We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Johnny's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Johnny's Motel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grand Forks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at Johnny's during a solo bicycle trip across BC. It was much nicer than most of the other more expensive motels I used. It's a great value for the price, but the best thing about it is that you feel like you are at home in your own back yard. It's very pleasant to be by river on a quiet summer night. The room itself was very clean, comfortable and well appointed. Front desk service was excellent. I like everything about it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do like our guests to feel relaxed and at home, and the river setting is what made us fall in love with Johnnys in the first place. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 259 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

Even though we only spent one night at Johnny's Motel while on a road trip, the charming Clive and his lovely wife, Nicky, bent over backwards to accommodate my special request when I booked our room. I have an allergy to scented products like Bounce fabric softener and Febreeze spray and they went out of their way to provide a "scent-free" room, which was also spacious and clean and lovely. Ice for our cooler, a map of the area, directions to our destination, advice on good restaurants...we loved all their helpful advice. It is reassuring to know that we will have such a great place to stay the next time we travel in the Grand Forks area. And the price was good too!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank trippinhippies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thanks for your comments, always pleased to oblige. Its amazing how many people have alergies, and thats why we prefer the quilted blankets to duvets, as we can have them freshly laundered for each guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at Johnny's for the first time on our first motorcycle trip this year (in May). We will definitely stay at Johnny's again! The owner was very accommodating, helpful and personable. The rooms are large and clean; and you can really tell that there is pride in ownership of this small hotel. There's a lovely green space at the back by the river with picnic tables and BBQ's for guests. Also has free WiFi. As a motorcycle rider, the fact there are rooms with a car port is a bonus and we're told that a bike washing station is set up in the summer -- now, where do you ever see that! After a long ride, it's an easy walk to a restaurant across the way or into town. Oh ya -- and a great price.

Room Tip: Some, not all, rooms have a covered car port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TMLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

We dont have any issues about motorcyclists staying, you guys are always great, and we do our best to make your stay pleasant. I know many of the guys like to wash and polish, and it really doesnt take alot to find a hose and some cleaning rags. We are handy for town, and after a long ride you can walk to the bars and restaurants, and cool down in the river or pool. Hope to catch you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Johnny's is our favorite motel in southern BC. We travel every summer by motorbike and they are so accommodating. The barbeques available out back by the river is a great way to end the day! We will plan our trip accordingly so we can spend at least a couple of nights at Johnny's.

Room Tip: We love the kitchenette units as love to cook our own meals when we can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thanks for your comments . We are happy to accommodate motorcylists, and pleased that you enjoy the BBqs and the river. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The motel is older but is very clean with some newer updates. It is conveniently located right off of Highway 3 and you can park your car right outside your motel room door which is always handy. Staff were polite and friendly. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were quiet. As other have said these rooms also have a back door that leads out to a grassy area with the river being only steps away.

Room Tip: If you have toddlers please bear in mind that the river is only meters away from the back of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Johnnys was built originally in 1952, and has had its ups and downs, but over the last 8 years we have remodelled the rooms, in fact we have flattened and rebuilt some of them! The rooms are all modern and well equipped, and all have river access We are confident you will enjoy your visit and come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Clean, convenient, well appointed kitchen, good shower, lovely & convenient location, hospitable & welcoming staff - everything we could want, down to the deer in town. Thanks for being one of the best stays on our recent tour, we have already recommended you to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jader001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you so much, we really appreciate your comments, and its great for the team to know that we are on the right track.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Don't let looks deceive you. At first glance, this little unassuming motel looks like nothing to shout about -- you might even miss it when driving into Grand Forks, BC. But when a local recommended this place, we decided to check it out -- and were really glad we did.

Simple, clean and comfortable, this cosy little nook resides right by the river -- and we love that there are two doors to the room. One from the front, and one out the back -- right to the riverside!

Run by a very friendly British couple, we thoroughly enjoyed our interactions with both husband and wife, and we found the rooms to be well prepared and clean (high importance factor for us).

In fact, it was the little things that made this motel a notch higher in our estimation -- like the utensils placed in the microwave for our convenience, with a hand towel and cutlery all neatly folded (which motel provides utensils and cutlery when it is not a kitchenette suite!).

PLUS, they also provide BBQs in the backyard, by the riverside for guests' use. First come first served, of course, but there were several to choose from, and picnic table/benches to enjoy breakfast outdoors or a grilled dinner. What a delightful location!

We highly recommend Johnny's Motel, and give it a thumbs up for cleanliness and thoughtfulness. It's not swanky by any means, but it's cosy and very affordable too. And the riverside locale makes it a true winner! We will definitely return to Johnny's Motel on our next visit to Grand Forks, BC.

The Middletons

Room Tip: For a few dollars, take the 2-queen room for a bit of extra floor space, even if you only need one b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadianBelle1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thanks for your comments, so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We love our motel and its location, and want you to as well. The extra touches are down to guest comments, we want you to feel at home. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
1.8 mi away
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
#6 of 14 in Grand Forks
104 reviews
10.1 mi away
Park Lane Resort & Motel
Park Lane Resort & Motel
#2 of 6 in Christina Lake
58 reviews
1.0 mi away
Western Traveller Motel
Western Traveller Motel
#7 of 14 in Grand Forks
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 6 in Christina Lake
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#4 of 14 in Grand Forks
41 reviews
10.2 mi away
New Horizon Motel
New Horizon Motel
#3 of 6 in Christina Lake
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnny's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnny's Motel

Address: 7291 Hwy 3 W | Box 876, Grand Forks, British Columbia V0H 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range: $68 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Johnny's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Canadian hospitality, 1 blk east of city centre with beautiful riverside location. Air-conditioned, refurbished ground level units, queen beds, DD phones, cable TV, fridges, large heated seasonal pool, picnic tables, bbqs, fax service, reasonable rates, free wireless internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Johnny's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing