieter ,but I think they are all pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This motel is a great place to stay. This place was clean, location is just right off the highway, secure (RCMP is just cross the street) and bed was very comfortable. And price was affordable...Staff was friendly. I really recommend to stay here. If I travel this area, I would like to stay this motel again. It was awesome!!! Thanks....

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The title is a little harsh, but it's exactly how I feel.

My family and I were in town for almost a week so I reserved a 2 queen kitchen unit. When I checked in was told there were no kitchen units left, was given a small 2 queen room for a family of 4.

Contrary to what the website says, there is no microwave in the room and there are none available upon request. Picture a family of four having to live out of a bar fridge for a week.

That is only the start.

The TV in the room is circa 1990, although it does have a cable box hooked up to it.

We have 2 outlets in the room, one of which already has the tv, lamp, fridge and cable box plugged into it. If you have other devices that need to be plugged in/charged bring a power bar.

The shower is easily the worst I have ever experienced. A ten minute shower consists of 2 minutes of showering and 8 minutes of waiting for the temperature to fluctuate between scalding hot, luke warm and freezing cold. No chance I let my 9 year old have a shower, she'd get scalded. Oh, and 2 towels in a room with two queen beds, awesome.

The wireless Internet is ok, at 6 in the morning. Any other time it may or may not work, depending on if anyone else in the hotel is trying to use it.

Cleanliness is not nearly as good as other reviews state. There were potatoes chips under the edge of the bed when we checked in, obviously hadn't been vacuumed. Bed linens were clean and crisp, quilt is standard reusable polyester crap. Ice tray in bar fridge probably hadn't ever been cleaned, was disgusting.

Heat is standard baseboard heat. I have the thermostat set for roughly 15 and the temp in the room fluctuates between average room temp and boiling hot. Heater seemed to be on constantly.

Trip advisor reviews are usually pretty good, but in this case I've found they really missed the mark.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westtravmotel, Owner at Western Traveller Motel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We apologize any inconvenience while the guest stay at our motel.
However there were some of reviews are incorrect.

The room is booked January 16.2013 with standard two queen bed not with kitchen
and reconfirmed three days before the check in date Mar.13.2013.

A TV in that room is Toshiba 27" flat screen in 2003, not circa 1990.

There are 4 double outlet in the room which is good for normal usage.

For the fridge, most of rooms are equipped with 3.4cu-ft size and this size is pretty normal
in every motel.

We have checked the thermostat for the heat control and it is not defective.

We will expedite to maintain more cleanliness.

As the guest come along with Pee-Wee Provincial Hockey Tournaments,
over 20 rooms using a bath simultaneously, especially early in the morning,water pressure
was not stable since the guest room is located close to the end of the building.
We hope understand the unusal situation.

The bath towels we supply two only but please ask to us need more.
then we will happily give to guest as the other guests does.

It was high demand for microwave during the tournament therefore, we were not able to
supply it in the guest room.
We will place an order to furnish more microwave in spring.

And we will do our best,hope all the guest enjoy the staying at western traveller motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is great place to stay. It is conveniently located to some good restaurants and is my place to stay when I am in the area for business. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. Having a room with a kitchen is convenient at times when working late. The rates are pretty fair for the amenities. This is definitely a place I would recommend to stay at Grand Forks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elmer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warfield, b. c. Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2012

the western traveller motel has been and still is a convenient and clean place for me when I work out of town, I'am usually there for a week and sometimes ten days at a time, working in the area. I get a full kitchen room, and do my own cooking while I'm there. I've stayed there 3 to 4 times a year, and sometimes during christmas day or thanksgiving day with my family and even our dog. I've always had great service, clean room, fresh clean sheets, every day, to me just like I'am at home. I would recommend this motel, to anyone. Larry R. Jamieson 602 schofield hwy. warfield B. C. v1r-2g8 lgsjamson@shaw.ca

Room Tip: get one of the rooms with full kitchen, if you plan on staying in the area, for awhile, great for fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
#5 of 14 in Grand Forks
94 reviews
11.0 mi away
Park Lane Resort & Motel
Park Lane Resort & Motel
#2 of 6 in Christina Lake
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Johnny's Motel
Johnny's Motel
#1 of 14 in Grand Forks
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
New Horizon Motel
New Horizon Motel
#3 of 6 in Christina Lake
114 reviews
11.3 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 6 in Christina Lake
67 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Victorian Motel and RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Traveller Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Traveller Motel

Property: Western Traveller Motel
Address: 1591 Central Avenue | Box 1780, Grand Forks, British Columbia V0H 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Traveller Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Western Traveller Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Traveller Hotel Grand Forks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing