We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it , would stay again ..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Victorian Motel and RV Park
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grand Forks
Maple Ridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it , would stay again ..”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Very quiet rooms , had a good night sleep , very hospitable hosts ..
Well kept place , with a home like feeling .
Felt right at home ..

Kimberly Froese

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
16
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2011

HI my son and I just spend four days at the Victorian Motel on a father and son fly-fishing trip to this area , with the owners knowlegde of the area and the fact that he fly fishes himself was a great help , a few instructions to my son Matthew on casting then directions to fishing spot made it a great trip with a clean and and comfortable room to return to each night made it a pleasant spot to where I'll certanly return as the fishing was great. Larry & Matt , Calgary AB..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJCCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Although this is an older motel, and it's right on the highway, we found it to be very adequate for accommodation. We did not notice the highway traffic at all. It's a quiet, peaceful place to stay. The only window that opened in our unit was the bathroom, so it was a bit stuffy. We were able to open the bathroom window though. I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greya16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We booked this place based on trip-visor recommendations and we got more than expected. We are traveling as a family and we stopped in Grant Forks for one night. When we checked in and the owners learned it was me and my wife's anniversary, they gave us an extra room for free so the kids can stay in one unit and we stayed in another.

The neatness and interior come with the name :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdelleVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the the Victorian Motel and RV Park for one night in July 2010 after a long day's drive from Cranbrook. It was a case of we needed somewhere to break up our journey to Hope. We made arrangements with Karen and Lawrence by email prior to leaving the UK and they were very swift at responding to my queries. We also got a $5 discount for mentioning their website which was a bonus!

Upon arrival we met Karen and got checked in smoothly and shown to our room. The room was very clean, but basic. It wasn't a match to the hotel's and B&B's we'd stayed in, but it was better than we expected it to be. The room did have a TV in it, but the picture quality was quite poor and snowy. Also there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room which I thought there would have been.

Wi-Fi access was available, but for some reason I couldn't connect. It was probably just my old laptop but it's possible our room was just out of range.

My parents and I did a similar road trip in 1990 to the one we did in 2010, and Grand Forks was not quite how I remembered it. The town seemed quite run down in places, very quiet and not many eating establishments. Perhaps we didn't look hard enough for somewhere to eat! Karen and Lawrence had guests over for a BBQ the evening we arrived and we didn't want to disturb their evening by asking a load of questions, although I know we could have done and perhaps we should.

The only negative for me about our stay here was the bed. I was suffering with a bit of a bad back at the time and the bed wasn't conducive for a good nights sleep for me. As such my back was worse the following morning. Not the owners fault as many of the reviewers of this motel have had great stays here and beds are quite a personal thing. Some beds suit one person but not another.

On the whole I would recommend this motel as it was very clean, spotless in fact, but probably just if you need a short stop over. Personally, and just because of the bad nights sleep we had, we probably wouldn't stay here again. Having said that, it's unlikely we'll be passing through Grand Forks for a long, long time anyway! It was 20 years since our last visit through the town so it could be another 20 years!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viking2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Karen and Lawrence were great hosts. The rooms were clean and more then met our needs for the weekend!!! We hope to be back again another winter!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northwapiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grannier, Owner at The Victorian Motel and RV Park, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
Thanks so much for the review. We enjoyed having you as our guests and look forward to seeing you at future dog sled races in Grand Forks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

I arrived just after crossing the border right before midnight, luckily they had a vacancy. Room was spartan in the best sense of the term, cozy and very very clean. I got in to my room, took a shower, (no bathtub in my room) and got in the bed and turned on the tv, just happy to be back in Canada. Slept like a baby. Beautiful country around here, next time I am in the Kootenays I will be staying herr.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoheID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
2.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
#5 of 14 in Grand Forks
95 reviews
9.7 mi away
Park Lane Resort & Motel
Park Lane Resort & Motel
#2 of 6 in Christina Lake
52 reviews
1.4 mi away
Western Traveller Motel
Western Traveller Motel
#8 of 14 in Grand Forks
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 6 in Christina Lake
67 reviews
9.8 mi away
New Horizon Motel
New Horizon Motel
#3 of 6 in Christina Lake
114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Imperial Motel
Imperial Motel
#9 of 14 in Grand Forks
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victorian Motel and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Motel and RV Park

Property: The Victorian Motel and RV Park
Address: 6451 Hwy 3 E | British Columbia, Grand Forks, British Columbia V0H 1H9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Victorian Motel and RV Park 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This motel and RV campground, situated on the banks of the Kettle River, exude the comfort and style of yesteryear. The rooms are recently refurbished with antique furniture and cozy quilt on the beds. All rooms are equipped with central air conditioning for your quiet comfort. All units have a coffee maker, fridge and microwave. Barb-ques are available on the patio for guests use. Little touches that make this motel special include the 6 foot hand carved white angel in the front yard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Victorian Motel and RV Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing