We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay of our trip”
Review of Johnny's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Johnny's Motel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grand Forks
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, BC
1 review
“Best stay of our trip”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Owner managed, pride of ownership is apparent from the moment you arrive until the moment you check out of this motel. The grounds are well attended; the welcome hospitable; the rooms clean, appliance convenient, and generous in proportion. You can hear the highway at night if you are a light sleeper. Be prepared with bug goop as the motel backs on the river. Very family friendly. The overall impression is one of a mom and pop style motel with personal touches that made this stop the best of our trip. Thank you Clive and Nicky.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcotterell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thanks for your comments, so glad you enjoyed your visit. Unfortunately the rain we had early in July made the mosquito season a little longer than usual; as soon as the heat arrives they disappear fairly quickly. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    63
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
65
94
24
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Where should I start? This "Motel" far exceeded any expectations I had! Nicky and Clive were more than charming, I also met their daughter, dressed up like a cat. The cute cabin we stayed in was cute, quiet, and very clean, we had a private beach to the river, and a wonderful view aswell. Having stayed in some very prestigious 5 star resorts, to some... Not so pleasant places.... I would have to say I prefer Johnny's over some of the 300$ rooms I have stayed in, a sure MUST to visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thanks for your review, Good luck to you on your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

In an industry that repeatedly disappoints this place has set a new benchmark for excellence in service and hospitality.
The rooms are clean, the beds are brand new and comfortable & it seems that every effort is made by Nicky & Clive to accommodate their guests.
All the rooms back onto a green space with picnic tables, outdoor furniture & the ever flowing Kettle River.
I suspect that Johnny's Motel in the coming years will just get better and better & will be booked 24/7. Well done guys.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solodive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments, its always great to get some feedback and know we are on the right track.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Clive and Nicki work like crazy to keep their cozy motel in tip top form for their guests. We stayed at their lovely motel while we were visiting a family member in palliative care in the GF hospital. The motel was a lovely refuge for us. The location is optimal right beside the river and far enough off the highway to not hear the traffic. The beds were very good and the rooms very clean. Many different room styles to choose from. We will be staying here again. Great value for the cost.

Room Tip: All rooms back onto the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3under
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thanks for your comments, We hope your next stay with is under more pleasant circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I were passing through Grand Forks & we stayed at Johnny's motel for one night. The price was good ($75), the location was great, right on the river & a 2 minute walk into town. The room was clean & had everything we needed, the only downside was the poor quality of the bed. It was very soft & we rolled into the middle, which made for an uncomfortable night. The reception was very helpful, we didn't get to use the pool as it was raining.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thanks for your comments. Sorry to hear you did not get a good nights rest, please let us know if the problem was the bed base, as we did discover one uneven bed base last week, or the matress. Most of our matresses this year are Seally posturpedic medium to firm, the doulble queen rooms are softer. We have quite a few guests who specify a preference and we try to accommodate, if we know in advance , It would be certainly helpful to know before we place another order. We also have memoryfoam toppers and bedboards for those with back problems. All we can do is apologise and say to anyone staying, if you have a problem tell us and so we can fix it straight away , if we cant make it right for you we can get it right for your next visit and for the next guest in that room.
Assuring you of our best intentions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, BC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We just had our second annual family reunion at Johnny's and had a wonderful time two years running. My family comes from different parts of BC as well as Vancouver Island, Alberta and California. It has been so great that we are planning to have it here again next year. They not only give excellent service but they add to our enjoyment by adding extras and getting into the fun. Thank you for a wonderful reunion!
We will be back!

Room Tip: The rooms were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thanks for your comments, it was great to see you all again. Lets hope for some better weather next year; and we'll have a patio heater on standby..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I usually prefer staying in hotels and enjoying all the amenities of these. But the reviews for this motel were so outstanding we thought we'd try it. It was fabulous. Updated furniture, comfortable mattress, beautiful location near the river and very pleasant service. All in all a great choice!

Room Tip: Not sure if all of the rooms look out on the river, but do make sure yours does!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank georga_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Nicky R, Owner at Johnny's Motel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thanks for your feedback, its always good to know we are on the right track. Yes all the rooms have either a storm door or a window overlooking the river. Hope to see you again soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
1.3 mi away
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
#5 of 14 in Grand Forks
99 reviews
10.6 mi away
Park Lane Resort & Motel
Park Lane Resort & Motel
#2 of 6 in Christina Lake
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Western Traveller Motel
Western Traveller Motel
#7 of 14 in Grand Forks
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 6 in Christina Lake
75 reviews
10.7 mi away
New Horizon Motel
New Horizon Motel
#3 of 6 in Christina Lake
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#4 of 14 in Grand Forks
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnny's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnny's Motel

Property: Johnny's Motel
Address: 7291 Hwy 3 W | Box 876, Grand Forks, British Columbia V0H 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Johnny's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Canadian hospitality, 1 blk east of city centre with beautiful riverside location. Air-conditioned, refurbished ground level units, queen beds, DD phones, cable TV, fridges, large heated seasonal pool, picnic tables, bbqs, fax service, reasonable rates, free wireless internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Johnny's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing